PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from john gezelius
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 19, 2014 @ 11:23 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
john gezelius

Beer Reviews
(29)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

29
Beer Reviews from john gezelius
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Good Good Great Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: BJ's Pizza, Grill and Brewery, Brea, CA

If you're in Brea, pehaps running the Christmas shopping marathon, then this is a place to stop for a break.. Located at the Brea Mall, it is a place to go and hide and watch a game and have a beer and a bite to eat and get away from strollers and mall rats. With perhaps six of their own brews on tap as well as a good selection of guest beers, including Piraat and Anchor Christmas on tap, this is one of the more hoppening places in Orange County. I had their Pale and Nut brown yeterday and both were true to style, with the Pale being escpecially good with some nachos and a football game. the bartender was busy but always there when my glass was empty. On a scale of one to four mugs, give this a 3 1/2.

(11/25/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Crown City Brewery, Pasadena, CA

I stopped by today for lunch. Their own Pale tasted a bit off, but that may also have been the reult of too much coffee earlier in the day. The Smoked Salmon Lavosh for lunch coupled with a good game on TV did the trick. Anchor Porter on tap was as fresh as it could be. Friendly local crowd as always. This is one of my favorites. On a scale of one to four mugs, give this a 3 1/2.

(11/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So So So Good

Establishment: BJ's Restaurant and Brewhouse, Laguna Hills, CA

I stopped by earlier tonight (Friday night) about 10:00 PM. They had live music from the late 70s & early 80s. Nice mix. The menu had shifted to the late night menu and I opted for the deep fried artichokes. Good choice. The beer was standard GB and I had the Golden Export. Music was a bit loud and I left after perhaps an hour. Very young crowd, but this has to be the only place in Laguna Hills worth going to, and a decidedly non-teeny-bopper venue when compared to the Irvine Spectrum. On a scale of one to four mugs, give this a 2 1/2.

(11/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Gordon Biersch Brewing Company, Honolulu, HI

Stopped by several times in August. Right on the water at Aloha Center. the beer was standard GB - Export, Marzen, etc. The food was outstanding with an Asian flair. Staff was just SUPER! It tends to draw a tourist crowd, as befits it's location in a toursity shopping center, but the folks there do know their beer. The small outside bar with the thatched roof is just the place to kick back with a cold one and watch the sunset as the ships cruise by. On a scale of one to four mugs, give this a 3 1/2.

(11/22/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great

Establishment: Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant, Washington, DC

I stopped by this GB store in mid-September, after the events in NYC and the Pentagon. I was the onlyy customer in the place at 8:00 PM, in fact, after I finished dinner, they closed up shop for a lack of business! It is located in a grand old building that appears to have beena bank at one time in the past. Just beautiful inside if you like historic buildings. The beers were the GB standards, and the Export was particularly good that night. Very fresh. I had a steak for dinner and that was done just right. This is clarly a place to stop in DC. And it was quite a contrast to the GB store at Aloha center in Honolulu where I had been the month before!

(11/22/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: E and O Trading Company, San Jose, CA

I stopped by last night (Saturday night) for dinner after the Cal vs. Stanford football game. The crowd was upscale, as befits a restaurant that is decidely upscale. I was by myself and had to wait a few minutes for an empty seat at the bar. the emphasis of this place is food, the beer is secondary. That should not detract from the beer, but be warned that they serve asian food and the place is for the trendy types in San Jose.

They had a light, Bud style (not sampled), a wheat, IPA, Pilsner, and a stourt. The Pilsner was tasty, but it was not a dead ringer for Pilsner Urquel. The IPA was OK, but nothing to write home about. The wheat had a little bite to it, and I seemed to taste a little more malt. I recall thatthe list said that it had been hopped withAmarillo hops. The stout was serviceable, but not a world class stout. the brewing is actually done at their Saf Francisco store, with the beer brought down to San Jose in kegs.

I had grilled ahi (tuna) for dinner and it was super. Grilled ahi ought to be red in the center just like a steak, and this was. many of the other items on the menu were Thai or Indian. The wine list looked good, and they seem to pour alot of high tech martinis as well.

If you're looking for a brewpub serving what we know as pub grub, this isn't it. If you want to visit a place inSan Jose with some good beer, and have non-beer-geek friends with you, this may be the place to go. On a scale of one to four mugs, give this one a three.

(11/19/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great

Establishment: Pyramid Alehouse, Brewery and Restaurant, Berkeley, CA

I stopped in last night (11/10/2001) after the Cal vs. USC football game. The place was busy, even at 5:00 Pm or so. the beer selection was outstanding, with something for evryone. The Draft Pale Ale (DPA) seemed a bit inconsistent, with the first seeming as if it came from a conventional keg and the second as if it came from a hand pump - go figure. I had a steak that was prepared just the way that I like it and the clam chowder is home made. the IPA clocks in at 65 IBUs and was tasty. the new Snow Cap seasonal was OK and was not as cloying sweet as some other Christmas beers are. The capstone was the Russian Imperial Stout which is damn near a barley wine in strength and taste. This was a great way to finish off what was otherwise a dismal day in the rain for Cal football fans. Would I go back? Yes, every time I'm in town. On a scale of one to five mugs, I'd give this a score of 4 1/2 mugs! Cheers.

(11/11/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Gordon Biersch Brewing Company, Orange, CA

This place is open for business, despite what the closed caption says. I stopped in there earlier this evening and the place was packed with a pre-game crowd for the Pond in Anaheim. The German style beers are the Gordon Biersch standards, but theyare all fine beers for the styles they reporesent. I drink the Export because it is the least malty to me - I'm just not fond of Marzen and the like. The staff is outstanding and the food is tasty and always different. Definitely worth a visit when in Anaheim.

(10/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Sam Choy's Breakfast Lunch and Crab, Honolulu, HI

I visited Sam Choy's for lunch on a weekeday. It was crowded with a decidedly local crowd. I was able to get a seat at the bar and was able to peer into the kitchen to watch the show. I ordered a sampler because I just couldn't decide what I wanted as there was no IPA available. The beers themselves were not really notable. As I write this a week or so later, I can't seem to remember much about them. The portions are huge and this is clearly one of the major league places for a business lunch in Honolulu. I plan on going back again when I am in Hawaii. Sam Choy has a great reputation as a chef, and his stores are clearly popular, but I had higher expectations for the beer. Perhaps a previous review said it best when it suggested that this was a a restaurant that happened to brew it's own beer.

(10/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Brew Moon, Honolulu, HI

This has to be the most eclectic brewpub in Hawaii. Set in the second floor of a shopping center, the open air portion was pleasant on a Sunday afternoon, although there isn't much of a view. The beer is tasty, but nothing seemed to stand out. The food is not the standard pub fare of the mainland and there was a focus on island culture on the menu. The crowd seemed to be mostly tourists, but that could have been a reflection of the time of day (Sunday afternoon). Worth a stop? Definitely. Worth a return visit? Perhaps.

(10/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Maui Brews, Lahaina , HI

This place is set back in the shopping center. Open air dining on a warm night can't be beat. Beer selection is really much better than you would guess, and each brew that I had (two visits) was fresh and cold. They had Kona as well as California micros. The staff was having a good time and they wanted me to have a good time too. I had the fresh fish of the day each time and it could not have been better. Not a fancy place by any means, but if you're looking for a fun, non-fancy, no stress evening, this is a place to consider.

(10/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Maui Brewing Company, Lahaina, Maui, HI

This is a sports bar that also runs a very nice restaurant. I went in for lunch and sat at the bar with what appeared to be a very local and regular crew - that's a VERY GOOD sign. I had a sampler because I just could not decide what I wanted and the beers were all fresh and tasty. I had a couple more pints of the pale along with a great burger for lunch. I will definitely stop in here for dinner the next time I go to Maui.

(10/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good So So So So

Establishment: Hop Tomato Italian Bistro and Brewery, Lahaina, HI

I went in by myself and was asked if I wanted to sit outside. I said yes and was ushered to a table in the very back of the place on the patio, adjacent to the back walk-way and perhaps 25 feet or so from a dumpster. A warm August night and a dumpster makes for a unique experience. As far as the beer goes, it was OK, with their version of a light beer going best with the pasta. The notion of an Italian place brewing and serving beer just seems a bit strange. Now that I've been there once, I don't think that I'll make a return trip.

(10/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Gordon Biersch Brewing Company, Orange, CA

A favorite of mine. the food is not the standard brewpub fare and is always creative - sometimes too much so. But I've never had a bad meal here. The beer is standard Gordon Biersch German style, but done very well. The beer is predictable and it's good as well. I drink the Export as I really do not like the sweeter bock or marzen styles. But Ikeep going back. An 8 1/2 on a scale of 10.

(10/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Henry's Publick House and Grille, Berkeley, CA

This is the refurbished bar at the Durant Hotel, a Berkeley Stable since the twenties. It is perhaps the classiest place to get a drink near campus but can be packed on game days. In the evening during the week, it's a neat place to duck into for a quiet drink and some conversation. As befits a historic hotel, the staff is first rate, and the beer is fresh with several California micros available. Worth a special trip? probably not. If you want to find a quiet place near campus that isn't a college bar, this is the place.

(10/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! So So Great Great

Establishment: Brickskeller, Washington, DC

Some of the faithful visit Rome, others Mecca; for those of us who like beer, the Bricks is the lace that you have to visit before you die. The selection of beer is truly amazing, with beer fromplaces that you didn't even know existed! the down side is that some of it may have been sitting around a while; the bartenders will know what is new and fresh. These folks know beer and can make valuable suggestions regarding what is in stock and what it is that will satisfy that urge that you have for something different. Monthly beer dinners are held to introduce new styles or to present a formal session on some facet of brewing or beer consumption. This joint is so well regarding, Michael Jackson (the one with a glass in his hand and not a glove on his hand)has been known to appear as the guest of honor at the monthly beer dinner. The food is less than spectacular and I really could not recommend this place for elegant dining. But that's not why you visit this place. You come for the world-class selection and the beer drinking experience. A week night is the best time to get a seat at the bar, and that's where the best interaction with beer geeks is anyway. Cheers!

(10/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Great Lakes Brewing Company, Cleveland, OH

The beer is superb, the food is tasty and the service is great. I've been in several times over the past few years, always by myself and always at the bar. But what is nice is that they always ask if I want a table, even though I'm by myself. The Burning River is a great beer as is the Dortmunder. I've never had a bad meal here, either. There are several fine brewpubs in Cleveland and you have to make an effort to visit them all. But this one is worth a visit.

(10/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Hard Times Cafe, Alexandria, VA

This is one of several chili emporiums by this name in the Northern Virginia area; it is a local standard and very popular. The chili is outstanding (try the Cincinatti 5-way) but the beer selection is somewhat predictable: Mexican in bottles, US domestics and sometimes Old Dominion on tap. The staff is friendly and service is QUICK.

(10/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Karl Strauss Brewery Restaurant, San Diego, CA

Strauss operates several brewpubs in San Diego as well as a shop at the LA Airport in Terminal 7. If I'm in downtown San Diego on business, this is where I have lunch. The selection is ample: Lights to stout, US styles to German. If you can't find somethingthat you like from the ten or so varieties on tap, well, you just aren't trying hard enough. They had a pale on tap last weekend that was very tasty and the fall specials should be coming out shortly. I've only been there for lunch, but the sandwiches are thick and the salads big. I believe that this is a far better stop in San Diego than the brewpubs down in the Gas Lamp District. An 8 1/2 or 9 on a scale of 10.

(10/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: JT Schmid's Brewhouse and Eatery, Anaheim, CA

This is a sports oriented brewpub, which should be expected, perched as it is between ANgels Stadium (Edison Field now) and the Anaheim Pond. It's a pre & post game place with multiple big screens. The pale is tasty and I've never had a bad pizza there. Service is sometimes spotty, perhaps because there is a single bartender working the very large bar. Even so, they're friendly and somewhat knowledgeable about beer. If you're in the area it is worth a stop. On game days, parking can be tough, but there is parking around the back.

(10/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Tustin Brewing Company, Tustin, CA

Everyone ought to have a local brewpub. Here in Orange, we're b;essed with several choices. Tustin's beer selection is pretty good, with perhaps 6 'regular' beers and a special from time to time. I like the Pale, but the recent German style Hefe was outstanding. It was not the usual 'with a lemon slice' hefe, but a maltier, more german style hefe. definitely worth a second of third glass. the food is pretty good, with enough variety to keep you coming back for lunch on a Saturday or Sunday for a beer, a bite to eat, and a ballgame on TV. Plenty of regulars, with over 596 inthe Mug Club. All-in-all it counts as one of my favorites.

(10/13/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Great Good

Establishment: Coronado Brewing Company, Coronado, CA

I've been in twice. Once for lunch and once with a large group for dinner. The Wheat was OK but the Red Ale seemed much better. They also had an interpretation of Anchor Steam that is worth a try. The food was perhaps a little bit better than what you commonly see in brewpubs. There are a great many locals in the place. Service was pretty good and the outside patio is very pleasant - when the heater is turned on (dinner visit was in mid-March) Would I go back? Yes

(04/27/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Palmer Lake Brewing at the Warehouse, Colorado Springs, CO

This brewpub is co-located with an art galery. There is a signature brew, Warehouse Ale, that has some rye in the grain bill. Very satisfying. The food is eclectic, and the pasta is usually a good bet. If I'm in the Springs again, I'll be sure and pay them a visit.

(10/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Phantom Canyon Brewing Company, Colorado Springs, CO

I spent several weeks in Colorado Springs on business and this was a regular stop for dinner and some super beers. The beer variety was excellent, with no single style dominating the list. The food exceeds what you would normally find in a brewpub, with far more variety than expected. The steaks are excelent and the atmosphere is conducive to both singles and groups. One of the trendier places in town, it is worth a wait for a table.

(10/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good So So

Establishment: Judge Baldwin's Brewing Company, Colorado Springs, CO

I couldn't tell if they were brewing on site or not. The selection seemed limited and tailored for visitors who really were not into beer. A couple of light lagers, the obligatory wheat, an alt, a Vienna lager and a porter were on tap tonight. The porter was the best of the bunch. The menu is pub fare and the brat platter was pretty good. Worth a special trip? Probably not.

(07/13/1999)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.158 seconds) 23:23:41 54.161.166.171, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS