PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from jay amin
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 20, 2014 @ 09:16 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
jay amin

Beer Reviews
(24)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

24
Beer Reviews from jay amin
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Good Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Widmer Brothers Brewing Company, Portland, OR

Have been enjoying Widmer for the past few years, from both the east and west coasts. Their Hefeweizen is first-rate for an American version, but a half-notch below Paulaner. The Widberry is also a quality beer. Unfortunately, I have been unable to locate their other styles...a visit to Portland will have to be my next step.

(08/20/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Harrington's Bar and Grill, San Francisco, CA

One of the best pints of Guinness poured in SF.

(02/15/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: High Point Brewing, Butler, NJ

Very tasty offerings, especially the Dark Wheat, from the only exclusive wheat beer brewery in the US. All malt and hops ingredients are imported from Germany.

(05/17/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Pizzeria Uno Chicago Grill and Brewery, Metuchen, NJ

This is a brand new Pizzeria Uno restaurant that actually brews their own beer on-the-premises and has only been open for about a month. In that time, however, the brewer has made available about five different beers (a golden ale, red ale, and a porter from what I can remember trying). The porter was my favorite and is quite tasty, specifically a rich, deep-roasted flavor that hit the spot. Hopefully they will be able to maintain a consistent level of quality in their beers.

(04/20/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Wynkoop Brewing Company, Denver, CO

Unfortunately, I was only able to make a quick stop at this brewpub and decided to try one of their beers from the handpump. A fine quality beer that I enjoyed greatly, served at an appropriate temperature for the cask-conditioned variety. I plan to visit this place again to try other beers from their quite vast selection.

(04/20/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Breckenridge Brewery and Pub, Denver, CO

I happened upon this establishment directly across from Coors Field in Denver so I had to check it out. The Avalanche is a damn good beer of the American Ale style with a nice balance of malt and hops to satisfy a thirsty palate. Also tried the Mountain Wheat and the Oatmeal Stout which are quite good as well. Unfortunately, they had tapped out of the Raspberry Porter which I hope to try the next time I'm in town. The food was decent with sizable portions.

(04/20/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Wild Goose Brewery, Frederick, MD

I have tried Wild Goose's beers at regional beer festivals and in bars throughout the Northeast. The IPA, Amber, Porter, and Snow Goose are highly recommended. Hopefully, there will be no decline in quality as a result of being bought out by Frederick.

(04/02/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Goose Island Beer Company - Clybourn, Chicago, IL

I have had the fortunate opportunity to stop over in O'Hare Airport on a couple of occasions in the past year where I discovered they were serving Honker's Ale on tap ... a pleasure to consume compared to the crap you have to PAY for on the plane. Next time I'll plan a trip to Chicago and make it a point to visit their brewery and try some of their other offerings as well.

(04/02/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: Rogue Ales / Oregon Brewing and Brewer's on the Bay, Newport, OR

Rogue Ales are some of the best hand-crafted brews made in the country. Especially good are the Mogul, Rogue-n-Berry, Nut Brown Nectar, Dead Guy Ale, and Shakespeare Stout.

(04/02/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A Good Good Great

Establishment: McSorley's Old Ale House, New York , NY

Lots of fun to be had here while throwing down a few mugs of light and/or dark. Also recommend the crackers, cheese, and onion side order (an Irish tradition). Enjoy the traditional pub atmosphere and boisterous crowds anytime day or night. A must visit when in Manhattan.

(03/02/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Lion Brewery, Wilkes-Barre, PA

I have enjoyed two of the beers offered by this brewery under the Brewery Hill label, namely the Caramel Porter and the Black and Tan. I look forward to trying their other products including the Penn Centennial Lager and the Pale Ale which friends have told me are very good.

(03/02/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Blue Hen Beer Company, Newark, DE

A robust and tasty Chocolate Porter. Hope to try other beers from this brewery in the near future.

(03/01/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Commonwealth Fish and Beer Company, Boston, MA

Enjoyed the bitters on tap, especially Burton's Best Bitter served properly at moderately mild temperature.

(03/01/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Massachusetts Bay Brewing Company, Boston, MA

Some of the best beers in New England marketed under the Harpoon label. Among their best are the Harpoon Ale, the IPA and the Harpoon Winter Warmer.

(03/01/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Climax Brewing Company, Roselle Park, NJ

Have tried their beers at area bars and found them to be of overall good quality and drinkability. Hoping to try more of them in the future.

(03/01/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So So So So So

Establishment: Trap Rock Restaurant and Brewery, Berkeley Heights, NJ

Turned off by mediocre quality beers on top of outrageous prices for menu items which are not worth the money. Too much effort wasted on presentation. They should focus more on improving their beers and less on "dressing up" their food and trying to appeal to an upscale crowd.

(03/01/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Harvest Moon Brewery / Cafe, New Brunswick, NJ

A nice change of pace from other New Brunswick "college" bars with excellent offerings, particularly the Flag Me Down Brown and the Sully's Oatmeal Stout; can get quite crowded during happy hour and sometimes overwhelming with cigar smoke.

(03/01/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Flying Fish Brewing Company, Cherry Hill, NJ

A very good bottle-conditioned porter and also like their XPA "extra pale ale" on tap at many bars; a visit to their brewery facility in Cherry Hill last December gave me an opportunity to meet with and go on a walk-through tour conducted by the head brewer.

(03/01/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Triumph Brewing Company, Princeton, NJ

Very good brews of all styles especially the oatmeal stout and the winter seasonal. Also try the tasty black bean soup.

(03/01/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Peculier Pub, New York, NY

Perhaps the widest selection of imports, micros, other hard-to-find beers in the entire city. Great place to hang out in the Village.

(03/01/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Good Good

Establishment: Desert Edge Brewery, Salt Lake City, UT

The Latter Days Stout is a fine example of this beer style. A recent GABF medal winner if I'm not mistaken. Other beers were not of distinguishable quality.

(02/28/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Boston Beer Works, Boston, MA

One of the best brewpubs I've ever been to, with lots of space, but can get very crowded on game nights at Fenway. Highly recommend the Bluebeery Ale which comes with berries in the beer ... delicious! A generous offering of many beer styles. The only brewpub I've been to serving 20 oz. "Imperial pints".

(02/28/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Good Good

Establishment: Mountain Valley Brewpub, Suffern, NY

A very good brewpub with a reasonably wide selection of excellent brews, especially the Porter (a former GABF gold medal winner). Other quality beers include a Stout, Copper, Pale, and ESB with a Christmas seasonal. A nice place to go with friends for a few brews and a game of darts. Take advantage of the 22 oz. carryout bottles for only $3.

(02/28/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Old Bay Restaurant, New Brunswick, NJ

Wide selection of hard-to-find imported beers and domestic micros with excellent cajun/creole cuisine. Enjoy brews from the hand pump/beer engine. Good times during annual seasonal celebrations such as Mai-Fest and Oktoberfest.

(02/07/1998)














(0.128 seconds) 09:16:37 54.166.228.100, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS