PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from joe hammell
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 24, 2014 @ 08:07 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
joe hammell

Beer Reviews
(15)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

15
Beer Reviews from joe hammell
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Charlotte, NC

This location is similar to our location in Atlanta so I was prepared to seek out my favorite the "stinkin Brits IPA" aka Loop IPA in ATL. I tried the Iron Horse Porter which looked and poured great but was only OK in taste and finish. The samples of the pils, red and brown were so-so. I would assume from previous experiences that the food is good so if they could just get all (or most) of the beers to match the food then they would really have something.

(03/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Brewer's Art, Baltimore, MD

How have I missed this place ? This is Belgian heaven on earth with 4 great brews made on premise along with the Sierra Nevada Barley Wine and another strong ale on tap. The food is almost as good as the beer. Service at the bar was good and after dinner you can retire to the lower level and see what the younger beer lovers are up too. Before I found this spot I had to go to Philly or Brussels. Now if I could only change the Georgia beer alcohol content rules and open an Atlanta version of this place I could.....

(03/04/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great

Establishment: Baltimore Brewing Company, Baltimore, MD

I was all set to have the Holiday smoke beer but... they were out. Despite that I really enjoyed the weizen with a hearty sausage platter and a side of spatzel. Closing my eyes and breathing in the nearby smokers (I was in the bar area) took me almost back to the Hoffbrau House in Munich. The marzen, dunkles and the pils were good as well but the weizen went better with the food. This is definitely a place I will continue to patronize!

(03/04/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy N/A Good So So

Establishment: Vista Brewing Company, Columbia, SC

They only had two styles available so I tried them both. The scottish ale had some taste while the amber despite its color was to watered down for my taste. The place looks interesting inside and the menu is appealing as well. Maybe it was an off night but two styles on tap won't bring me back.

(02/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A So So Good

Establishment: Wharf Rat At Camden Yards / Oliver Breweries, Baltimore, MD

I have been going to this place for a few years and wondered if I was the only one who felt that this location had good and bad days. I am not alone. I knew my potential favorites so I started with the pale ale which was missing a good part of the hops that it had last time. I sampled the porter which so-so and was prompted to the the X-mas ale which wasn't much better. When the O's are in town the beer and the food seem to taste much better !

(02/11/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Rams Head Tavern / Fordham Brewing Company, Annapolis, MD

I tried the sampler to see if I had a favorite for a later meal. I didn't. The light, alt and wheat were watery. The stout, dark ale and dopple bock were ok while the smoked or rock beer had a good taste. We had a large group so we sampled most of the food which was good. We combined our intake to a few local beers but stuck mostly with the listed Belgian style beers. We had a good time and great service. The bottled beer list is good if they would have everything in stock. I will return.

(02/05/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Great

Establishment: Rumpus, San Francisco, CA

This is one the first places we went to in SF before the beer bar and brew pub craze took hold. They support the California craft brewers (big & small) by rotating many styles and brands of beer on tap. As a bonus they are a great food and wine restaurant that is located in the very convenient Union Square area which makes it very easy to walk to from all of the area hotels.

(02/01/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good

Establishment: Steelhead Brewing Company, San Francisco, CA

Despite the touristy neighborhood this spot really shines with regards to the beer style selections and the facility itself. As usual we started with a sampler and liked the IPA, stout, amber and Razzmatazz (a seasonal that grows on you). The blonde, wheat and amber were on the boring side and despite the cask conditioning the Millenium didn't have much taste as well. The menu included many items we would try on our next visit back... which we will.

(02/01/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: E and O Trading Company, San Francisco, CA

We tried the sampler and really enjoyed the IPA, Dragons Breath and the stout. The IPA could have used more hops but it still went well with the spicy foods offered. The pils and lager were OK. This is definitely a place we will return whenever in the Union Square area.

(02/01/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Great

Establishment: Burp Castle, New York, NY

We took our business colleagues from Australia to show them what a real beer bar looks like. We were not disappointed! We tried many Belgian styles that we can't get in Atlanta and closed the place down. They even had Lindeman's Framboise on tap. This has always been our favorite NYC spot for beer.

(01/21/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A So So So So

Establishment: Times Square Brewery, New York, NY

Had I read the reviews before I went in I would have probably walked a few more blocks to my dependable spot at Rockerfeller Center. I tried the sampler (clean glasses & 4 styles) and found all 4 to be a little "thin" in taste. I ordered a Bock and watched the crowd go by as I waited for my wife. The location could be the only saving grace here !

(01/21/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: West Virginia Brewing Company, Independence, WV

As mentioned, a good college town brewpub with good beer at great prices. I tried the sampler and was surprised to learn that I liked two of the lighter beers, the Gristmill Wheat and the Wheat Mountain Golden (good hops). The seasonal was a Belgian style ale that was slightly more carbonated than I am used too but had a good flavor. The Stout and the Purple Cherry Plum were also OK.

(01/07/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Dillon Dam Brewery, Dillon, CO

We visited over the holidays and was impressed by the very friendly service. This spot appeared to have more "locals" at the bar which was a good sign. We had a sampler and most of the beers had taste, especially the darker ones. We didn't eat here but the menu looked good for a brewpub so we will be back.

(01/04/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So Good

Establishment: Backcountry Brewery, Frisco, CO

We visited late one night over the holidays. The place was very busy, especially the pool tables. We ordered a sampler and really enjoyed the pale ale (good hops level). The others were OK but not up to the taste levels we experienced at the other brew pubs in the area.

(01/04/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Breckenridge Brewery, Breckenridge, CO

Our table had a sampler last week. We really enjoyed the Oatmeal Porter and the Pale Ale. The food was good and a good value as well. The service was great. Our waitress told us about the fine dining spots she knew about and both turned out to be great ! We will be back.

(01/04/1999)














(0.25 seconds) 08:07:14 54.161.192.135, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS