PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from jay
Other Reviews by this User
 
December 22, 2014 @ 04:12 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
jay

Beer Reviews
(8)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






User Tagline: Bier hier, bitte
Favorite Beer: Hopslam Ale (for it's flavor, not ROH content)
Located In: VA MD PA OH

8
Beer Reviews from jay
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Pacific Coast Brewing Company, Oakland, CA

We encountered this place while walking around San Fran on vacation, and were glad we did. Comfortable, dark, and unremarkable inside. Pleasant service . We had the beer sampler with an appetizer, and all was quite good. Our visit was on a slow afternoon (October 2005). The highlight of this visit: the waitress introduced us to our first taste of Pyramid's Apricot Hefe, on tap, which we fell in love with. It has a strong apricot essence, yet was still crisp and beery. (As you can see, I'm still workin' on the correct beer lingo. At a later stop, we tried Widmer's brand, which had no discernible apricot flavor, nor did we like it as "just a beer".)

(01/24/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Pizza Orgasmica and Brewing Company, San Francisco, CA

One of the FINEST microbrewery experiences I've had was here. Laid back, friendly, attentive service, and great atmosphere. Seating is not linear (tables stuck wherever it can fit). Reminded me of a college joint. There is nothing haphazard about the food and beer. It's top notch. The beer variety was superb, and each was memorably different and tasty. The pizza was neither thick nor thin crust ... it was just right. I apologize for not being more specific about the beers; I neglected to post a review until now (and the visit was in 2005), so you'll have to wait until next visit for a more detailed critique. I'm surprised nobody put this on pubcrawler until now. (I see their Fillmore Street location is listed in the 'restaurant' category.)

(01/24/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Monterey Coast Brewing Company, Salinas, CA

Beer and food were outstanding. Spacious room and booth seating pleased us. Service was fine. Nothing quirky or unusual about the place, but straight-up excellence all around.

(01/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Third Street AleWorks, Santa Rosa, CA

Been over two years since I visited, but I just came across my photos, and decided to log in. I forget the details, except that we enjoyed this place very much.

(01/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Silverado Brewing Company, Saint Helena, CA

Spacious, friendly and good service, relaxed, and comfortable. Local wines on the menu, too. A class act, yet unpretentious. Nearby wineries should be half this good.

(01/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: The Church Brew Works, Pittsburgh , PA

Arrived Thursday 12:30 lunchtime. It's a big beautiful place, not overcrowded while we were there. Parked directly in front of the place (no meters, little traffic, plenty of parking out back too).

After taking many photos of the outside - building and gorgeous flowers, we enjoyed a beer sampler and buffalo meatloaf. It came with a side of tasty bread, with ?garlic?herbed? butter to spread on it. DELISH.

On the plate was a generous serving of yellow squash & zucchini (grilled? in butter?, had a fresh healthy taste), a nice amount of garlic?mashed potatoes (fresh taters!) and on top of the meatloaf was a huge glob of fried potato string. I guess that's what I'd call it. Fingers came away nice and greasy, which my sis didnt like, so to appease her I ate the entire serving myself. See, with the leanness of buffalo, you need sides with some grease to it, no? ;)

This one dish easily served two of us (late 40s) for lunch. We had bread pudding for dessert, and it would serve 3. It was dense, not too rich, and a few raisins. We took half of it to go and ate it later in the hotel room.

Oh, the beers? They were tasty, well enough crafted with something to satisfy most. I dont recall specifics (4 days later), but I will return soon and try them again more critically.

(08/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Johnstown Brewing Company, Johnstown, PA

Located in former Bethlehem Management Country Club (where execs of the steel company went, and got to take their families), this place is a beautiful setting with a nice outside deck.

Decorated to remember the old steel and coal miners of the region, you can feel how time marches onward. I went with a friend, who learned tennis on the courts that are still visible under the parking stripes, if you look down over the deck.

There were 6 regular beers in the sampler, plus 4 special beers. Wow! My faves were two specials, a Hefe and a belgian wheat (supposedly like Blue Moon, but this one was crisper, cleaner, less fruity, and personally I didnt find it much like Blue Moon at all - i wondered if maybe i got the beers mixed up).

The beers were ... pleasant. Each one was different, all were clean, fresh, and tasty. Nothing "over the edge" but all better than the homegenized taste of each John Harvard beer.

Buffalo burger was lean and tasty, kielbasa delicious, nachos (i didnt like the cheese - was it real? i shoulda asked).

Service was friendly; our waiter had to hear which beer we liked best (he persisted, because i think he really wanted to know).

I loved the place especially because it succeeds in honoring/recognizing the rich history of the region, and the families that produced so many wonderful people.

(08/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Penny Farthing Tavern, Salinas, CA

Stopped in last week of October 2005.

Immediately fell in love with the atmosphere. Laid back, dark seasoned woods/benches, comfy and cozy, but still plenty of space (with red carpet) ... as though a group of friends could come and have a wonderful time, mingling between tables and bar with ease. Clientele appeared to be local, intelligent, and fun. We like this (as opposed to demanding or touristy types, even tho we, ourselves were tourists :)

The service was friendly, but were not always within shouting distance. This did not bother us, but I'm mentioning it, because this is not a place to go if you want hovering attentive service. Perhaps it would be different if we'd ordered food. We just wanted to try the beers.

They dont make beer here, but have some locals on tap, which pleased us. I had two draft beers, one a Boddington's and one a local "Brew 66". We also sampled two other local beers, which I dont recall, they were blonde-ish and nothing special. We tend to like "tasty" beers like PaleAle, ESB, Apricot Hefe, Blue moon ... altho can appreciate a clean fresh lager or kolsch.

However ... all 4 beers we had at this place tasted ... musty? It was weird. We did not finish our two big beers. I wonder if that is how a beer tastes when the tap is not clean? I've read about musty hops, but these were beers made elsewhere.

I wanted to like this place more than the Monterey Brewing Company down the street, because I like "off the beaten path" places best.

(11/28/2005)














(0.152 seconds) 16:12:40 54.145.182.50, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS