PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from john bloxom
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 24, 2014 @ 07:42 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
john bloxom

Beer Reviews
(22)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

22
Beer Reviews from john bloxom
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Faust Brewing Company, New Braunfels, TX

Faust Brewing Company is no longer brewing beer. We stopped in this month to check it out, and the hotel clerk said they had no brewmaster, and no plans to brew any more beer. The bar was locked up and dark, this was on a Saturday afternoon. No point in stopping. HOWEVER, the next street over is the Friesenhaus restaurant - great German food w/ attached bakery, and they have 4-5 good German imports on tap to go along with the meal.

(01/26/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Uncle Billy's Brew and Que Smokehouse and Brewery, Austin, TX

A welcome addition to the Texas brew scene. Tried both the pale ale and IPA, very similar but our IPA's were noticeably hoppier than the pale. They were out of smoked porter, but an expresso stout is in the works, and they will be having a cask night once a week. Did not eat a full meal, but the pork quesadilla appetizer was very tasty. Service was friendly and prompt. We will be back, good to see the brewmaster from The Bitter End is back giving us great brews!

(08/05/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: San Francisco Brewing Company, San Francisco, CA

One of our must stop locations in San Francisco - bartender on duty has always been friendly, just not the chain eatery hostess type ("how you folks doing this evening...great!) More like a UK publican - very relaxed and welcoming. Waitstaff and other bartenders always attentive and friendly, never had an empty glass nor a bad meal. Vintage interior adds to the pub ambience, and the beer (IPA and stout) that we had was very nice for a session. Good people watching location if you get a table outside (hell, good people watching inside), well worth a stop.

(07/10/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: Speakeasy Brewery, San Francisco, CA

Had Speakeasy pints at: Rogue Tied House and Goat Hill Pizza (Potrero Hill location). Really great pints, memorable flavours even though this S.F. trip for me entailed trying every brewery and brewpub beer in the bay area. Prohibition Ale was hop heaven, like sticking your nose in a bag of leaf hops. One of those beers that you just don't want to stop drinking, it's so good. Next trip out, will have to try their open house.

(07/10/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Rogue Ales Public House, San Francisco, CA

Beer geek heaven. Stopped in for a couple of pints one afternoon, ran into a couple of kindred spirit strangers (one from NYC - cheers Nobles!), and spent a long time working down the beer list on the chalkboard. The Rogue Dry Hop Red was a standout, and they also had quite a few guest beers that were great. Service was fantastic, the place was packed, but our guy was always there before the pint got tipped, asking what we wanted next. Worth the trip to this part of the city.

(07/10/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Anchor Brewing Company, San Francisco, CA

Get your reservations in early - our tour was full up, and it was one of the new 10:00am time slots. Well worth the trip, excellent tour of the brewery and history of the place, followed by an outstanding tasting session - no wimpy little shot glasses here, each beer offered was an ample quantity to sample and enjoy. If you go to the 10 am tour, after the tour you can go over a couple of blocks to Goat Hill Pizza for lunch, great pizza and when we were there they had Speakeasy Prohibition Ale on tap!(Sorry Anchor, that last was not meant as anything except advice for out of town hopheads) While we were sampling, the man himself, Fritz Maytag, strolled through the tasting room. I'm glad we signed up for the tour, made me appreciate the Anchor products I see in the stores back home.

(07/10/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Beach Chalet Brewery and Restaurant, San Francisco, CA

Walked in for lunch, were taken straight to a prime window table, waitress was on the spot with menu and explanations of all beers on hand....only drawback to this place is the distance from the rest of the city. Food was very good and cheaper than comparable items downtown. We made the trip out just for this place and it was well worth it.

(07/10/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: ThirstyBear Brewing Company, San Francisco, CA

Big city brewpub with a small town feel. Can get really crowded, but the service and friendliness of the staff is always top notch. Popular place for after work meetings, apparently. IPA and Stout were very tasty, Tuesday night is cask night, and the food is very different (in a good way) from the usual bar and grill. Worth seeking out.

(07/10/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Magnolia Pub and Brewery, San Francisco, CA

This brewpub is in a class all it's own - 8 draught and 5 cask beers! Not to mention the unique artwork, location, and above all, the friendly staff - our server, Katie, made us out of towners feel like this was our neighbourhood pub. The beer was some of the best I've had in a brewpub, and their menu items have expanded since last year as well. Very tasty compliments to beer. Worth a trip from downtown San Francisco just on it's own. A must stop for beer geeks in the bay area.

(07/10/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Bear's Lair, Berkeley, CA

Almost missed this place before our Berkeley visit, but worth the stop. House IPA was tasty, the food looked good, and the atmosphere was laid back and friendly. Felt a bit odd having a pint in a pub on a university campus, in a Student Center type building, but could have spent more time than our itinerary allowed for. For beer geeks' significant others who don't like pub sessions, point them down Telegraph Ave. to all the great shopping while you sit on your stool quaffing pints. It's a win-win situation!

(07/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Triple Rock Brewing Company, Berkeley, CA

Nice pub feel when we walked in, tried the IPAX and the cask Brickhouse, both excellent beers, almost made us consider missing our BART train back to S.F. just to have a few more. Really good. Didn't try the food, but plenty of good smells from other diners. Waitstaff was friendly and attentive without hovering, just nice and laid back. Worth a visit to Berkeley for hop heads and beer geeks.

(07/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Lousy So So

Establishment: Jupiter, Berkeley, CA

Hopefully our visit was on an off day, judging from previous reviews. 2 of 3 beers were good, but the Quasar IPA had a strange scorched taste I've never come across before in any beer, not even smoked ales. Not a pleasant roast flavour, more nasty burned toast-like. The Porter and regular IPA were good. "Seat yourself" sign for the inside, then were ignored by the 3-4 waitstaff gossiping at the bar with the bartender and manager on duty. Had to order all pints at the bar from the non-speaking bartender (waitress did swoop by while I was up to collect an empty glass, so they were on duty and knew we were there), didn't order any food because no menus were offered and the overall vibe was not welcoming. Atmosphere was not what I look for in brewpubs and friendly watering holes. As an old UK pub buddy used to say, if you walk into the pub and don't feel welcome, walk back out, and have a pint somewhere else. Triple Rock and Bear's Lair in Berkeley were totally friendly, so I know it's not the town.

(07/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: 21st Amendment Brewery, San Francisco, CA

Great quality beer (IPA was very tasty), good food (pizza and burgers on this trip), and overall good pub atmosphere. Service was quick and efficient, if not especially friendly the two times we were in. Maybe because we weren't locals? Pub is divided into a seat yourself bar section, and a sit down dining section. Well worth the trek into SOMA as a destination.

(07/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Opal Divine's Freehouse, Austin, TX

Visits over the past couple of years have been to the pub entrance end of the bar. Good selection of pints to go with your meal, great pub grub, with lots of options. Ordering is at the bar Brit style, and service is very friendly and efficient. Live Oak beers on tap, always fresh pints, and interesting Scotch selection. Good piped in music, as opposed to some bars turning up the big screens too loud for conversation. Good stopping place for pint and grub.

(01/01/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Ginger Man, Austin, TX

Consistently excellent hop-head hang out. The main problem with this place is deciding what beer to order. We have been stopping here for years, and the quality and choice of beers is always impressive. Never had a bad pint. Our experience with service has always been outstanding, even during peak hours - the bartenders will notice you, even to remembering what pint you ordered when you wander back up. This last New Year's, even with people lined up at the bar, we had no problem getting fast, professional service. Great place for pre and post pints, for whatever entertainment brings you to downtown Austin, or it can be the destination for a good pub session.

(01/01/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Lousy So So

Establishment: Cricket's Grill and Draft House, Waco, TX

Much needed update, as this place has changed in the last two years. Beer lovers should be prepared with 2nd and 3rd choices, as a tap on the wall no longer means beer in the house. They leave old taps up as decoration. Also, be prepared to send back pints, as the servers and bartenders are no longer as knowledgable as they were - you are in danger of getting either stale or wrong pints. Oh, and they will argue with you over these issues. Service has moved from so-so to lousy the majority of times, if you aren't at the bar, the servers either don't come around, or so infrequently that you run dry for great lengths of time. This place used to be a haven for beer lovers stuck between Dallas and Austin, and it still has a larger selection that other nearby places, but the place has slipped.

(11/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: Two Rows Restaurant and Brewery, Houston, TX

IPA at this location is a nice hoppy session beer, nice range of other beers available. Menu covers most cravings, and portions are generous. Service is always friendly and timely. Good spot to enjoy happy hour beer.

(01/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Cricket's Grill and Draft House, Waco, TX

Both previous reviews are correct: this is a beer oasis in Central Texas. Many taps, not much turnover in what's offered, but enough variety so that any beer style you crave is available. If you get a stale pint, they are always happy to take it back and replace it with no hassle. The food menu is very good and I have yet to get a bad meal. Service is excellent, it only slows down when they get packed, which they do weekends when all the good Baylor Baptists show up to get sloshed - at that time the vibe changes to frat/sorority sports bar, but you can still have a good time, as they are pretty much live and let live. Just gets very crowded and LOUD. But all good fun. The servers WILL remember repeat customers and their pints, giving this place a welcome pub feel.

(10/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Zax Pints and Plates, Austin, TX

2o taps on the wall, only one that had "light" in the title - need I say more? Majority of taps were craft beer taps, including a guest tap. Cheap happy hour pints and eats, fast friendly service, and good parking (can be scarce in Austin). Worth checking out if you're south of the river.

(10/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Monte Carlo Pub and Brewery, Las Vegas, NV

Like one of the previous reviewers, I try out local brewpubs wherever I travel - the two brews I tried were excellent "session" beers. Both the stout and pale ale were good renditions of this style, usually in US breweries you have to order an IPA to get the hoppiness present in this place's pale. Very drinkable, very good value for Las Vegas, especially after getting ambushed ($6.50 for a light pint of Guinness) at Nine Fine Irishmen! Service was prompt and friendly, even on a busy Friday. I will definately stop back in on return trips.

(08/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Great Great Great

Establishment: Hofbrauhaus Las Vegas, Las Vegas, NV

Excellent HB Dunkel on tap to go along with great Schnitzel (order fries as a side for that authentic Bavarian meal). Has appearance of tourist place, but is a good rendition of the original HB Haus in Munich, closer than most in the U.S. Beer selection is appropriate for a real German restaurant. Friendly, fast service.

(08/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Good Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Copper Tank Brewing Company, Austin, TX

College sports bar w/big TV's. Nothing else to recommend it. Pretensions of being upscale yuppie dive, but not the place to go to experience Austin and its' night life. Snotty wait staff, crap brewed beers (usually out of stock)...oh, yeah plenty of major brew lite beers in the bottle for the lemmings.

(06/11/2004)














(0.277 seconds) 19:42:35 54.226.0.225, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS