PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from joe
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 31, 2014 @ 08:51 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
joe

Beer Reviews
(14)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

14
Beer Reviews from joe
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Great Great Great Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: M.T. Barrels Restaurant and Brewery, West Dundee, IL

Stopped in on a late Saturday afternoon - just me and 2 others so service was good. Six beers on tap and I tried the Helles, Porter, APA, and IPA (Wit and Amber were the others, as well as several micro guest taps). All the beers were well made and enjoyable, but nothing extraordinary. Tried the burger based on the previous review - again, it was good but mine wasn't as good as his.

Overall, a fine place to stop if you are in the area, but my first choice would be Emmett's one block west.

(12/01/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Faultline Brewing Company, Sunnyvale, CA

Sat at the bar, so service was very good. I had the Abbey, cask IPA, and Dry Stout. All were well made very good for the style. My stuffed pork was excellent. I had been here 2 years ago and recall it being very mediocre, but tonight was very good across the board. Or maybe I'm just being easy since the few brewpubs around here aren't very good.

(03/18/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Taylor Brewing Company, Lombard, IL

I've been going to Taylor over the course of 10+ years and keep coming back for the food. I also keep hoping that one of these times they will fix their brewing process and produce something better than medium grade homebrew. After going there once again a few days ago and having a sour pale ale, I'm giving up. For beer, either order one of the many commercial brews, or order a house beer that says it was produced in Warranville, IL (Two Bros.) or Middleton, WI (Capital). Even though those beers are fairly plain contract brews, they are clean. Pass on anything made in Lombard.

(06/28/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Dix BBQ and Brewery, Vancouver, BC

The best beer in Vancouver. Well made distictive beers, whether the pilsner, pale or stout. I didn't try the corporate beers like Red Truck, but there were plenty of seasonals that were very good. Also, enjoyed the shelled peanuts in unlimited supply. If in Vancouver, go here!

(08/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Yaletown Brewing Company, Vancouver, BC

In my mind this one is the number 2 brewpub in Vancouver behind Dix (owned by the same company). They had a good selection of seasonals that were well done. I didn't bother with the standard beers (like Red Truck), but others at the table said they were average.

(08/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A N/A So So

Establishment: Granville Island Brewing Company, Limited, Vancouver, BC

I agree with the recent reviewers. The four beers on tap are not good. The bartender told me the beers made on site go into bomber bottles and can't be consumed there; the tap beers being produced at a different facility. Take a pass on this one - it's strictly for uninformed tourists.

(08/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Dockside Restaurant and Brewing Company, Vancouver, BC

The outdoor patio and food are the winners here. Aside from the interesting Jamacian Lager, the beers are fairly bland and similar to each other. It's a very nice place for luch or dinner, but not worth a stop just for the beer.

(08/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Steamworks Brewing Company, Vancouver, BC

The beers and food were fine, but nothing above average. If you are in Gastown, it's worth a stop, but there are better brewpubs in Vancouver.

(08/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: High Mountain BrewHouse, Whistler, BC

The pale ale was decent, but all the other beers were average (which means clean, drankable, but mostly bland). Not bad, just nothing noteworthy.

(08/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Howe Sound Inn and Brewing Company, Squamish, BC

I tried the IPA, Imperial IPA, Stout, Rail Ale and my wife had Hefeweizen. All the beer were excellent, with the two IPA's served from a hand-pump beer engine. Compared to the brewpubs in Whistler and Vancouver, this one clearly stands above in beer quality and distinctiveness (Dix would be second). Food was also very good - try the game burger.

(08/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! N/A Great Good

Establishment: The Livery, Benton Harbor, MI

Great selection of beers in the 12-15 range, including 3 barrel-aged ones. I tried 8 (6 samplers and my wife had two): Bungtown Export, Thoms IPA, McGilligans IPA, Irish Stout, and cherry-wheat (barrel) were pretty good; Czech Pils, ESB, Hefe-Weizen were less than note-worthy. Overall, the beers just don't stand out, especially compared with other local MI beers.

(05/30/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Good

Establishment: Faultline Brewing Company, Sunnyvale, CA

Large selection of beers on tap. I had the alt (decent), pale (bland), and IPA (very good - more like a typical APA). Food is upscale and our service was very good.

(03/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: San Jose Tied House, San Jose, CA

The beer was clean, but very un-memorable. I had the ESB (seasonal) and amber, neither of which were noteworthy. As with other reviews, the gameburger (bison) was great as was the service at the bar. Not worth going out of your way to visit.

(03/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Great Good So So

Establishment: Southport Brewing Company, Stamford, CT

Similar to the previous review, generally bad beer (unless you like sour Pilsner) and good food. Porter was the only drinkable beer of what appeared to be a good variety of styles. Keep your beer expectations low if you venture in.

(04/07/2005)














(0.078 seconds) 08:51:42 54.234.82.216, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS