PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from jay schill
Other Reviews by this User
 
December 21, 2014 @ 12:55 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
jay schill

Beer Reviews
(6)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

6
Beer Reviews from jay schill
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Awesome! Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Wild Goose Brewery, LLC, Frederick, MD

Frederick Brewing is alive (and as far as I know well) after being acquired by a Cleveland brewery. They have kept all their brews, including Wild Goose (my favorite line) and Brimstone. If you have a chance to go for a brewery tour on Saturday or Sunday (around 1 p.m.) you shouldn't be disappointed. In my humble opinion, their Golden Ale (quite hoppy) and Hempen Ale (more malty but well-balanced)are their best flagship brands. Take part of the afternoon to check out their classy facility and to try any of their beers in the impressive tap room.

(01/11/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Great

Establishment: Smokin' Joe's, Pittsburgh , PA

I would suggest going to Fat Head's first, then heading down to Smokin' Joe's. While Fathead's tap selection is very good, Smokin' Joe's is excellent! They have 30-40 taps, plus well over 100 bottles available. I didn't eat there, I just quaffed a few pints. I will say that the time that I was in there, the place was far from being spotless, but I was not repulsed by the sanitary conditions. It was Saturday night at 9:30, and the table was a bit sticky, but the beer glasses were clean, and the ales were plentiful!

(07/03/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great

Establishment: Fat Head's South Shore Saloon, Pittsburgh , PA

When I go to the 'Burg, I try to make it a point to stop in to Fat Head's (then on to Smokin' Joe's). Fat Head's has a very good selection of taps; everything from standard imports (Bass, Boddington's) to premier micros (Rogue products, Penn, and Victory Hopdevil, to name a few). I would estimate that there are 15-20 taps, and they have around 100 bottled beers. Wait staff will provide you with a great beer list. The pub food is excellent for its style (turkey rubin is great), and staff is generally helpful. I would recommend avoiding this bar during peak hours (Fri. and Sat. nights) unless you like waiting for your beer and standing in a shoulder-to shoulder crowd. Saturday afternoons are a great time to visit.

(07/03/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Barley's Brewing Company, Columbus, OH

Barley's is a quality establishment; and I've been to dozens and dozens of these places. From the first sip of their beer (the first was a brown ale) I knew that they took their beer making seriously. They have signs everywhere that say "Drink Real Ale"; they provide plenty of great beverages to quaff. Food was excellent-try their nachos while you drink.

(05/16/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A So So So So

Establishment: Judge Baldwin's Brewing Company, Colorado Springs, CO

There's a much better example of a beer bar several blocks away called "Jack Quinn". Judge Baldwin's environment inside seemed antiseptic and beer selection was mediocre at best.

(12/31/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A Great So So

Establishment: Thunder Ridge Brewing Company, Colorado Springs, CO

Don't get me wrong, they've done a really great job making Thunder Ridge look really great inside and out, but they've made one big mistake: they've tried to brew a lot of beer without concentrating on the quality of their products. Their strategy should have been to focus on making one or two really good house brews. Their selection overall is good because they carried many good commercials from Guinness to Hempen Ale (Frederick Brewing, MD). The service was very friendly but not pushy. The decor was cool as a hangout, but please work on the house beers.

(12/31/1998)














(0.124 seconds) 00:55:22 54.80.63.78, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS