PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from john lewis
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 25, 2014 @ 05:19 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
john lewis

Beer Reviews
(43)

Restaurant Reviews
(1)






User Tagline: "Beer is proof God loves us and wants us to be happy"
Favorite Beer: Sierra Nevada Pale Ale
Located In: Pittsburgh, PA

43
Beer Reviews from john lewis
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Great Good Great Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Nodding Head Brewery and Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA

Stopped in last Monday evening while spending the night/next day in Philly. If you're not careful you might miss the place from the street. It's on the second floor. Sat at the bar and started with their Home Alone, a Belgian-style ale. Was pretty good but nothing exceptional. Then went to the Zephyr, an altbier. Again, okay. Then tried the cask ale which was their Grog, a brown ale. This was nice. Had the right amount of dark malt and carbonation you'd expect from a cask. Lastly tried the BPA, a malty pale ale. I should have tried this one first. It was great! Drank down the first pint so fast because it was so good I had to have another to savor it. Definitely would recommend the BPA or the Grog. As for the food, it was better than the beers. Started with an appetizer of BBQ pulled pork quesadillas. I've never seen them with pulled pork before, typically just cheese or chicken. Whoever thought of BBQ pulled pork deserves a medal. They were fantastic! Follwed that up a little later with famous French-dip roast beef sandwhich and fries with jalapeno mayonnaise. Again, the roast beef was excellent, the dip delicious and the jalapenos mayonnaise terrific! I'm getting hungry for them again just writing about them. Definitely worth trying. I would visit here again but hope they get their other beers up to par with the BPA.

(11/06/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Barley Creek Brewing Company, Tannersville, PA

First let me say that if I'd known this place was within walking distance of the outlet shopping center I would have spent more time here. As it turned out we stopped here on our last day of vacation on a whim only to discover it's located behind the outlets that we went to earlier in the week. I must not of had my beer-dar turned on that day. Inside it's a very nice looking cabin-ish styled bar/restaurant. I think they also have a separate deck/pavilion out back. The beer selection is pretty good for a brewpub (light ales, lagers, wheats, IPAs and barley wines). I had the Iron Arm wheat first which was good. It didn't knock me off my seat but I wouldn't turn it down either. Then I had the Rescue IPA which was the same; good but nothing to get worked up about. Didn't have anything else as our group was just stopping for a short time. Had wings and sweet potato fries which were also very good. Would like to have spent more time here. It looks like it could be a fun place to hang out while the significant others are shopping. And they have free tours every day at 12:30. Maybe next time.

(08/03/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Pocono Brewing Company, Swiftwater , PA

This place is difficult to judge. If I base it on being a brewpub/brewery it fails. They only have a couple (2 or 3) "locally brewed" beers and I don't recall what they were. The one that sounded interesting they were out of. The others didn't sound too tempting. The waiter described one as like Yuengling. Not being a huge fan of Yuengling I tried it anyway and it did taste like it (I wouldn't be surprised if it was). But their bottle selection is very good so as a beer bar it gets good marks. The food and service were also very good. I only stopped in once while on vacation in the area but the place is quite large with an outside deck and a sushi bar (I think). If I'm in the area again I would like more time to check out the place. Overall though I'd say it's still worth a stop. This is a case of where the whole measures up more than just the sum of its parts.

(08/03/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Hofbrauhaus Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA

Went relatively early on a Friday night (5 PM) which was a good thing because by 6 you would be waiting a couple of hours. They don't try to rush you out while you're there which is good for those lucky enough to be seated and bad for the rest. We were seated in the separate dining area off the main beer hall. Too bad because when we went into the beer hal to look around it was definately livelier. Next time we'll have to try to get seated there. They had four beers available, none of their seasonals. I'll hold off overall judgement on the beers until they get their own brewing. Of the four I tried only the dunkel was worth drinking (the weizen wasn't bad either). The food was pretty good with the appetizers outshining the main courses. Service was good also considering the number of people there. It's hard for me to compare this to the other German beer hall in the area (Penn Brewery) because this one definately has the feel of a chain while PB is more authentic. I will go back to Hofbrau at elast a few more times. I guess it's a good thing when you have two good German beer halls in the city.

(04/27/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Rivertowne Pour House, Monroeville, PA

After reading so many good things about this place we decided to check it out and are glad (and sad) we did. Glad because it lived up to everything everyone has said about the place: great beer, great food, great service. Sad because it isn't closer (I'll take it in my neighborhood anyday). It's about a 30 minute drive (thank God for GPS) so we have to be careful one of us can find the way back home, but it is definitely worth the trip. I will agree that with the vast beer selection it borders on overkill and after your fifth or sixth beer they can start to blend together. The IPA and the Melting Pot pale ale were very good as was the wit beer and the saison. The hefe was okay, nothing great and the kolsch was alright - not my favorite. Even if beer isn't your thing the food is another reason to go. Their menu is almost as vast as the beer selection. Page after page of appetizers, salads, sandwiches, wraps, dinners, pizza. You can get lost just looking through it. Started off with a bucket of mussels and half-bucket of whole wings. The wings were good but the mussels were excellent - especially if you like garlic. Ending up getting another bucket with our dinners. Their sandwiches are huge and come with either homemade fries or homemade chips - both a good also. The staff is very friendly, knowledegable and helpful. Very big and clean inside. As I've always dreamed of having my own brewpub this place is almost how I pictured it would be (maybe they can open another a little closer?). Definitely worth the trip and will be going back again.

(08/09/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: Old Ebbitt Grill, Washington, DC

Stopped in late on a Saturday night and sat at the bar to have a few. Tap beer selection is very good - a lot of different micros available. And service was top-notch also. The place has that old-Washington look and feel to it. Very easy to picture fat-cat politicans wheeling and dealing here. Very cool looking place. But I must say the most memorable part of the evening for me was the oyster appetizer I had. They were probably the best oysters on the half-shell I've ever had. Not too briny with just the right amount of zip from the sauce. Wow, I'm getting hungry for them again just thinking about them. I wonder if they can freeze dry and ship them???

(06/04/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Dubliner Irish Pub, Washington, DC

Stopped in for lunch on our last day in DC mostly because it is listed in "All About Beer" as one of the places to have a beer in the world before you die. Well, I had a beer. I guess I can die now. This place looked intersting on the inside but it was such a nice day we ate outside. The food was okay, nothing special. I had a Guinness which is always good. I can't comment on the lack of other beer selections only to say when I was walking through the place I didn't notice too many other taps.

(06/04/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant, Washington, DC

Stopped in on our way walking back to our hotel from the ChopHouse Brewery. had I known we were stopping here I would have left room for the garlic fries - an absolute must for any first-time GB patron. I was a little disappointed in their beer selection. They only had a golden, hefeweizen, Marzen and a seasonal (which escapes me right now) on tap. The hefeweizen was good but not great. The restaurant looks interesting - set in an old bank building. Stop in if you're in the neighborhood.

(06/04/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: District ChopHouse and Brewery, Washington, DC

I wasn't sure what to expect from this place, being part of the Rock Bottom chain. I like the Rock Bottoms but hoped this would be a little different. It sure was. The beer selection resembles the typical offerings available from Rock Bottom - light through stoudt. While the ones we tried where very good there wasn't anything that was drop-dead terrific. What really separated it from Rock Bottom was the food. Four of us ordered dinners and no one was disappointed. ChopHouse distinguishes itself from Rock Bottom by being more upscale while still maintaining that typical brewpub atmosphere. Definately stop in if you're in the area.

(06/04/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Brickskeller, Washington, DC

Stopped in here a couple of times while vacationing in DC over the weekend. Luckily it was within a short walking distance of where we stayed. This place has great ambiance. It's located in the basement where all us "skeller-dwellers" belong. The beer selection is fantastic. It helped me eliminate a couple of brews that have been on my "haven't found it anywhere yet" list. The only drawback was some of the beers I wanted to sample where temporarily out of stock. That can happen from time-to-time. The bartender is a walking encyclopedia of beer knowledge. Sit at the bar and talk to her about any beer they have and she'll probably be able to give you some kind of intelligible answer. We only had appetizers while we were there and they were okay, nothing special. But let's face it - you don't come here for the food.

(06/04/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Sharp Edge Creekhouse, Pittsburgh , PA

I realized that I haven't updated my review for a few years and a lot has changed since then. They continue to excell at providing the best selection of beers on tap anywhere in the area (particularly Belgiums) but the biggest improvement the past few years has been the food. It has gone to second-rate to first-class. Everything from pizzas to appetizers to sandwiches to entrees to desserts are now fantastic. I have been here on many occasions over the past couple of years and since they've changed their menu I can't think of one thing I've had to eat that has dissapointed me. Gret beer, great food, great atmosphere. What else can you ask for?

(05/28/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: The Hop House Wood Fired Food and Ale, Pittsburgh , PA

I was in the area recently so I thought I would stop in. I've been by it before but never stopped - I used to live in the area. Nice and open inside. Bar is a good size that wraps around in a U-shape so you can see everyone from where you are sitting. It was early on a Tuesday so there weren't many people there yet. I couldn't stay long but by 5:30 it was starting to get crowded. They have a good selection of microbrews on tap (probably around 30 of them) with the usual import offerings and additional bottle choices. A good selection overall. I couldn't stay long so I had an order of wings (10 cents each on Tuesdays) with honey jalapeno suace - very tasty with the right amount of zip. If I'm back again I would like to try one of their wood-fire pizzas. They sure did smell good while I was there. Other food offerings are your typical beer-bar fair: sandwiches, wraps, pasta, etc. Service was very good (of course, it wasn't extremely crowded yet). I would definately stop again when in the area. Wish I still lived nearby.

(05/28/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Raleigh Pour House, Raleigh, NC

I think this place is closed or at least has strange hours. I went by on a Wednesday evening at 5 and it was closed with no signs of opening anytime soon.

(04/18/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Tir na nOg Irish Pub, Raleigh, NC

First I must say this is the brightest pub I've ever been to. Maybe they turn the lights down later in the evening but when I stopped in at 5 PM on a Wednesday night the place was as bright as an office. That aside, I liked the interior of it. It's a very open bar-restaurant with paintings on the wall and some Irish memorabilia around. The staff was very nice and talkative to just about anyone. The place is large enough that there appeared to be a dart league tournament going on later in the evening and you wouldn't even know they were there. They beer selection was pretty good and the food was very good also. It doesn't look like a whole lot from outside but I was glad I stopped in. I would go back to this place again.

(04/18/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Hibernian Pub, Raleigh, NC

Stopped in for a few pints one everning while in the area for work. It's your typical Irish-bar look-alike you see popping up everywhere. The beer selection is pretty decent. The food selection is okay and the quanlity is okay also. The service could be better. At times I felt I was imposing on the bartender to have him get me another drink. It is a fairly decent sized place with the "ambiance" of an Irish pub. I wouldn't avoid this place but I wouldn't run back either.

(04/18/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: A1A Aleworks, Saint Augustine, FL

Stopped in here for lunch one Friday afternoon while visiting relatives. Started out with the Summer Wheat which I think they just tapped the day before. It was okay but had a strange aftertaste. Maybe the line needed cleaned more before they connected it. Then I had the Red Ale and was more impressed with that. It has an interesting mixture of hoppiness like a pale ale and sweetness. It was much more refreshing than the wheat. The food was pretty good also. Had a couple of their daily specials and the lobster tacos as an appetizer. The lobster tacos were probably the best of any of the food. We ate downstairs which was good because upstairs there was a party going on and it was much warmer and noisier. Downstairs was quieter and more relaxed although the service was a little slow at times. It's in a nice location and probaly a fun place to go in the evening. I would stop again the next time I'm in town.

(06/12/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Orlando Ale House, Orlando, FL

This place would be better with more microbrews available but the selection they have isn't terrible. The service was good once I got a bartenders attention. The food was okay without being great. This isn't a bad place to go when you're on vacation.

(06/12/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Prescott Brewing Company, Prescott, AZ

Stopped in on a Sunday Afternoon for lunch while vacationing in the area. Started off with the Willow Wheat which was absolutely terrible! It had an awful skunky aftertaste. Then tried a sampler rack (without the wheat) and was pleasantly surprised that most of the others were very good. The light was bland but the pale ale, IPA and porter all had good flavor and aftertaste. The food was good, nothing exceptional. And the service was also fairly good. Would go back if in the area again.

(05/22/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good So So

Establishment: Paddys' Pour House, Carnegie, PA

Stopped in here the past St. Patrick's Day as is our yearly routine. It started off bad when they told us they were already out of potato pancakes (at 5 PM) which, for some reason, is our anual Paddy's day routine. And it was more crowded than usual - something about a bus load of people arriving earlier and just leaving when we got there. They weren't even letting people in the back tent for a while. It just seemd to all of us that it was a different crowd this year. This is a great place to stop on a "regular" night or weekend unfortunately I don't know if it will continue to be a stopping point for us on Paddy days in the future.

(05/22/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Oak Creek Brewery And Grill, Sedona, AZ

Stopped in here for lunch one day while vacationing in Sedona. Beer selection and quality are typical for a brewpub - good but not great. Food was very good as was the service. Planned to come back Friday evening for their advertised May 4th Cinco de Mayo party. Got there at 8:30 PM and were told it was closed. Tried to explain we didn't want food but to just sit at the bar. "No" the man at the door exclaimed, "Everything's closed"! Talk about a bummer. This seems to be typical of most bar/restaraunts in Sedona.

(05/22/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good So So

Establishment: Red Oak Brew Pub, Greensboro, NC

I almost drove by this place last week while looking for it at night in the rain. It's off the main road behind a shopping center. Once I found it I noticed the layout is a little unusual. Not neccesarily a bad thing, just different. The bar area where I stayed is big and nice enough. I was there on a Wednesday evening and there weren't many people there, in the bar area or the restaurant. I was disappointed to find out they only have three of their own brews on tap, all lagers. Light, amber and dark. I sampled all three and would hard pressed to tell the difference between each. It seems all three start from the same base and they just add a little coloring to make it amber or dark. Not a very good variey. The food however was much better than the beer. I had a bowl of chilli and their "famous" drunken chicken. The chilli was good but the chicken was excelent. If I had to go back there again it would be more for the chicken than the beer. Not exactly want you to hear from a brew pub.

(09/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Pennsylvania Brewing Company aka Penn Brewery, Pittsburgh , PA

Come here many times, from special events like Oktoberfest or their Microbrew Festival to just stopping in before or after the game. It's always a great time. The beer is always top-notch from their weizen to the dark to the seasonals - there's always a good brew to be had. And the food has greatly improved over the last couple of years. Before it was hit-or-miss, sometimes you would get a good meal and sometimes you wouldn't. But lately all the meals I've had their have been top-notch. If you like German food and beer there's no other place to go than the Brewery.

(02/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: KClinger's Tavern, Hanover, PA

You wouldn't expect to find a place like this out in the middle of nowhere (Hanover may not be the middle of nowhere but it's close). Places like this in a larger city are hard to come by. If you can't find a beer you like here then maybe you should stop drinking beer. They have an enormous selection of bottled beer and a large selection of drafts. I've only been here once (traveling on business) but plan to come back when in the area. The food was good, standard pub fare. The bar is full of different items that give it a quaint but not over-the-top cliche' feel to it. This isn't TGIFriday's (thankfully). The waitstaff was very freindly and helpful. The people of Hanover should feel very fortunate to have a place like this in their hometown.

(02/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Good

Establishment: Fox and Hound English Pub and Grille, Pittsburgh , PA

You can't ask for much more from a chain pub. They have a great selection of micros and imports. They also have a local pub club which some of the chains seem to be doing to give it more of a local feel. The food is also pretty good for chain fair - mostly sandwiches and BBQ. It definitely has that mass-produced feel to it but it could be worse.

(05/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Paddys' Pour House, Carnegie, PA

This place is of a dying breed - a local establishment that doesn't cater to just the Coor's drinking crowd. If you want to experience a great St Patrick's day pub, go here. While it can get too crowded for it's own good, it's still a good place to go. Better than some of the other "Irish" establishments. The food is good, authentic Irish pub fare. And the beer selection isn't extensive but it is more than adequate.

(05/10/2005)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.333 seconds) 17:19:52 54.226.7.15, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS