PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from john
Other Reviews by this User
 
April 23, 2014 @ 05:36 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
john

Beer Reviews
(27)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

27
Beer Reviews from john
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Bastone, Royal Oak, MI

On my second trip to Bastone, I signed up for their LIFETIME, not annual, mug club membership! The benefits are as great as the beer. The Wit was true to form, the IPA - excellent, the Triple came home with me in the form of a $6 growler (member price!), as well as an outstanding Russian Imp. So far, I've only had the Salmon (grilled very nicely) Caesar salad. Great beers at reasonable prices. A must stop

(01/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Michigan Brewing Company, Webberville, MI

Sigh, the old dank pub is no more. However, I'm looking forward to 'roughing' up the new place. Been there twice so far. The menu is good (look out for the chili when it's 4 alarm! It's punishing the next day) They've gotten rid of the 'Beer Lunch' (a wonderful serving of sliced hard salami, assorted cheeses and crackers) :+( My friends liked the Michigan cherry salad. And, as usual, the beer (16 taps!!) is outstanding!! Something for everyone.

(09/26/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Appalachian Brewing Company, Camp Hill, PA

Located just outside downtown Gettysburg, it's a great stop for the whole family. Good food, great beer. My sampler tray included a stout (good); Kipona Fest, which was an Oktoberfest, Marzen-style (excellent); Mountain Lager - Dortmunder-style lager with full body malt that you would expect with this style (VG); Rockville Rye (good flavor) and Broad St. BarleyWine - good, but could use some aging.

For the food, I had a Wisconsin cheese soup (complements for the slow service due to the shortage of wait staff), deelicious! My son and his friend split a big Baravian pretzel and loved it. My entree was ok (too much mushroom gravy).

If you go to Gettysburg (which I highly recommend), this is a must stop!!

(02/28/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good

Establishment: Big Buck Brewery and Steakhouse #3, Detroit / Auburn Hills, MI

I've been to the Auburn Hills Big Buck several times before a Pistons game. It's good to see they now have a shuttle! The food and beer have always been good, however the service is usually slow, probably because the place is humongous. Their Octoberfest was excellent! If you have a bad opinion of the Big Buck in Gaylord, give this one a chance. You won't be disappointed.

(07/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy So So Lousy

Establishment: Tahquamenon Falls Brewery and Pub, Paradise, MI

Come for the falls, but not this place.

(07/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Blue Star Brewing Company, San Antonio, TX

I visited Blue Star in June, 2005 while attending the GFOA conference. I enjoyed it so much on Saturday, I went back on the following Tuesday! Much to our delight, they have live music on Tuesdays! Overall, the food was very good. We enjoyed the appetizer sampler platter, Pork medalions, Quesadillas, Filet Mignon, Shrimp PoBoy, and the very decadent Double Layer Double Chocolate Cake. The only item I didn't like was the Ettoufe. The sauce was overpowered the dish, both in flavor and volume. The beer was great, period. I had no reservations bringing another true beer lover to Blue Star on the return trip. Finally, my coworker went to Blue Star this year with several colleagues. They all gave Blue Star two thumbs up!

(07/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Quay Street Brewing Company, Port Huron, MI

I've been to Quay Street several times, most recently Oct. '05. The old reviews ripping the place are off base. The food and beer are fine. I always make a point of going there when I'm near Port Huron.

(07/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: North Peak Brewing Company, Traverse City, MI

Excellent all the way around. We stopped in early May, 2005 on a golfing trip. They had $2 ESB pints that night and a rack of ribs on special. Needless to say, I had my fill of both. North Peak is a MUST STOP in Traverse City!

(07/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Great Baraboo Brewing Company, Clinton Township, MI

Great friendly neighborhood bar/restaurant. Solid service, food and beer, plus a fully stocked bar for the non-good beer drinkers. They've added the Hoppy Heartland Pale to their regular beer list (my favorite!). They have daily and weekly specials on top of a diverse menu. The "Rib Rave" special is excellent! 1/2 off appetizers/$2.75 pints from 3-6 pm EVERY day! Specials during Detroit, U-M, & MSU games. Discount coupons are in local flyers, as well as the Entertainment Book. There's something for everyone here, and it's family friendly, too!

(12/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Detroit Beer Company, Detroit, MI

Another great trip back to Detroit Beer Co!! The Zwickel beer was fantastic; it's a rich, complex, caramel colored brew. The IPA was very good, not too bitter, with a great floral hop aroma. Unfortunately, the Oatmeal Stout didn't have the full body that I expected from that type; maybe because it was served too cold. The cold, chipolte cheese dip is fantastic!! Spicy & plentiful, it goes very well with the hearty beers...and it's half price during happy hour, along with all the other appetizers. My friend and I thoroughly enjoy our fish entrees (blackened catfish with rice & beans and the cajun salmon sandwich). DBC is a great reason to go downtown!!

(09/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Bonfire Bistro and Brewery, Northville, MI

A fine establishment just off I-275 @ 7 Mile rd. about 10 miles west of Detroit. Upscale-looking, yet warm & relaxing, interior. Excellent food & drink menu at reasonable prices. There's something for everyone & anyone.

(09/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Dragonmead Microbrewery, Warren, MI

Beer lover's paradise!! Dragonmead has outstanding quality brews, with 2 dozen on tap!! Mana from heaven.

(09/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Sports Brew Pub, Wyandotte, MI

Solid across the board for this downriver establishment. Something for everyone here.

(09/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great

Establishment: Berkley Front, Berkley, MI

Over 40 taps, mostly micros. Nuff said.

(09/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Kuhnhenn Brewing Company, Warren, MI

Excellent brews, great variety

(09/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Water Street Brewery, Milwaukee, WI

9 samplers for $6.50 were good to varying degrees. The 6 malt Oktoberfest (degrated in previous reviews) was complex, unique and delicious. The honey light lager may not be simple enough for the miller/bud crowd (although later, i went to Miller brewery and had my first miller high life in over 20 years and really liked it! I didn't know high life was made with corn. go figure?) Anyhow, they also had 3 diff wheats(reg, white, raspberry), irish stout, dopplebock, brown ale, German schwartzbier. The raspberry wheat was NOT extract, and it tasted very good. The grilled salmon with basil linguini and tomato basil cream sauce on the side was excellent! Good beer, great variety, solid menu, who could ask for more. oh, if u have a prob, contact bartender Justin.

(07/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy So So So So

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Milwaukee, WI

In as much as I liked Rock Bottom 2 years ago in Denver, I disliked this one in Downtown Milwaukee. The boiled (ugh!) rack of ribs were of the cheap variety (not baby back), were BURNED, and then drenched in nearly inedible very sweet & spicy sauce. The shoestring fries were undercooked. The cole slaw (probably not made by them) was good. The beer was unimpressive, as the IPA was light on the IBU's. They also had the usual: Light, Wheat, Red, Pale, Lager. Zzzzzzz. I've heard that Rock Bottom is not collectively owned, but has different owners, brewmasters, etc, so this experience will not deter me from going to an R.B. in another town.

(07/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Great Good Good

Establishment: Great Baraboo Brewing Company, Clinton Township, MI

I'm sorry to say that the Baraboo is slipping on their waitstaff service. i went their after work with some coworkers in the barstool area, and our overweight waitress would walk by our empty glasses without looking, as if she didn't care. Usually, we have very good service, especially in the 'sitdown' area. However, the Las Vegas reviewer is right, a few of the lady bartenders are friendly and/or quite attractive. They are back to 2 seasonals and 4 standards, which is disappointing, as the seasonals change somewhat infrequently. However, it is hard to beat 1/2 appetizers & $1.00 off beer from 3-6 p.m., 7 days a week, making the Baraboo an excellent after work stop. The Entertainment Book now has three discount coupons, if you can't make it during happy hour. Finally, they are running excellent weekday specials.

(02/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Detroit Beer Company, Detroit, MI

I went before a Red Wings game (they have shuttle bus service)! The bartender limited me to only 2 belgium triples because its SO strong (8.6%), yet they serve hard liquor! They also gypped (sp?) me on the pint, filling the glass 2/3rd's up. That seemed a bit hypocritical. After all, I was not going to drive for another 5+ hours. Their IPA (7.2%, full glass with no limit) and the Belgium was very good and true to form. The variety is on the thin side. I had the Smoked Whitefish Pate' appetizer during happy hour, but the bartender couldn't tell me anything other than it's "Happy Hour price" and it's on certain items. Turned out to be roughly half off. Not much fish flavor, but you get a lot of it (the bartender said it was "awesome"). Your call on that item. After my friend arrived, we split the Chicken Quesedillas (sp?, again) appetizer and it was good, hearty and plentiful. We bought DBC glassware to get a buck off beer, but had to pay $6.00 for the first pint. $3.75 was the regular price for a pint; not exactly a bargain, but they probably have a lot of city taxes to pay. Overall, I would recommend the place and go back, as it's a cool venue in a great downtown location. After reading the other reviews, I definitely what to explore their menu. Thank you Royal Oak Brewery for helping improve downtown Detroit!

(02/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy So So Lousy

Establishment: Tahquamenon Falls Brewery and Pub, Paradise, MI

My family 'dined' there in the first weekend of August, 2003. What a disappointment!! A simple lager was as flat as a pancake! It was so undrinkable, I threw out about 4 oz. as we made our way to the Falls. To give it a second chance, we dined there after our excursion. Choosing between a Cherry Wheat and a Porter (a porter in early August?? Better to serve an ale, Kolsch or Belgium Wit, than a porter), I chose the Wheat. The use of cherry extract was obvious and painfully similar to Sam Adams Cherry Wheat. As for the food, my Wisconsin beer cheese soup was painfully thin. The entrees were not much better, as my wife said that her pasty would have been inedible if it were not for the side of gravy, and my overpriced White Fish had very little seasoning. I have been to many Michigan Brew Pubs in SE Michigan, as well as a number in 'outstate Michigan, and a few around the country, and I rate this one very, very low. Consume at your own risk.

(08/31/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy So So

Establishment: Big Buck Brewery and Steakhouse, Gaylord, MI

very bad customer service when I attended a large group seating in October, 2002. Many patrons received their food late, with some of the steaks being cold and overcooked. The owner/manager blamed the lack of redness on the green neon lighting over the so called medium-cooked steak. What a pathetic excuse! I couldn't believe that an established restauranteur would lay such a thick layer of BS. He replaced the steak with an undercooked sirlion, but that's not the point. Replace the overcooked turf and apologize, as it was obviously not quality food. Fortunately, I ordered Cajun Chicken Salad, which was decent. It's a good place to go in a small group, which I've done several times, but don't plan a large gathering.

(10/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great So So Good

Establishment: Phantom Canyon Brewing Company, Colorado Springs, CO

Excellent salmon special; had one good beer, as I got refilled by an overanxious server before I could say something in a very noisy, crowded building. I thought CO would be more laid back. Good restaurant, but go to Il Vicino first for better atmosphere, service and prices.

(07/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Il Vicino Wood Oven Pizza and Brewery, Colorado Springs, CO

FINALLY!! I've heard so much about the beer of Colorado, and it took my last day of our family trip to find it! High quality beer that tastes as advertised; good sized menu with not an item over $8; and the three of us loved our dinners! After ordering food and drink (even before we sit down), the waitress gave my 10 year old son a plate with pizza dough to amuse himself with...great idea! (far better than the crayon routine) Plentiful portions, true pints glasses and the best service I've had in years make this a must stop in Co. Springs.

(07/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A Good Good

Establishment: Sandlot Brewery, Denver, CO

Nice atmosphere; lousy beer. Nuff said.

(07/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Lousy So So

Establishment: Wynkoop Brewing Company, Denver, CO

Such high praise from past reviews heightened my hopes on my 1st day in Denver, 2 hours before the Rockies' game. Disappointing at best; definitely not impressed. The bartender had all the personality of the Terminator, which added to my woes. After ordering and finishing a hand-pulled IPA, which was more like an ESB (lacked IBU's), he drew a 2nd w/o asking if I even wanted the same. Sales over service. So much for sampling. The food was mediocre and overpriced. Smoky and crowded, not worth a second trip, unless just to drink the beer I didn't try. P.S. If this is the best in CO, or the best you've been to, you need to get out a LOT more (Greg from A2).

(07/20/2002)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.128 seconds) 17:36:32 50.17.174.94, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS