PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from jason
Other Reviews by this User
  >
August 30, 2014 @ 11:20 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
jason

Beer Reviews
(4)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

4
Beer Reviews from jason
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
So So Good Great Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Great Good

Establishment: Tied House Cafe and Brewery, Mountain View, CA

Disappointing.

I'm looking for "awesome." This place could be if they would make "awesome" beer, but they don't... it's barely so-so in my book. I'm hoping they will work this out because the atmosphere and service is great. In fact, it has a great, local vibe. Good energy in the house.

It's clean, not overly noisy. Food is decent enough.

But the beer - weak taste, poor spectrum of flavors.

I'll try again in a year hoping for a change in brewing.

If you want a great place to hang out after work and don't expect much from the beer you'll love it in my opinion.

(10/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Great So So

Establishment: BJ's Pizza, Grill and Brewery, Boulder, CO

The brew is just not flavorful, a bit better than most chains, but not worth the price. The food is "chain store food" as well.

If you want beer and pub food and it is the only place in town, twist my arm and I'd go. It's a step above going for Bud Lite on tap at Pizza Hut, but that's about it in my opinion.

Atmosphere: it's clean, well-managed, sound level is moderate.

(10/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Good Great Great

Establishment: Standing Stone Brewing Company, Ashland, OR

I prefer hoppy, the IPA was really well done. Sampled the other beers and was not impressed. But oh, the IPA, would go back for more.

Food was very good. You can swing healthy or greasy as you wish, all was nicely done.

Atmosphere was ok. VERY clean and open, nice light and space. I prefer a little cozier, warmer, darker. So it's a bit spartan to me, but in style, not due to thoughtlessness.

Sound level was good - easy to chat.

Will always be worth a detour in the future.

(10/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Good Great

Establishment: Mountain Sun Pub and Brewery, Boulder, CO

I have been going to this pub since its inception. They have opened another south of town with very consistent results. SInce moving from Boulder I have been hard pressed to find similarly tasty, hoppy brew (and nachos that equal theirs). In my search for tasty, quality, hoppy stuff, a close second in quality, color and flavor in my opinion has been the Standing Stone Brewery in Ashland, Oregon.

At the Mountain Sun, I have to say I love the nachos. A small order is more like a "large medium." Their fearless use of black beans and fresh salsa has made me an addict.

Staff: their baseline service is decent but can be inconsistent in terms of how fast they round on you. On the other hand, they rotate the staff in all positions which gives the place more of a family business vibe.

Beer selection: they have very hoppy stuff. Problem is if you want a break from it it just wasn't there. But all the other stuff is amazing, so...

This might have changed, haven't been there in 2 years, but I'll be back next month, perhaps some maltier entries have been cooked up.

Fact is, because I don't visit Boulder frequently enough I'll probably crawl into a pitcher of the Kind and Triple X and be quite satisfied.

(10/04/2007)














(0.045 seconds) 23:20:15 54.87.44.72, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS