PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from john gezelius
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 30, 2014 @ 11:52 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
john gezelius

Beer Reviews
(97)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

97
Beer Reviews from john gezelius
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Hoppy Brewing Company, Sacramento, CA

This is a neighborhood brewpub - but don't let that scare you away. A brewpub occupied by locals says that the beer and food and service are solid and that is what you will find at Hoppy Brewing.

The beers are solid with 8 to 10 of their own on tap. There always seems to be a red and and "light" as well as a stout or porter. I'll usually choose some sort of a pale. They're all solid so it depends on what you like.

The food is pretty good for a brewpub; I had a Reuben sandwich the last time I went by and it was just as it should be - but then again, I asked them to go light in the sauerkraut and they had no issues with that special tweak.

It's is worth a visit.

(03/31/2014)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: RAXX Barbeque and Brewing Company, Riverside, CA

This establishment has closed and the location is now occupied by yet another brewpub, Heroes

(03/31/2014)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Sacramento Brewing Company, Sacramento, CA

Apparently closed on / about 10/14/09

(10/22/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Good

Establishment: Barrio Brewing Company, Tucson, AZ

Affiliated with Gentle Ben's in Tucson, this place is a bit hard to find but the beer makes it worth the trip. I sampled the ESB and IPA and both were on the mark for style and flavor. They have a porter that is a GABF winner as well. The menu is limited but the french dip that I had before a football game was just what I wanted. make sure you visit their web site and get some directions.

(10/19/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So So So So So

Establishment: Heartland Brewery and Rotisserie, New York, NY

This is a chain brewpub and it showed. The beers were marginal; none seemed to be spot on for style. I suppose I could have guessed this when their IPA was repeatedly referred to as an INDIANA Pale Ale. It's a tourist place. Service was adequate for a Saturday night, but that is all. Not worth a return trip.

(09/20/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Crown City Brewery, Pasadena, CA

Crown City closed 5/31/08. Banner outside says "LOST OUR LEASE"

(06/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Wunder Brewing Company, San Francisco, CA

Wunder occupies the former premises of Eldo Brewing. The new owners have spruced the place up and are brewing great beer. I sampled both a pilsner and a pale ale and both were right on the mark. This is worth a return visit when I have more time to sample the full array of beers.

(08/27/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Wunder Brewing Company, San Francisco, CA

This brewpub occupies the facility formerly known as Eldo's. On 9th between Lincoln and Judah is is a smaller brewpub - but with a great staff and a good selection of brewpub beer produced in their own brewhouse in the back of the store. I sampled a pale and an IPA and both were right on target for style and taste. A stout and porter are also on tap with a brown and a chili beer (season, I hope) to round out their own beers. There are some guest taps as well. I didn't have anything to eat on this trip but the menu is typical brewpub fare, with the addition of a chicken curry - and that's what I'll have on my NEXT visit. On a scale of one to four mugs, these guys get 3 1/2!

(08/19/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Eldos Grill and Brewery, San Francisco, CA

Eldo's is closed. The Wunder Beer Brewery now occupies this location. And Wunder Beer is better beer!

(08/19/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great So So Great So So

Establishment: Taylor Brewing Company, Lombard, IL

I'd have to agree with the previous review. I tried an IPA and a pilsner and both seemed off. The IPA had some sour notes to it and the pilsner wasn't as crisp and clean as you would expect. This is was my first, and last, visit to Taylor.

(07/23/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Ocean Brewing Company, Laguna Beach, CA

Ocean had three of their own beers on tap this afternoon: red, a pale, and a wheat. Guest beers included Guiness, Stella and Warsteiner. The bases were covered, but with beer from other suppliers. I did drink their pale and it is a serviceable pale, a session beer.

This is a restaurant that also brews its own beer. The food is excellent and reasonably priced for Laguna Beach. The beer is a quality beer, but I'd like to see better variety. This is a local place and you can't go wrong with a local clientele.

(11/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Laguna Beach Brewing Company, Laguna Beach, CA

This brewery is now closed. There is no sign on the door and no evidence that it will return.

(11/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good So So Good

Establishment: Two Rows Restaurant and Brewery, Houston, TX

I'll echo the comment that this is a chain brewpub. Not bad, but predictable in a sense. Think Rock Bottom. The hefeweizen was Bavarian in style, but with too much banana and not enough clove. I had the IPA and it almost tingled. I'll come back and try more at a later time. Worth a trip back? Yes. Worth a special trip? Not unless you're going to the Gingerman which is just across and down the street.

(06/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Great Good

Establishment: Big Buck Brewery and Steakhouse, Grapevine, TX

I was not impressed with the IPA; I like an IPA but this was beyond aggresively hopped. The Tripel was just that, high gravity and sweet. I had the red as there was no pale available and the red was pretty good. The best part was the buffalo sirloin. Suggest that it be ordered cooked medium. First rate.

(01/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Nimbus Brewing Company, Tucson, AZ

Nimbus remains in the aforementioned industrial area. I actually thought I was lost before I stopped and re-checkd their web site. The beer is OK. Aggressively hopped characterizes their style. The pale was good, but the hop character was quite pronounced. The rye IPA was among the most highly hopped brews that I have sampled - almost like Tupper's Hop Pocket. The high point was the OUTSTANDING burger. Real cheddar on a thick, juicy patty with bacon & A-1. What more could you want?

(01/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Great Good

Establishment: Granite City Food and Brewery, Fargo, ND

This is a chain brewpub.

The beer is brewed in South Dakota in a central plant, but the wort is shipped to the individual stores for fermentation locally. Efficiant use of a brewhouse, I guess, but not a small town brewpub operation.

The IPA was serviceable, but nothing to write home about. The stout was weak - thin and without much flavor. The food was OK, but avoid the Idaho nachos.

(12/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A Great Great Good

Establishment: Chadwick's Old Town, Alexandria, VA

This is a restaurant in Old Town that has a pretty good beer list. Service can be spotty but I've never had a really bad experience. The food is good and that is why you would stop by.

(08/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Sweetwater Tavern, Merrifield, VA

I haven't been by in close to 4 years. It was as good as I remembered. A good selection on hand, but their steam beer tap had gone dry the day before :(

Food is always excellent and the staff is first rate. On the downside, it is always busy, and parking could be tough to get. But it would be worth the three or four minute walk from the far reaches of the lot to get to a place like this! Definitely worth a visit.

(08/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Pacific Coast Brewing Company, Oakland, CA

This brewpub is a long time survivor. The beer is first rate and there is a good selection: A couple of pale ales, and IPA (both regular & cask) a stout and a barley wine. The food is good, too. Try the crab stuffed mushrooms. The staff is quite friendly and accomodating and they clearly (a) enjoy being there, and (b) want you to enjoy your visit, too!

Although a bit hard to find, this Oakland gem is worth a visit. It is in downtown Oakland and consequently does a good 'happy hour' business, but it is quiet on weekends. There was a jazz combo playing tonight and it is a shame that there were not more folks visiting.

(07/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A So So Lousy

Establishment: The Green Room was Mogollon Brewing, Flagstaff, AZ

Under-age rock club. Dark & dingy

(07/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Beaver Street Brewery and Whistle Stop Cafe, Flagstaff, AZ

I visited all three Flagstaff brewbups on this trip and this one is the best by far. The two brews that I sampled (Hefe & IPA) were on the mark for style and taste. I had a sandwich for lunch and even though it was 3:00 PM, the kitchen was busy - yet the order came out promptly. Worth a stop? You bet!

(07/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Rockyard Brewing Company, Castle Rock, CO

The beer was FIRST RATE. The German weiss was on the mark for a heffe weisen. The brewer has an American style pilsner as well that apparently is in the style of US pilsners from the times before prohibition. The sandwiches are outstanding. Worth a stop while passing through Castle Rock on I-25.

(06/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Prescott Brewing Company, Prescott, AZ

Absolutely FIRST RATE!

The pilsner is right on the mark - my friends Hans & Willy (pronouced 'Villy') would be pleased. The IPA is just right - not overly hopped but assertve. I had a "Burmeister Burger" for lunch and it was huge - too big for lunch, but too good to put down. Worth a stop? YOU BET!

(04/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: JT Schmid's Brewhouse and Eatery, Anaheim, CA

Given that the NHL season was a bust this year, JT's still managed to stay busy. The beer is consistent - and good. The menu is more upscale than you might find at another brewpub. If you can't find a beer that you like, and something good to nibble on, you're just trying too hard.

The Pale is good, and the Hefe is a California style Hefe.

Worth a stop? Yes! with or without the Ducks players sittig at he bar next to you.

And yes, they DO come in for lunch on game days.

(03/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Gordon Biersch Brewing Company, Tempe, AZ

This is a typical GB store. Located adjacent to Arizona State University, it lies in an area rife with student oriented stores and bars.

That being said, the beers are typical, drinkable, GB beers. They had a Kolsch last night that was true to style. That, coupled with the blackened Ahi appetizer was just what I wanted. This stre enjoys an upscale crowd and would be a great place to quench a thirst and decompress while in Tempe.

(03/14/2005)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]













(0.35 seconds) 11:52:17 54.81.124.198, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS