PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from john kuster
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 18, 2014 @ 04:44 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
john kuster

Beer Reviews
(30)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

30
Beer Reviews from john kuster
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Sanford's Grub, Pub and Brewery, Sheridan, WY

Stopped here summer '01 and was severely disappointed in the house beers. They had a sort of Frankenbrew system that was very small and put out atrocious beer. The beer list had some decent drafts, but served at about 33 degrees. On the other hand the food was top notch and tasty. A nice stop on a hot day as you cross Wyoming, just be forewarned about the house beers.

(10/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: The Gahan House Pub and Brewery, Charlottetown, PE

The Gahan House is the only brewpub on the island and a great addition to PEI. On previous visits we had no fresh beer to look forward to. It's located right next to a cathedral and is in fact an old nunnery. You can enjoy their beers while looking out the window at the soaring spires of the church. The Sydney Street Stout was my favorite with it's dark almost black appearance and roasty flavor. The food and service were also a cut above. Definitely worth a visit when in Charlottetown.

(08/24/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: L'Inox, Quebec City, QC

L'Inox is in the Old Port section of Quebec City and the only brewpub in town. It's best to have a bit of French to order your beer as very little English was spoken on my visit. The beers are fresh and tasty with the spicy white being my favorite. The food is limited to long hot dogs inserted into hollowed out baguettes. Worth a visit when in Quebec.

(07/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Monk's Cafe, Philadelphia, PA

With everything I've read and heard about Monk's it was going to be hard for it to live up to my expectations, but it did in spades. It was crowded as it should be, but we were served promptly in the back bar where we sat awaiting a table. To sit and enjoy Belgium beer in a place where EVERYONE was drinking great beer was a pleasure. The Mussels and Rack of Lamb were superb, but drinking a Rodenbach Flemish Sour Red with our meal didn't hurt. Make the pilgrimage to Monk's!

(05/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Victory Brewing Company, Downingtown, PA

I recently stopped at this East Coast beer mecca on a brew trek. I didn't sit at the bar so I can't comment on the efficiency of the bartenders but our waiter was top notch. The beer was superior as expected, but the food and service exceeded our expectations. After we ate we were given an impromptu tour of the brewery and treated like VIP's. Everything about Victory was impressive.

(05/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Monk's Cafe, Philadelphia, PA

If you love Belgian beer and your tastes run to the out of the ordinary but exemplary food this is the place to make a pilgrimage to. The selection of Belgians on tap is superb with the back bar having the bigger selection. Hard to find, real, traditional lambics, trippels, sour Flemish beers, and all the rest are represented here on draft or in bottles. The pomme frites with mussels cooked in Gueze were superb. Can be crowded but I can see why. Worth the wait, especially in the back bar sampling the taps.

(05/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: The Church Brew Works, Pittsburgh , PA

I guess this is blasphemous but the beer doesn't live up to the atmosphere. This setting deserves awesome brews, and while good the year round styles don't impress me. No full bodied, chewy,dark beers such as a stout or porter were available on my visit. The alt was tasty with a nice malt background balanced with some hop complexity. Staff was extremely helpful and prompt. Really nice place, but I would visit more often if they had more big! beers on tap.

(03/24/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Fat Head's South Shore Saloon, Pittsburgh , PA

On my last visit Fathead's had 5 Belgians on tap, 4 outstanding IPA's one on cask, a barleywine, and many other excellent craft brews. The taps change constantly because the owner knows his beer and is attentive to what quality beer is available. The food is up to these same standards. You can wash down great sandwiches and wings with superb beer. What more can you ask from an establishment?

(02/27/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Jones Brewing Company, Smithton, PA

Bankrupt and closed. May contract Stoney's at Iron City.

(02/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Sharp Edge Beer Emporium, Pittsburgh , PA

If you want to get acquainted with Belgian beer this is the place. A recent visit included two flights of Belgians offering 8 different beers. It was great tasting and commenting on the various styles. The food is good although I'd stick to the Pizza and sandwiches. If one of the rooms was non-smoking this place would be perfect.

(01/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Fat Head's South Shore Saloon, Pittsburgh , PA

The recent expansion has added a patio for outside dining. The beer on tap selection has widened to 28, with most being top notch micros. Food is as tasty and ample as always. Just a great stop for anyone interested in having a quality beer with a humongous sandwich.

(10/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Wagner Vineyards and Brewing Company, Lodi, NY

Sat on the deck and enjoyed the sampler of their six beers. The pale ale and oatmeal stout were outstanding. The pilsner was smooth and spicy and one of the best I've ever had. The setting definitely enhances the experience. Vineyards sloping into Seneca Lake. The Finger Lakes at their best!!

(10/16/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Market Street Brewing Company and Restaurant, Corning, NY

Visited in the fall when Market Street was ablaze in color making this one of the most picturesque brewpubs I've been too. Darktagnan was a tasty dark ale, while the MSBC soup with artichokes, lemon, rosemary and cream was worth the visit.

(10/16/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Bullfrog Brewery, Williamsport, PA

Great old building in downtown Williamsport. Pressed tin ceiling shows off fermenters behind the bar. Beers were quite good though not inspired. Food and service were more than adequate. Overall a nice place to stop when in the area and have one of their nine styles of brews. The Juniper Wit was different but not to my taste.

(10/16/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Good Good N/A

Establishment: Primo Barone's, Franklin, PA

As of Sept/Oct 2001 the brewery is not in operation, they lost their brewer. Primo says it they will be brewing next year. They have a decent selection of micros on tap though.

(10/05/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: D's Six Packs and Dogz, Pittsburgh , PA

Just had a Andersonville Barney Flats Oatmeal Stout, a LaChoffe Golden Ale and the Best Dogs and Chili Fries around. Try this place out!

(08/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Woolwich Arms, Guelph, ON

I agree with the great reviews. Had some fine beers served at the right temperature. The atmosphere and food was superb. I believe this is what an English pub should aspire too.

(08/21/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Wellington Brewery, Guelph, ON

Dark beers are hard to find at times in the Great White North but Wellington's Iron Duke Porter stands with some of the best. The Strong Ale is a full bodied,malty brew with a touch of roastiness. Guelph is a great beer town.

(08/21/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Lang Creek Brewery, Marion, MT

The Amber and IPA were well made and represented their styles well.

(08/18/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: DG Barley's Brewhouse and Grill, Kalispell, MT

Large variety of their own beers and the excellent Lang Creek Brewery brews. The restaurant is also top notch. Great pizza, some really different. Lang Creek's tasting room is next door.

(08/18/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Brewer's Art, Baltimore, MD

A must stop when in Baltimore. The atmosphere, beer and food make this a unique brewpub. The tapas were outstanding in quality and taste on our visit. The Belgian Ales were first rate and spot on.

(08/12/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Firehouse Brewing Company, Rapid City, SD

Visited in early July and had a wonderful, roasty, full-bodied porter called Timothy's Fear along with the extremely flavorful Chukkar Ale. The food and service were impeccable. I strongly would recommend a visit.

(08/11/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Bayern Brewing Company, Missoula, MT

Nice selection of micros to go along with the local Bayern beers. I was impressed with the atmosphere and overall appearance of Iron Horse.

(08/11/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Montana Brewing Company, Billings, MT

The best of the Montana brewpubs I visited. The Sharptail Ale is superb, as well as Custer's Last Stout. Great looking place in a fine town.

(07/31/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Montana Brewing Company, Billings, MT

The best of the Montana brewpubs I visited. The Sharptail Ale is superb, as well as Custer's Last Stout. Great looking place in a fine town.

(07/31/2001)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.143 seconds) 04:44:56 54.235.51.243, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS