PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from john aitchison
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 23, 2014 @ 05:10 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
john aitchison

Beer Reviews
(9)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

9
Beer Reviews from john aitchison
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Berkshire Brewing Company, South Deerfield, MA

Well made beers, but they were all a bit "thin". The Pale Ale was exceptional and the Hefeweizen a true German though lacking in malt. Well made for a 1.042 beer, but you need more.

(10/20/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Old Forge, Lanesboro, MA

Amazing place in the Berkshires. Hundreds of beers, inclulding some hard to find ones. Belgians, Germans, and Micros from all over. Excellent food at reasonable prices. Best beer place in Western Massachusetts.

(10/20/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Awesome! Good

Establishment: Pittsfield Brew Works, Pittsfield, MA

Excellent service but the beers were lacking. There was diacyetal in three of the beers. The Dunkel was clean but watery. The IPA's and Stout were the best of the stable, well balanced with good body.

Didn't have any food, so I can't comment here.

(10/20/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: Amherst Brewing Company, Amherst, MA

Beer quality very good. IPA tasty, especially for an East Coast place. The ESB was good, but lacked malt. The Imperial Stout was the best beer of the taster--a bit "small" but full of roasty chocolate malt flavors with a nice hop balance. Only bad beer was the Pilsner which was a bit phenolic.

Food and Service were wonderful. Some of the best Fish and Chips I've had.

(10/20/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Fourquet Fourchette, Chambly, QC

First time I've given a place 5 "awesomes". What can you say about the beers--10 or more of Unibroque's finest; many on draft. Anything you ever wanted in a Belgian beer is right there. I won't describe the beers--if you're considering a trip to Chambly, you know all about Unibroque.

The food is wonderful as well. Their chef has won awards for being one of the best is Quebec. It's all authentic French Canadian, and everyting we tried was tasty. Their smoked beef was better than anything we had in Montreal.

The waitress was friendly, attentive, and didn't mind our English. She even made copies of the beer menu for me. Couldn't have improved on it.

The atmosphere is sort of a "community farmhouse". There is a long counter full of French Canadian beer brewed through the years. Each table has some malted barley to help decorate. If you're lucky enough to go when the weather allows, sit outside overlooking the river. It doesn't get much better.

Don't go on a Monday or Tuesday. They're closed. Their prices are reasonable--it cost us $100 US for three dinners and a lot of beer. One additional perk--there is a motel directly across the street. I wish I'd known that before I went--then dinner would have cost another $50 and I'd have tried all their beers.

(06/02/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Crescent City Brewhouse, New Orleans, LA

Crescent City is very rare for a Brewpub; they brew lagers rather than ales. I love German lagers, and theirs are very tasty. The dark beer is a classic dunkel, the pilsner has a nice hoppy bite, and the helles bock and malty as it should be. Their only ale, a hefeweizen, is a true German weizen.

The salmon was excellent as well. Louisiana doesn't have "open container" laws. You can get a tasty beer to go, and walk around the French Quarter drinking something with flavor instead of the usual Bud-Miller-Coors choices.

(06/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Big Bear Mountain Brewery, Big Bear Lake, CA

Beer was ok, Dopplebock was a little phenolic and way too thin. IPA was decent, but could use more hops. Food was good and atmosphere, service, and music were great.

(03/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!

Establishment: Lancaster Brewing Company, Lancaster, PA

Pilsner alone is worth the trip. Malty and hoppy. Best brewpub Pilsner I've had.

(11/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Iron Hill Brewery and Restaurant, Newark, DE

Very good beer. Interesting mineral profile in water adds character to all beers. Oktoberfest clean and malty with dry finish. Tasty. IPA assertively hopped, both in boil and finish.

(11/05/2003)














(0.079 seconds) 05:10:02 54.80.17.224, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS