PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from johan
Other Reviews by this User
 
December 20, 2014 @ 12:21 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
johan

Beer Reviews
(21)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

21
Beer Reviews from johan
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Good Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Fourth Avenue Pub, Brooklyn, NY

This was a nice find right near a a subway stop in Brooklyn. Great selection of some of the best beers made anywhere. West coast styles are often hard to find east of the big river (im talking the mississippi not the hudson). They had some of Calis finest on tap when I was there. Great beer Bar!

(08/25/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great

Establishment: Falling Rock Tap House, Denver, CO

The best beers in Denver are here. While most of the brewpubs in Denver seem to have given up on making great beers for mainstream consumption, This place brings in the best from everywhere. Though it is located near Sandlot, Breckinridge, Flying Dog, Chop House and even Wyncoop, come here for the best beers and let the coors drinkers go to those "brewpubs" that make mainstream brews.

(08/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Flying Dog Brewery, Denver, CO

This is NOT the same Flying Dog/Broadway brewing that was here 2 years ago. Many of the old reviews of "Best in Denver", which it was when is was Broadway are moot. This place is okay. A great party place w/ decent beer. Does anybody know what ever happened to the place and brewer who used to make the best beer in denver? I think it it totally due to corporate driven profits of the national beer company Flying Dog. I miss Broadway when it was also flying dog. Those were the best in Denver and one of the best in the country.

(01/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Willimantic Brewing Company / Main Street Cafe, Willimantic, CT

As Mr Struble below said, the VEG is the pinnacle of beers anywhere on the east coast if your a hophead. Pushing 122IGU's (International Grapefruit Units) However, right now, the WBC/ Main Street Cafe has 2 gems on. The Glaicer and the Junk Mail IPA's. The Glaicer (usually 115IGU's) tasted at only 102 last week but is still a great IPA almost pushing a double IPA. The suprise is the Junk mail which tasted at 105 IGU's upon its early relaease. I cant wait to taste the next VEG! Maybe David will try to beat the record of 137 IGU's held by the Pale Rider IPA from Big Horse in Hood River Oregon? (FYI, the first VEG was a whopping 132 IGU's)

(12/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good So So

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Portland, OR

With so many great brewpubs in Portland. Why would anyone come here. Try anything else. Youll defenetly have better beer at any McMinnimans, Rogue, Old Lompoc or anywhere else.

(10/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: West Side Brewing Company, New York, NY

WBC Used to be a brewbup but is now a pub that serves some of the Chelsea brews on tap as well as many of the greatest available on the planet including the beers of Stone. I'm glad to see that some places care enough to bring in beers that can usually only be found on the west coast. Great selection of brews, many with high IGU's, good food. Thanks WBC.

(09/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Great

Establishment: Big Horse Brewing, Hood River, OR

This was great beer! A small bar made the service a little slow but it was worth it. The beers were "top shelf". The beers were wonderful. This is a great brewpub as far as beer quality.

(08/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Oggi's Pizza and Brewing Company was Stuft Pizza, San Diego, CA

This place is very good and the pizza is excellent but the Oggi's with the Best beer is in Del Mar on Carmel Country Road. See area code 619 on Pubcrawler. Still worth a visit.

(07/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Oggi's Pizza and Brewing Company was Stuft Pizza, San Diego, CA

I have been to many of the Oggi's (formerly Stuft) in southern california. The pizza is always great and the beer always good. But this location has by far the best beer of not only other Oggi's, but anywhere. The beers are big, bold and flavor packed. The Torrey pines IPA was great. I also enjoyed the IRA (India red ale) and the Stout. Any real beer lover needs to try this location for beer style. I make it a point to stop by here as often as possible. With so many brewpub chains out there that we "pubcrawlers" make fun of or dont go to. It is nice to see great beer made just 30 minnutes north of San Diego.

(07/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Awesome!

Establishment: McNeill's Brewery, Brattleboro, VT

Gotta Agree. This is the most amazing yet non-traditional brewpub anywhere. The beer is the best anywhere. They don't sell growlers but you can buy 22oz bottles next door. The food is okay when you need it. People very nice. But, when you leave (very happy), you won't understand where you were, how they do it, and you will come back and reccomend this place to friends. I'm going back up tomorrow.

(07/03/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Moylan's Brewery and Restaurant, Novato, CA

Can you really belive reviews from der haggmann. See Marin Brewing. Coincidence? I will try this place soon.

(04/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Marin Brewing Company was Calistoga Inn, Larkspur, CA

Been here several times. Always good. I have never been lucky enough to try any of their IPA's or Stouts. Seems every time I come their not on tap. Will come again and hope I truly get to taste their best. As for Mr. der haggmann... Real beer fans use Pubcrawler as a tool to share beer experiences and tell those on the outside world where you can find a good pint. Beer reviewing in general is objectional (not a science) and it's nice to have a web site where "pubcrawlers" can share. He probably doesn't exist, shame on someone. It sounds too good to be true that the sister brewpub got the same review as the first (look at Moylans). Let's try to keep people like "der haggmann" from turning pubcrawler into an advertisment. Nobody benefits from lies. Marin Brewing is a good brewpub. Maybe just not as great as Moylans...

(04/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Brewery at Lake Tahoe, South Lake Tahoe, CA

Great beer. It is also nice to see that they continue to brew great beer even though they are the only real "beer place" on the lake. The food (pizza) is good but the beer is great. I actually come to SLT (as an option to NLT) because the beer is that good. Several styles offered. Great job!

(03/30/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!

Establishment: Pizza Port Carlsbad, Carlsbad, CA

This is an awesome place if you love GREAT beer. Their own beers, 7-8 when I was there were big, bold, flavorful and delicious. They also always have 7-8 guest beers on tap. The pizza is great (self serve on paper plates), but worth it. The beer is some of the best in the country. They had one of the best IPA's at the GABF, and it was on tap 2 weeks later. The SPA is the best double IPA i've ever had. This was a massive, hoppy, i'm gonna see double soon ale. I have been here before and it was great then too. This place is defenetly focused on quality first. I travel the US looking for great beer. With so many chain pubs making mediocre beer, it's nice to see someone care about beer. The staff know the product and take care of the customers. There are lot's of young people here between 7-9PM. I will be back here.

(10/13/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Oggi's Pizza and Brewing Company was Stuft Pizza, San Diego, CA

They had 2 great ones at the GABF. I went there 2 weeks after and sampled all the beers as well as some great pie.All the beers were great. The beers were big and delicious. As a true "hop head" the IPA was great but the SPA (St. Patrick Ale) was mind altering. I don't know how often they make this but it is wonderful. With all the "new" downtown San Diego brewpubs sucking, it's nice to see another SD brewpub take their beer seriously. This is a great place for great beer & pizza. I travel the land looking for these types of pubs so Hops, Rock Bottom, ect. don't give real brewpubs a bad name.

(10/13/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Hops Grill and Brewery, Manchester, CT

Hops is NOT a brewpub. Maybe they could actually start adding some "HOPS" to their beer. Do they even know what hops are?

(09/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Elysian Brewing Company - Capitol Hill, Seattle, WA

This is a wonderful brewpub that brews great beers. I feel bad for the person from Portland (another grear pub city). He must have just had a bad experience. This has always been one of my favorites. I travel to 30 citys a year, 100,000+ airline miles, and use pubcrawler to help in my search for brewpubs. Elysain is one of Seattles best. It's a cool atmosphere and a great selection of the pacific Northwests finest.

(08/10/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Big Time Brewery and Alehouse, Seattle, WA

Great big hoppy brews. Multiple ales, as well as porters and stouts. Great selection. Must be great to have a real brewbub that brews great brews in your town. The atmosphere was good also. 10 selections, all to make a pubcrawler proud. I enjoyed the atmosphere as well as the overall experience.

(08/10/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good N/A

Establishment: Hops Grill and Brewery, Newington, CT

This is an okay restaurant. Similar to a TGI Fridays or Chilis. This is not a brewpub. The food is decent with a decent menu. The beer is mainstream... A step above St.Louis finest. It's not fair to beat up Hops for their food or service but if you're a real beer drinker; try City Steam or Troutbrook in Hartford, Willimantic Brewing in Willimantic or Union in Glastonbury

(08/10/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Willimantic Brewing Company / Main Street Cafe, Willimantic, CT

This place just gets better and better. Where else can you get 8-10 beers brewed on premisis, another 20+ micros on tap, great food and service, and a wonderful atmosphere. I travel the country for my business and am always searching for the lands best beers and wine. There so many great beers here!!! I just had the ASB(American Special Bitter) and the VEG IPA. They are both fabulous. I try to visit here as often as possible. One of the best in the country. Great job David and Cindy.

(08/10/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great

Establishment: People's Pint, Greenfield, MA

This brewpub has a great beer selection and excellent quality. These are big flavorful beers, not the St. Louis style. Definitely in the New England top 5. Good food but a weird menu. Opens at 4 (no lunch)?. One of my favorites

(07/12/2001)














(0.286 seconds) 12:21:19 54.87.89.176, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS