PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from joseph c topping iii
Other Reviews by this User
 
November 27, 2014 @ 10:10 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
joseph c topping iii

Beer Reviews
(42)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

42
Beer Reviews from joseph c topping iii
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Lousy So So So So Good

Establishment: Charly's Brew Pub was Timeout Brewery, Windsor, ON

Charly’s Brewpub brews only one beer, named Time Out. It is a light crisp lager that while lacking in great flavor it is clean and refreshing. The bar is typical of most northern blue-collar bars in that there is nothing upscale or trendy here. All in all, if you are in Windsor stop by but it’s not worth a separate trip just to visit the brewpub.

(03/18/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Great Good

Establishment: Cambridge Brewing Company, Incorporated, Cambridge, MA

Cambridge Brewing offers a six beer sampler which includes a pale ale that is indiscernible from their golden ale, and a seriously under hopped IPA. But the beers are still enjoyable. Try the hot wings, which are hot even for Texas standards.

(09/09/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So Good

Establishment: John Harvard's Brew House, Cambridge, MA

John Harvard's appears to be a college bar that happens to brew beer, which all comes together to make it noisy crowded pub. Of the six samples, only the stout stood out. If you're hungry, head up the road to Red Bones Barbeque in Somerville for a pulled pork sandwich, it's not Texas barbeque but it's mighty tasty.

(09/09/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: North East Brewing Company, Allston, MA

North East Brewing is worth the rather long T ride to enjoy their beers. The sampler consists of 6 beers, which includes a satisfactorily hopped IPA, and a beer called Triple Black Wheat with subtle hints of fruit that would be excellent on a hot day. The interior is cozy with the brewing equipment located in the center of the dining area. Try the garlic and Portobello pizza as a meal.

(09/09/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Good Good

Establishment: Commonwealth Fish and Beer Company, Boston, MA

Commonwealth Brewing was the first brewpub in America, but has recently switched its focus from beer to food and décor. The only main discernable difference between the 10 beers in the sampler was color; all the beers were somewhat bland. It's been rumored that Commonwealth is getting out of the beer business.

(09/09/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So So So Good

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Boston, MA

Brew Moon is a trendy upscale brewpub in the theater district. The sampler included six 4 oz beers, one of which is a seasonal. The hefeweizen was light in color, crystal clear, and resembled a light offering more than a hefeweizen. None of these beers stood out. The faltering brewpub chain Rock Bottom now owns Brew Moon.

(09/09/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Boston Beer Works, Boston, MA

Boston Beer Works had about 12 beers on tap at the time of my visit. The sampler only contains four 4 oz samples that can be chosen. Go with the IPA or the Oatmeal Stout and you can't go wrong. For a light meal try a bowl of the clam chowder. Located across the street from Fenway Park, avoid it at all cost on game days.

(09/09/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Sea Dog Brewery, Bangor, ME

Where to begin? The sampler was amazing, with 11 beers in all for less than the price of one beer. All the beers were excellent, but two stood out: the dry hopped ale and the hefeweizen. You can't go wrong making a meal of the appetizers. The staff was helpful and friendly and the interior was tastefully appointed. Don't miss the Sea Dog!

(09/09/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Bear Brewpub, Orono, ME

Just north of Bangor and well worth the trip is the Bear Brewpub. The four beers included in the sampler were all enjoyable, but the stout stood out as the best. The food consisted of typical but tastily prepared pub grub. As the golf bag proclaims on top of the booth, these beers are all above par!

(09/09/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: The Gahan House Pub and Brewery, Charlottetown, PE

The Gahan House is the only brewpub on Prince Edward Island, and it is truly exceptional. The sampler includes six beers, all of which are ales. Brew master Trent Hays has been hard at work creating these tasty ales, including a stout that I recommend highly. Ask him for a tour of the works, or take a look at them yourself as they are in the basement on the way to the restrooms. The food is imaginative and hearty, be sure to try the fish and chips that come in a brown paper bag. This place is almost reason enough to visit the island.

(09/09/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Great Good Good Great

Establishment: The Duke of Duckworth, Saint John's, NF

This is the best pub in St. John's without a doubt. There is pub fare during luch and around 10 beers on tap, one of which is their own brew. Their brew (The Duke's Own) was not available when I was there, but the general consensus of the people was that the beer ranged from bad to awful (this is not my opinion though, but that of others). Anyway, it's a great place to sit around and talk to folks and have a good time.

(09/09/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy So So Lousy

Establishment: Tapps Brewpub and Steakhouse, Saint John, NB

I don't enjoy giving a bad review, but I have a duty to my readers to tell the truth so here goes. I'm always irked by a brewpub without a beer sampler because there is no way that I can reasonably taste all the beers when the only offering is 20 oz pint glasses. That being said, I stopped my beer sampling after only one beer, the Marco Polo IPA, a beer so under-hopped as to not be an IPA and it had a noticeable oxidized flavor and nose. To a person from Texas, the nachos were anything but. They were comprised of stale corn chips smothered in what tasted like very sweet pizza sauce, onions and mozzarella cheese. I was dining with two other people and the reaction to their food was the same. The chicken stir-fry was none other than canned chop suey over white rice. A hamburger made with a patty that had more filler than beef, and a scallop basket that contained seven tiny frozen battered scallops and some processed frozen french fries. There is probably more negative things I could add, but I want to end on a positive note; The band that played at the time I was there was talented and enjoyable.

(09/09/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good

Establishment: Pump House Brewery, Moncton, NB

The sampler at the Pump House comes with about 6 beers in sizable glasses. None of the beers were remarkable, but that's not to say any were bad. Only the blueberry ale stood out, not because of the taste but rather the whole blueberries that were added to it, for it was an almost hypnotizing sight watching them rise and fall on the bubbles. The food is standard pub fare, enjoyable but not memorable. The bar itself was lacking in any recognizable character, so as to be just another bar, though near the restrooms is a poster from Saint Arnolds Brewing Company of Houston, TX, which brought some amusement.

(09/09/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So N/A N/A N/A So So

Establishment: Great Grains Brewery, Fort Worth, TX

Now contract brewing Yellow Rose beers and Hill Country's Balcones Fault beers.

(09/09/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Sneed Wheeler's Texas Roadhouse Brewing Company, Huntsville, TX

The Roadhouse is the only brewpub and just about the only place to catch live music in Huntsville. That being said, you shouldn't really expect great beer when you come here, but the quality is getting better. Most of the patrons can be seen drinking BudMillOors Light, which may indicate that this town is not ready for a brewpub. The 5 house brews on tap taste too similar, differing only in color but with the same odd aftertaste and no hoppiness to speak of. But don't get me wrong, with or without their own beer this is a great place to hang out.

(06/20/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Hill Country Brewing, Austin, TX

Beers now being brewed by Great Grains Brewery in Dallas.

(10/23/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Routh St. Brewery and Grille, Dallas, TX

Brewing stopped in January, 2000 and the beer ran out in early March. Restaurant will be closing on May 29, 2000. No info on anyone buying it, but they were giving away all their logo glassware.

(05/29/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Salado Creek Brewing Company, San Antonio, TX

Salado Creek gets their beers contract brewed at the Pearl Brewery.

(02/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: San Francisco Brewing Company, San Francisco, CA

This place certainly has location going for it, for it was packed in the middle of a weekday afternoon. Folks were sitting outside in gusting 40ºF winds to get this beer. I didn't have the inclination to do that, so I passed this place up.

(02/08/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good

Establishment: SLO Brewing Company, San Luis Obispo, CA

The porter was good, but don't get the blueberry ale unless you are the type of person who enjoys chugging the blueberry syrup at IHOP.

(02/08/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Triple Rock Brewing Company, Berkeley, CA

Unfortunately, this place was overly crowded, so with no place to sit I left without trying any of the beers. If, God forbid, I should ever find myself back in Berkeley, I will make it a point to stop by there again.

(02/08/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Lousy So So

Establishment: Peter B's Brew Pub, Monterey, CA

I was disappointed with this beer. The stout I got was flat and syrupy (very sweet). It may have just been that batch, but this is the worst that I've had from any brewpub so far.

(02/08/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Good Good

Establishment: Red Star Brewery and Grille, Greensburg, PA

I only found this place by taking a wrong turn on a cross-country trip. It's the only brewpub between Harrisburg and Pittsburgh. It's hard to see a place like this surviving in such a backwoods town. The beer wasn't bad, but it wasn't exciting either.

(02/08/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Frio Brewing Company, San Antonio, TX

I'm sorry I missed the beer here. I was staying in San Antonio and decided to stop by, only to find the owner packing up the last of his stuff to turn over the brewery to the new owners. Nevertheless, he showed me around and gave me a box of labels, 6 pack holders, and a pile of bumper stickers. I visited there in spring of 1999 but they hadn't produced any beer since 1997. It was a truly sad experience to see a brewery go under.

(02/08/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good So So So So

Establishment: Fredericksburg Brewing Company, Fredericksburg, TX

This place must cater to tourists, because the beers are severely lacking in character. A porter should not taste like a pilsner.

(02/08/2000)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.359 seconds) 22:10:50 23.23.57.182, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS