PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from joe kraus
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 21, 2014 @ 05:08 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
joe kraus

Beer Reviews
(28)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

28
Beer Reviews from joe kraus
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Parker's Grille and Tap House, Geneva, NY

Parkers is a very well run establishment-- it can get really quite crowded especially when the college kids are in town. That said- the Townies still come here regularly. They have always had one of the better selections of draft beers and the food is good too. I've never had a bad meal here. The service is really a team effort- you don't need to flag down YOUR waitress to get anything- they all pitch in for your good time.

This is the first of the 3 Parkers in the Finger Lakes area.

(08/31/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Grizzly Peak Brewing Company, Ann Arbor, MI

I was greeted by a nice bartender Jennifer- and then selected the 3C IPA-- a really nice beer. After she mentioned it was one of their award winning beers. So-- I guess she validated my selection. I was there too early for a meal but would return again and even go out of my way to return to do so. My GP logo pint glass is getting my collection close to 150.

(07/21/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Grizzly Peak Brewing Company, Ann Arbor, MI

www.grizzlypeak.NET is the current website. I am going to check it out- this week.

(07/19/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Custom Brewcrafters, Honeoye Falls, NY

In the middle of the Finger Lakes wine country- CB's new faciltiy is a great experience. They have a big selection on tap and when you first arrive- if you have never been there- they are extremely helpful and friendly. Take a copy of the beer list to the bar and if you don't know what to sample- they will help you. Now that I am an Official ""Beer Adventurer""- I gravitated to the Hoppy Side of the bar area.

This would be a good place to take beer novices- to learn the skills involve with beer appreciation. Very friendly staff- actually glad you are there. The retail store- shirts glassware and local items-- could use a little attention- but I understand it it a brewery- not Bed Bath and Beyond............. Hop heads will purchase a growler of the Pile Driver. Joe K

(03/01/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Red Star Brewery and Grille, Greensburg, PA

This is a fabulous facility. Renovated Rail station-- and really an impressive building. All the beer is very good. The service and food -- also very good. I have visited and tasted brews from over 140 establishments over the past 10 years. (140 logo glasses in my current collection, so far.) I would go out of my way to return here ANY time I am near the eastern Pittsburgh area.

Actually I should rate Red Star AWESOME-- but that word isn't what a 'Dad' uses. How about Super Great? Joe K Former Beer Enthusiast Promoted in Jan 2010 to: Beer ADVENTURER

Likeminded folks invited to email me any time-- joekraus23@yahoo.com

(03/01/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Elmer Sudds, Wilkes-Barre, PA

Next time: Ask your bartender if Craft brews are right for you.

Maybe SKL... Just maybe..... you should have gone to McDonalds and sat in the parking lot with some super sized coke and add your own rum. Mature beer enthusiasts might like some Alan Parsons and Dogfishhead 90. I am fortunate to not have sat next to you at the bar during your miserable time. My experience has been great at Pubcrawler establishments, with the beers and with the cheerful people I have met. We won't be missing you.

(02/14/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great

Establishment: Old Bag of Nails Pub, Worthington, OH

I found this place thanks to --> PubCrawler!!

I had a very enjoyable experience here and would return again, without hesitation. I would recommend it as a great little PUB-- not so much a beer emporium. The beer selection is limited but no complaints on the qualty of offerings. It is fairly small and cozy, and had very good, friendly service. The menu is typical of a neighborhood pub. It is a likeable place and it just seemed to me- to be a "happy" place to be. And... I am still in a good mood. JK

(02/05/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Fox River Brewing Company and Restaurant, Appleton, WI

My bartender was very good- the IPA was decent enough-- I'd rate it a B-. The Packer fans were all gone by the time I arrived. The place was fairly empty and not at all smokey like a previous Pubcrawler had lamented. I like the facility- big windows, clean, and 6 beers to select. I would go back again.

(10/14/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Flossmoor Station Brewing Company, Flossmoor, IL

My server, Becky, was very cheerful, polite and efficient. I knew I was going to enjoy everything here. My beers were great- one Oktoberfest and one Hoppy O something-- a hefty 10% brew which Becky mentioned before I had one-- in case I had to drive. So. Great beer, great food, great facility, intelligent and friendly patrons to chat with. All told- a fine experience well worth a repeat visit, as soon as I can return to the Chicagoland area.

(09/26/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Harper's Restaurant and Brewpub, East Lansing, MI

I had a very nice experience here. Chris the bartender was prompt, polite and attentive. His fellow bartenders were also attentive (and one, ... especially attractive)as well. I had the wheat IPA and then the pale ale. Both were just right with the hops flavor. I actually liked the pale ale a little better. This is a large facility and on Wednesdays it is crowded due to 1/2 price specials. I had a burger, appetizer, 2 beers, and- bought a logo glass for next to nothing. I can see how the service could be slow when the place is packed full- but what would you expect at a tavern in the middle of a city of kids? I would go back again, any time. If you want a quiet leisurely experience with a zombie crowd- don't go here. Try Bennigans at 5pm. If you don't mind the energy of lots of people having fun- then this place will work.... just fine.

(08/15/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Minneapolis Town Hall Brewery, Minneapolis, MN

Thank you Pubcrawler for helping me find this great place. The facility is quite interesting, very clean and thankfully -- not at all smokey. The staff was exceptionally courteous and worked together as a team. I had the Masala Mama IPA which was one of the best I recall enjoying so much. The menu has pub fare common to many places but also has some nicer dinner options as well. In addition to the nice beer variety, I saw one of the most extensive scotch collections I have ever seen at a Pubcrawler restaurant. My food was excellent and arrived before my first beer was gone. (That is good- in my book) I will be certain to return here on all my future visits to Minneapolis. Mehtab was a fine bartender. I appreciate good service.

(08/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Patrick McGovern's Pub and Restaurant, Saint Paul, MN

Waited almost 5 minutes for a bartender to appear. One never did. I should have been suspicious when there was one patron (the only one at the bar) going to get his own popcorn.

After seeing the other reviews- I wouldn't have even bothered.... to begin with.

(08/07/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Ram Restaurant and Brewhouse, Fishers, IN

Really pretty decent for a micro "franchise"-- the service was prompt and polite. I only had a pale ale which was very good and I would return here again some time. I tried to buy a logo glass to add to my collection but Kristin (I think it was Kristin) insisted the glass was free. I told her every place charges $3-5 for a glass but mine was still n/c. Pretty cool. And-- My collection is now somewhere in the 80's

(07/11/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Barley Island Brewing Company, Noblesville, IN

Very friendly staff and patrons as well.. The beer was very good. Interesting options from the 6 or 7 on tap. I would come back here again. That is the true litmus test-- isn't it?

(07/11/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good So So So So

Establishment: Blue Cat Brewpub, Rock Island, IL

OOPS-- the previous review here was intended for Rock Island. I originally went to RIBCO Rock Island Brewing and the bartender there suggested the Blue Cat. The Blue Cat? -- was pleasant but curiously ... "odd" to me. The place just seemed like an Ivy League pub for tenured professors. Food and service was good- the pale ale was weak on hops for my taste. When I asked for somethng different from the ale ale- I asked about the Cannonball APA-- I asked what was an APA and he replied it was darker and a little hoppier. It was.

(06/26/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Great N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Blue Cat Brewpub, Rock Island, IL

The bartender (very pleasant) told me they did not brew their own beer anymore. The draft selection included nothing local- just the common beers. They did seem to have a very large selection of bottled beer. Nice place- but I was looking for a beer adventure.

(06/26/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Lousy So So

Establishment: Hereford and Hops, Cranberry Township, PA

I have had wonderful experiences at the Escanaba MI and Wausau WI locations. I'd rate this location a "D."

Rule number One: Do not ever leave the bar unattended. Not ever.

I sat 5 minutes before I was noticed and then it took 2 or 3 more minutes to get a beer. I commented that my pint looked a bit flat-- certainly there was no head at all- not one bubble.

The food was decent enough. I would have tried a pint of something with a smidge of residual carbonation but since I was ignored until too late, I passed.

Idea- the hostess stand is hidden around the corner and I found my way to the bar before I was greeted. The hostess was pleasant but not located where she could be very effective.

If H&H wants to see an example of a well run restaurant-- take a 4 mile ride down Route 19 to Atrias. They run a spectacular facility. Their bar was 1/2 the size of H&H with twice the bartenders and the service was exemplary. It isn't a Pubcrawler type of place but it is too good to pass up when I travel to the north side of Pittsburgh.

Suggestion 2: go back to Wausau and get a patrons view of a well run place. The bartender said this Cranberry location is "new"-- but they will be "gone" if they can't offer better service than what I saw.

Pubcrawler offers too many very nice options for this area-- e.g. Domenico's

If H&H is still open when I return in 5 6 weeks, I might sneak back in to have a beer... and stay a while... unless it takes too long to get one.

(09/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Domenico's Ristorante, Cranberry Township, PA

I found this place using the Pubcrawler search engine. Domenico's is a fabulous spot, and quite comfortable for me because most often I eat alone when I travel for my work. The bar is a big rectangle and can seat quite a few. They always have a modest variety of draft beers and a huge variety of bottled beers.

Besides the place being one of my favorite beer places north of Pittsburgh, the food is very good. Pizza, Italian, and pub food is available. I found it worth my 3rd visit and will return again.

(09/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Old Bay Restaurant, New Brunswick, NJ

Very, very nice place. A bit fancy for my taste, and experience, as a Pubcrawler veteran of over 80 locations. If you have a date- it would be better appreciated. As a beer enthusiast, I would take a pass here. The bartender was a good one.

(06/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy So So

Establishment: Harvest Moon Brewery / Cafe, New Brunswick, NJ

Double IPA was very good. Food was OK. Bartender barely grunted at me- Not once asked if my food was ok or if I wanted a second beer. I have always been suspicious of bartenders who chew swizzle sticks and wear a pen over their ear. He got the smallest tip I have left someone in 10 years... and, I was a bartender in college.

Too bad-- I doubt I would return here, but the building was interesting.

(06/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Crunchy's, East Lansing, MI

I almost had a beer and was going to leave to find some dinner. The bartender was great-- the patrons were very sociable and conversant. I had to stay and try a couple other beers and had an excellent burger and chili. I am very glad I stayed-- and I will return again next time I am in Lansing.. East Lansing. Go Spartans. Joe K (SU fan)

(05/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: King Brewing Company, Pontiac, MI

I found Kings on Pubcrawler and what a gem. The place is small but not tiny. I loved the beers and the locals I struck up conversations with were just great. Pablo, Epinaw and some others... one was in the band playing the next night. I had a great time, met some great folks, had a great meal and some very good beer-- My pint glass collection is about 50 now. One last thing. Get this!! The Men's room is also fantastic. Hospital clean and nicely decorated. Not something I have ever written about before. I will go back every time I am within 50 miles of Pontiac.

(11/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Good So So

Establishment: Otto's Pub and Brewery, State College, PA

My first visit here was... underwhelming. I have visited over 50 microbreweries in the northeast. I travel alone for work and usually like a seat at the bar. This place has 9 seats at their bar. And- on Monday night at 6pm all were taken. So- I did the "Lonely Guy" and had a table in the bar. I really enjhoyed the spring something lager-- it had some hops and a nice taste. I don't know what possessed me to order sesame scallops in a brewery. Hindsight reminds me to order Pub food at pubs. My waitress was very nice-- the beer was nice-- the scallops were-- B-/C+ and the green beans were dreadful. I would have stayed but-- no seats at the bar certainly limits out of towners from and brew pub conversation. I doubt I will return here... at least, not alone. It may be the other reviews had my expectations too high.

(11/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great

Establishment: Quay Street Brewing Company, Port Huron, MI

I spoke with Kristen, my server, about the bad reviews-- They seemed too hostile to be credible to me. I have been here 4 or 5 times and never had any food or service problems. Not only is the staff friendly, efficient, pleasant (and nice to look at)--(I'm single) but my experience has always been positive. I liked the IPA better than the pale ale. The patrons around me were also friendly and engaging. I wasn't seeking nirvana-- just a nice beer or three- and some decent food. On a slow Wednesday-- I left there in a good spirit. I'll be back again. JK

Plus, I almost developed a crush on Kristen.

(10/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Frankentrost Pub, Saginaw, MI

Word has it that this place burned down 2 months ago. Too bad-- I was going to try them tomorrow. JK

(10/16/2005)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.123 seconds) 05:08:39 54.91.137.223, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS