PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from john b
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 02, 2014 @ 04:12 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
john b

Beer Reviews
(7)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

7
Beer Reviews from john b
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Iron Hill Brewery and Restaurant, Lancaster, PA

I am also amazed at the mediocre reviews of the beer and food at Iron Hill. I have eaten at this establishment at least 10 times in the past year and can say without qualification that HANDS DOWN this Brewpub has the BEST FOOD I have ever eaten at a Brewery. The selection and quality is superb.

And with all due respect, I suggest the reviewer that said the beers are "pedestrian" to take a hike. Iron Hill has an incredible selection ranging from light beer for the ladies to great Iron Bound Ale session beer, to porters, Belgians, Triple Bocks, an amazing Rye IPA (!), all the usual brands plus a rotating monthly assortment. And always a Cask Conditioned Ale that is rotated. Highly Recommended from a local.

(01/02/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Troegs Brewing Company, Harrisburg, PA

Troegs and Victory make the best beer in PA -- tie for first place in my mind. Victory's Prima Pils and Hop Devil can't be beat, but for pure day-to-day drinkability and joy in life, the Troegs Pale Ale is amazing, the Troeg's hopback ale incredible, and the re-formulated Dream Weaver Wheat wonderfully thirst-quenching (the latter soon to be added to the variety pack in place of the mundane lager). And, to top it all off, the Troeg brother-brewers and employees are the nicest bunch of folks. If you are from out of state, go to the tour Saturday afternoons!! If only they started a brew-pub!! Please...

(09/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Lancaster Brewing Company, Lancaster, PA

Being a Hop Head, and with Victory to the east, and Troegs to the west, LBC was always the poor cousin. I was just never overwhelmed with LBC's beers...until now. I was pleasantly surprised by the flavor and taste of the Hop Hog, the first LBC offering I can truly and happily say is unique and worth drinking. An enthusiastic thumb's up!! LBC's quality of beer has been steadily improving in the past few years, and the Hop Hog is a perfect addition.

(04/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: Capitol City Brewing Corporation, Arlington, VA

Nice Place and friendly service - OK, its a chain, but I found the rye pale ale to be delicious and would go back again.

(11/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Great Great Great

Establishment: Carlyle Grand Cafe, Arlington, VA

Carlyle has a house brand pale ale that I found to be surprisingly good - better in fact than the Capital City Brewpub's Pale Ale offered across the street. Food was pricy but good.

(11/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Troegs Brewing Company, Harrisburg, PA

Chris and John have rightly focused on quality of craft instead of size - Saturday tour was awesome and is worth the trip, even though no brewpub. Pale ale is some of the best I have had, and the hopback ale is amazing. Fresh cases now sold on site and beer now available in growlers. Troegs, along with Victory, offers the best-tasting beer in PA.

(10/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good So So Good So So

Establishment: Crescent City Brewhouse, New Orleans, LA

Outdoor Balcony on 2nd Floor Overlooking French Quarter is Awesome. Too bad the beer selections are uniformly weak and tasteless, lacking body and flavor.

(02/03/2003)














(0.064 seconds) 04:12:45 54.196.122.247, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS