PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from jas
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 24, 2014 @ 10:11 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
jas

Beer Reviews
(50)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

50
Beer Reviews from jas
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: 3 Sons Dogs and Suds, Wexford, PA

3 Sons is a FABULOUS 6-pack store. HUGE selection. Friendly staff. They have food, but it's pretty much just hot dogs. Try them out on Thursdays for tasting night.

(12/14/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Later Alligator, Wheeling, WV

Later Alligator is a good lunch-type spot in downtown Wheeling. We stopped for dinner, and Wheeling was already a ghost town at 7PM. Alligator's hours appear to be somewhat intermittant in the evening. They have a decent variety of beer, including several from Great Lakes Brewing. The sandwiches were decent size; we tried the Ah Tuna Matata and Sam 'En Ella. Unfortunately did not try any of their large selection of crepes.

(11/08/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Good

Establishment: Gilded Otter, New Paltz, NY

Well I can't say that I have ever been or had planned to go to New Paltz. Thanks to my friend Flav for recommending the Gilded Otter. Very nice, modern facility, adjacent to the river and rail-trail. I tried the sampler. It was a reasonable price for a good number of brews. The Pils and IPA were the best offerings. Although the blueberry was recommended, it was not one of my favorites. Service was good but not great. The food was very good. Try the chili; the small portion is HUGE! Definitely a good place to stop if you are in the area. Their website is very well done - check it out.

(10/10/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Selin's Grove Brewing, Selinsgrove, PA

Selin’s Grove Brewing is a cozy little pub locate right off Main Street one block north of the square, just walk down the path through a small flower garden to this little basement pub. They have outdoor seating, a bar area, and a small dining room. This rustic basement bar, packs a lot into its small footprint - brick, floors, wood ceilings, and plenty of charm. The service was friendly and our waitress was very attentive. They have live music on Thursdays. The food is excellent, the veggy chili was wonderful. The sandwiches are very good with decent size portions, I had the ham/pretzel with an IPA. My side was an apple slaw, definitely worth trying. Very nice job on the IPA, good color and flavor, well hopped! I also tried the pils and Belgian, both were very nice.

(05/08/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Brass Rail Beverage and Deli, Campelltown, PA

WOW! The hidden gem of the Hershey/Harrisburg area. This place may be SMALL but what an addition to the area. Excellent/amazing selection of micros and imports available in singles, six-packs, and cases. 6 AWESOME beers on tap. Nice deli with reasonably priced decent size portions. Although it may not look like much from the outside, this is the place to go for beer. The staff is extremely friendly and knowledgable. Stop in for lunch. They indicate that they have "The LARGEST and FINEST selection of beer on Central PA's East Shore", and I have to agree.

(02/09/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: The Tap Room - St. John Brewers, St. John,

You have to give these guys credit, and I’m a typically a pretty harsh critic. Nice start. The Tap Room is small & cozy and the locals are friendly. Only a couple of minutes walk from the ferry. Light, airy, and friendly Caribbean atmosphere. Although they only have two Tap Room beers and three sodas on tap, they have two rotating guest taps, which were Old Thumper and Avery White Rascal last week. The beer is light, very islandy, the pale ale is reminiscent of Magic Hat #9, the Summer is light; these are both all-day-drinkers in the warm USVI weather. I’d like to see an IPA. Although I only gave the TR a “good” on selection it is “awesome” compared to pretty much everywhere else I’ve been in the Caribbean, If you’re on St. Thomas pay the $6 and take the ferry out of Red Hook and visit them. Unfortunately, we had to catch the car ferry and couldn’t stay very long, thanks to bartender Will for the heads-up and quick beers.

(02/09/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: The Point, Dixon, MO

Nearby to Fort Leonard Wood. Micros are a little hard to come by in these parts, but Bob and Mona Moore, provide a small but quality selection of bottled micros and imports to accompany their excellent steaks and ribs. Outstanding food. Try the dry rubbed ribs and half price beer on Wednesday. Or eat the T-bone and earn the right to write your name on the walls or ceiling. Outstanding view, friendly staff.

(11/04/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Good

Establishment: Manayunk Brewery and Restaurant, Manayunk, PA

We enjoyed our visit to the Manayunk Brewery deck this week, We had an excellent late lunch and enjoyed the rare tuna salad and the Brewers Pizza along with a few beers. Manayunk Brewing does a good job with their beers with a very nice appearance yet the flavor tends to be more on the lighter, less robust, side. The Krooks Mill Pale is a well balanced pale, it could have been a little more hoppy, but all-in-all a very good offering. The Peach Wheat is also a very good offering, a light wheat with just enough peach, which doesn’t overpower the beer. I was really looking forward to the California Dreaming Imperial IPA, unfortunately, I was somewhat disappointed, Although the alcohol content is there, the hops just weren’t, and I felt it was too mild for an imperial.

Bohemian Blonde is a good American style Pilsner, for a more mass market Coors-esque crowd. The Schuylkill Punch is definitely interesting with the raspberry flavor, and what an amazing color, yet very reminiscent to Kool-aid.

Great place to go. Nice atmosphere.

(09/13/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Elk Creek Cafe + Aleworks, Millheim, PA

If you are in the State College area, definitely worth the trip to Millheim. Located on the corner, the building has been recently renovated and has a very nice bar area, adjacent to a very open seating area with large plate glass windows fronting on the main street and local art adorning the walls. The staff is friendly and attentive. The food is excellent and very fresh. I had the salmon with a side of saffron risotto and fresh asparagus. Try the home made chocolate cake! Definitely a step way up from your typical brew pub fare. Eight beers on tap. Nice. I had the Double Rainbow IPA, very nice, medium hop, Great Blue Heron Pale Ale, which is a nice well-balanced pale, but the prize winner of the evening was definitely the Elk Creek Copper Ale, very nice with definite caramel overtones. I ate at the bar and enjoyed the company of the two bartenders and a few local fireman. Be warned they may close early, depending on the crowd.

(05/16/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: The BREW Kettle Taproom and Smokehouse / Ringneck, Strongsville, OH

I know, another strip mall brewpub…. But don’t judge it from first appearances. The place is larger than it looks from the outside with a large bar and plenty of seating. Breweryana and signs blanket the walls and the bar sports a large chalk board to give you the taps of the day, complete with beer’s ABV and IBU. Not only do they have a decent selection of their own beer, but an EXCELLENT selection of other micros from across the country, including Victory, DFH, Stone, Bells, Breckenridge… making the Brew Kettle a very highly rated beer bar as well. We had the Ringneck Hefe and Big Woody Lager which were very good, and a few other out-of-town beers. The Chief’s Rye was excellent, and I was disappointed that none was available in bottle. Food is standard pub and BBQ fare. The chicken wings are gigantic. Try the spaghetti (w/ BBQ and pulled pork), OR a heaping dish of nachos with pulled pork. Thanks Sarah for helping us out while on our way to the airport.

(05/16/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Great Lakes Brewing Company, Cleveland, OH

Thanks to Shelby for providing the brews and food at Great Lakes Brewing, and Brewer Luke for stopping by the table to talk beer! HANDS DOWN AWESOME! Great location, next to the market, just over the bridge from the stadium. YOU REALLY MUST GO HERE. Great range of seating from the biergarten, to the outdoor café, to the indoor restaurant and bar, to the basement pub. The staff is VERY FRIENDLY and the food is fantastic! We tried the potroast sandwich, old world burger, pulled pork, and sausage sampler with fresh rot (red) kraut and mustard. BUT THE BEER….. WOW! I’m not a huge porter fan, but get the Fitz! The Edmund Fitzgerald Porter is great, robust and well balanced. I enjoyed the Commodore Perry IPA, but was expecting and hoping for a little more hop. The Burning River Pale Elliot Ness Amber, and Rockfeller Bock are all well done. The seasonal Moondog Bitter is good, but not exceptionally bitter. GET THE SAMPLER. 10 (YES TEN) 5 oz glasses of beer for $10, do the math, how can you go wrong?

(05/16/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Great Awesome! Good

Establishment: Dragonmead Microbrewery, Warren, MI

Another place highly recommended by the Michiganers. OK, so it’s in a mini-stripmall-esque building. The place is small but has a nice atmosphere. We were there on a Friday and enjoyed the live music. The food is pretty limited; get the burger, it’s a double for $3 or the cheese platter. Service was exceptional! But let’s talk beer. Dragonmead has an astounding 40 beers on tap. When have you ever seen a micro brew (or anyone) who does 40 beers well? You don’t. For the most part, the beer is not memorable. We sampled the Kolsch, Pale, Porter, Pils, Bitter, Dortmunder, Wheat, Stout, Trippel, just to name a few, but let’s not forget their pepper beer, the Ring of Fire. The beers aren’t bad, just bland. The samplers are not a bargain at $10 for 5 six-ish oz samplers, but you get a pretty placemat. If you like flavorful, full-bodied, robust beers, this is not your place; if you plan to stay all night and drink about 12 pints, then this is the place for you. My suggestion to Dragonmead, pick 8 beers to brew well, and stop trying to brew every single style known to man.

(05/16/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Lousy So So

Establishment: Kuhnhenn Brewing Company, Warren, MI

WOW! This place came highly recommended, so we were really looking forward to the place. The pub’s not bad and in the midst of what I hope is an expansion, as only half of it has a ceiling, lights, and real furniture. This place doesn’t have a kitchen and encourages you to bring your own food, while you’re at it, bring your own beer as well. Maybe we caught you on a bad day. The American IPA was marginal. The Loonie Kuhnie Ale, Belgian Wit, and the Lambic was just BAD BAD BEER. AND the STAFF is EXTREMELY UNFRIENDLY. GO SOMEWHERE ELSE.

(05/16/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Lousy N/A Lousy So So

Establishment: Traffic Jam and Snug, Detroit, MI

On my last trip to Detroit, 11 years ago, I was disappointed to find the TJ&S closed for the day. I eagerly awaited the day that I would get to visit the pub, which finally happened May 2008. After a beer at the non-descript bar with the unfriendly staff, I realized that I should have just stayed at Motor City across the street. 3 beers? Are you kidding me? All you have is 3 beers? Maybe you should worry a little less about making ice cream, cookies (not worth $2), bread, and cheese…. Or don’t call yourself a brew pub.

(05/16/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: Motor City Brewing Works, Detroit, MI

Thanks to Bartender Scott and Brewer Brandon for the afternoon of beer and pizza at Motor City! Motor City has a lot under the hood for a compact brew pub. Stop by and see the art. We visited on a somewhat cool and overcast May afternoon, but opted to sit on the rooftop deck. We had several pints of Ghetto Blaster, Old Gear Oil, Pale, and root beer. The Old Gear Oil was a very good sour Flemish Brown. Although the food is somewhat limited, it is excellent. Try a brick over pizza, we had the Godfather and the BBQ Chicken!

(05/16/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Hale's Ales Brewery and Pub, Seattle, WA

We tried the HSB (GREAT!), Pale, Mongoose, Red Menace, and Double Dry Hop with our burgers and Salmon Benedict. Get the pretzels for an app and try the porter cheesecake for dessert.

(02/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Pike Brewery and Pub, Seattle, WA

I have enjoyed Pike's beer in bottle for several years and had the opportunity to visit when I was in Seattle. We set in the sitting area next to the bar and had several beers. Bar staff was friendly and recommended a few places to go after Pike closed for the night. I had the IPA, among others. The bar and restaurant are decorated with a nice collection of breweryana.

(02/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: McMenamins Queen Anne Hill, Seattle, WA

Located only a short walk from the Space Needle, although I'm not sure that I'd call it the McD's of brew pubs, this is just an average place with some interesting wall decor. I had the Nitro, among others, but it did not make a tremendously memorable impression.

(02/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Hale's Ales Brewery and Pub, Seattle, WA

We stopped for brunch and had a great relaxing meal. Definitely recommended.

(02/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Knickerbocker Tavern, Altoona, PA

The Knick is a great place to have some food and a couple cold beers, when in Central Pennsylvania. We stopped mid-day on the way home and were welcomed by Bjorn and the local guys at the bar. Thanks to Bjorn and the staff for the excellent service, food, and beer. This is not the restaurant for beer geeks, but beer connoisseurs. Very nice, relaxed atmosphere; Bjorn is very knowledgeable and a entertain bartender and host. Very good selection of staple and rotating taps. Most notably, I had the Johns Locker Stock on tap and an Ottos English Ale off cask. I was also fortunate to find a buy a bottle of Stones Vertical Epic 07/07/07, before leaving! The restaurant is surprisingly large, with a nice patio in the rear.

(07/23/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy So So So So

Establishment: Pyramid Alehouse, Brewery and Restaurant, Seattle, WA

One word – DISAPPOINTING. Our first attempt to visit Pyramid occurred on Thursday evening, unfortunately Pyramid was booked for a private party; the staff apologized and asked us to return the following day. NO PROBLEM. We then went to the Mariners/Yankees game and again tried to visit Pyramid, unfortunately for us, Pyramid called last call shortly after the game was over at 9:30! So we tried a third time, and this time went before the game. The place was mobbed but we only waited about 15 minutes. Our third attempt resulted in several dissatisfied customers. We were seated adjacent to the main entrance; unfortunately someone spilled beer on the floor above and it dripped on us and our table (through the floor above) shortly after being seated. We then ordered appetizer, including chicken wings and nachos, which arrived COLD. All the silverware which was neatly wrapped in clean napkins was caked with food. Oh, and thee beer we had in the plastic cups, wasn’t bad. Do yourself a favor, go somewhere else… Pike, Elysian, McMenamins, Hales…

(05/16/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: The Stumbling Monk, Seattle, WA

We were fortunate to run across this beer bar which concentrates on Belgian and Belgian-style beers. Thanks to Rob, the owner, for the great service and beer last weekend before our flight. We found that most of the bars downtown closed early, and Stumbling Monk is a moderate walk or short taxi ride from downtown. Although the establishment is small, the Monk offers an exceptional variety at very reasonable prices. Unlike some of Seattle's other pubs, your beer will be properly served in the appropriate brewery glassware, not a plastic cup. Be aware they do not serve food, but no problem, they allow you to bring your own or have it delivered.

(05/16/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Elysian Brewing Company - Capitol Hill, Seattle, WA

Elysian is in a good location next to the ballpark. We were there during the early evening on a non-game day. The place was absolutely empty. I tried the sampler, which was good, but not altogether memorable.

(05/12/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Kells Irish Restaurant and Pub, Seattle, WA

The food, service, and beer were all good, although the place was pretty empty on a weekday afternoon. The bar area looked cool, but we opted to eat in the open air seating along the alley.

(05/12/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Diamond Knot Alehouse and Brewery, Mukilteo, WA

Diamond Knot is a small place located by the Ferry. We stopped after the Boeing plant tour and found that we were just in time for the 2:30-5:30 M-F happy hour. The bar area was great and our server Janelle was very attentive. We had sandwiches served on their stone grills. We also tried the nachos, which are HUGE, with their corn and been salsa. The beer is fabulous, we had the Scotch, IPA, and Industrial. All were excellent! Save room and get an ice cream cone at Woody's Market next door.

(05/12/2007)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.31 seconds) 22:11:15 54.82.82.201, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS