PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from john
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 02, 2014 @ 12:59 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
john

Beer Reviews
(21)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

21
Beer Reviews from john
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Crooked Rooster / Roosterfish Brewing, Watkins Glen, NY

What a horrible experience I had here. Wow! Not only is the beer nondescript and amateur at best, but the service and staff is shockingly repellent. A two hour wait for food, a bartender with the evil eye and a manager screaming at me does not a pleasent visit or review make. Avoid this place and their second restaurant The Wildflower Cafe next door, they share the same kitchen and same cook, like the plague.

(10/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Appalachian Brewing Company, Harrisburg, PA

Wow! This place is HUGE. Their Scottish ale ranks right up there with some of the best I have ever had. Food was very good. The shear size of their brewing tanks and facility is most impressive.

(12/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: A1A Aleworks, Saint Augustine, FL

A small treasure of a brewpub! Beer and food were both excellent. Staff was very cordial and took time to talk. Copper bar is very impressive. Pretty eclectic mix of patrons. Local people on their lunch hour as well as tourists being dropped off by bus. I look forward to returning in the future. Cool alligator farm a couple of miles away - don't miss it.

(12/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Maine Coast Brewing was Jack Russell Brewpub, Bar Harbor, ME

Brewery no longer at this location. Are currently moving into Jack Russel's Pub outside of town on Rte. 3.

(06/19/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Atlantic Brewing Company, Bar Harbor, ME

Great microbrewery just outside of Bar Harbor. Their Real Beer is fantastic. The Coal Porter is pretty sweet. But their Braggert Barley Wine is to die for. Brought lots home with me. Almost every bar or restaurant in Bar Harbor sells some of their brews. The guide giving the tour could have been better educated about brewing. The indoor/outdoor cafe is a great idea that other microbreweries should look into.

(06/19/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Atlantic Brewing Company, Bar Harbor, ME

Brewery is no longer at this location.

(06/19/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good So So Good

Establishment: Thirsty Dog Brewing Company, Canton, OH

They really do have 15 flavors on tap. Quite an impressive range of beers. Their dog bone shaped sampler comes with 8, 11, or 15 samples. Huge place with all the kettles on display, but they could have done a better job disguising the old mexican restaurant that used to be there.

(02/23/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Hoster Brewing Company, Columbus, OH

This place is great! Their 90 Shilling Scotch ale is worth the trip, from the tap or from the hand-pull. Food was excellent. It's in the old Brewery district and German Town. This was a very comfortable brewpub, unlike the artsy-fartsy "Elevator" down the street.

(02/23/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good

Establishment: Garrett Mill Brewing was Alessi's Ristorante, Garrettsville, OH

This place is more of a restaurant then a brewpub. There was no beer list or discription of their beers to be found. Their Nut Brown tasted like a Honey Brown and their Honey Porter tasted like a Smoked Porter. The building is situated right on top of some waterfalls, very cool.

(02/23/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Bunky's Legends Brewing Company, Newark, OH

All the beers I sampled were very good. Their stout really is a porter and quite good. The place is huge, you can really tell it used to be a supermarket. The seperate cigar bar is a great idea. Great place but couldn't they come up with a better name?

(02/23/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Barley's Brewing Company, Columbus, OH

Probably the most comfortable brewpub in Columbus. All the beers I sampled were of superior quality. They did run out of several flavors in the couple of hours I was there though. It was PACKED on the Friday night I visited. My only complaint, well it's a question really is why in the world did they put the host station in the middle of the place? It log-jammed the whole place.

(02/23/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Good Good

Establishment: Black Forest Brew Haus, Farmingdale, NY

Not what I expected. This is a large German themed restaurant. It must be awesome when they hold an Oktoberfest. Beers were uninspiring. Not much of an atmosphere. I went out of my way to visit this place and I wouldn't recommend to a traveling beer connoisseur.

(01/25/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Mendocino Brewing Company, Hopland, CA

Mendocino provides the perfect relaxed atmosphere to quaff some of the best beer ever brewed. Red Tail Ale and Black Hawk Stout are both excellent, but Eye of the Hawk is a slice of heaven. In all my travels, this pub ranks as one of the best.

(07/29/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So So So Good

Establishment: Heartland Brewery at Union Square, New York, NY

Went there for Thanksgiving. Beer selection was great but the food wasn't.

(01/25/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Lousy So So

Establishment: Chelsea Brewing Company, New York, NY

Some very good beers, but oh my God, they have the hostess from Hell. If I didn't want to try their beers so bad, I would have walked out.

(01/25/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Davidson Brothers Restaurant and Brewery, Glens Falls, NY

Great beer and food. The ESB is worth the trip.

(10/15/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A So So Great

Establishment: Gettysburg Brewing Company, Gettysburg, PA

Dave isn't the friendliest person in the world, but damn, he brews fine beers.

(05/21/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Yuengling, Pottsville, PA

Worst brewery tour I have ever been on. Tour guide knew nothing. Slow, boring, gave up before we got to the beer. Most questions from the crowd were answered with "I don't know."

(05/21/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great

Establishment: Rohrbach Brewing Company, Rochester, NY

My week is not complete without a Scotch Ale. Some of the best damn beer made anywhere.

(04/08/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Barnstormers, Henrietta, NY

No longer a brew pub. Service is the worst. Management doesn't give a damn either.

(03/12/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Chapter House, Ithaca, NY

Yeah, it may be dirty, but great atmosphere. Gimme a yard and I'm happy, even with the neighborhood dogs running around my feet.

(03/12/1998)














(0.1 seconds) 00:59:15 54.166.17.26, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS