PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from jmarr
Other Reviews by this User
 
December 20, 2014 @ 05:49 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
jmarr

Beer Reviews
(5)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

5
Beer Reviews from jmarr
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: New Glarus Brewing Company, New Glarus, WI

For those who may care, the Belgian Red & Raspberry Tart regularly win medals at the GABF (see www.beertown.org/GABF/winners.htm). Many of the other beers have also won medals in the past. Michael Jackson (the famed beer critic) also mentioned the Belgian Red as one of America's Top 10 Beers -- as always, of course, judge for yourself!

(11/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: New Glarus Brewing Company, New Glarus, WI

As others have said, the beers here are generally excellent. While best known for their fruit lambics (Belgian Red & Raspberry Tart), they make some other very good beers as well. The Coffee Stout is a rich, full-flavored stout, and the Hop Hearty IPA is a nice strongly hopped pale ale, one of the better ones I've had (and I've tried dozens & dozens!). The Spotted Cow is a very drinkable, mild ale that is a good starting point (IMHO) for people new to craft brews or for when you're in the mood for a light yet flavorful beer. The Weiss beers & the Uff-da Bock are pretty tasty too. If at all possible, take the brewery tour and pick up some fresh beer right at the brewery!

(11/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! So So Good Great

Establishment: Brickskeller, Washington, DC

This is definitely one of the best places to go if you're on a pilgrimage for unique beers! However, there are several things to note about the Brickskellar: the food is mediocre, the place is often very smokey (lots of smokers it seems!), and the beer is bottled & often not very cheap. However, if you're just looking for some rare beers (many of which you can't find anywhere else), this is the place for you. Personally, when I was there, the service was pretty good and the bartender was quite knowledgeable about what was fresh & in stock. Moreover, I met some friendly locals there and we shared some beers. One of the guys I met claimed to be the head of a local homebrew club, and he kindly introduced me to some great beers I'd never had before! If I'm ever in the area again, I'll be back!

(11/16/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Sprecher Brewing Company, Incorporated, Glendale, WI

Brewers of quite a few good beers - especially the Imperial Stout, Black Bavarian, Mai Bock, and IPA. While these aren't going to be winning any international competitions, they are all very good. The brewery tour is one of the better ones I've been on, and as expected, ends with pints of beer. Sprecher also makes some really good sodas - their Ginger Ale is one of the best I've had (very spicy!), the Root Beer and Orange Dream (Creamsicle-like) are tasty, and their new Raving Red (cherry-cranberry soda) is very good as well. Sprecher is worth a visit if you've got some time in Milwaukee.

(11/16/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Stout Brothers Public House, Milwaukee, WI

I've only been here once, but I found everything to be quite enjoyable. The food - as with most brewpubs - was good yet a little pricey. The atmosphere was pretty casual and the service was great. More importantly, IMHO, the beer was pretty good. I was able to try the Celtic Cross Stout and the Weisse. Both were good - better than your average micro yet not GABF winners. This is a nice place to visit if you're looking for something good & a little different.

(11/16/2002)














(0.195 seconds) 17:49:54 54.237.38.30, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS