PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from janet schryver
Other Reviews by this User
  >
August 28, 2014 @ 10:21 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
janet schryver

Beer Reviews
(10)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

10
Beer Reviews from janet schryver
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Maumee Bay Brewing Company, Toledo, OH

Okay, on my last review in 2007, I was more than disappointed, in fact I came down fairly hard on this place. However, the current brewmaster and his staff at Maumee Bay Brewing have expanded and reinvented the beer list, and I can and will wholeheartedly give their new selections 2 thumbs up!

We've made it a point to visit the bar upstairs (YES, the entire upstairs has reopened, thank you very much!) to hang out, people watch and quaff some hopbombs on Friday or Saturday nights. In addition to the regular stable, they now have rotating selections that change periodically. The Amarillo Brillo is one of the most DELICIOUS IPAs I have ever had. Service has also improved.

Stop by and "give some love" to Toledo's only non-chain brewpub. They REALLY deserve it!

(08/12/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Good Good

Establishment: Maumee Bay Brewing Company, Toledo, OH

What can I say...it was my idea to give it another try tonight...and it was not what we expected.

As of October 12, 2007, they have completely shut down the very large upstairs to the general public, which was the main dining area with a very nice bar and oodles of breweriana everywhere. We were told by the hostess that it is now only available for private banquets and parties.

They have reinvented the old Oliver's Pub on the 1st floor into the main eating area, which seats about 50-60 I would say (no barstools at the stripped down bar either). The Mutz bar in the basement section adjoining this area by a hallway is still a bar, not alot has changed there. It's kind of a dive. But now they have renamed the entire downstairs venue Mutz.

Menu has been cut back to the bare minimum and is kinda pricey for what you get. We ordered a cheese puffs appetizer, way overpriced for what you got. Almost everything is fried. The servers were attentive, and almost a little pushy about placing a food order.

Fortunately, the "Grand Reopening" weekend special was 6.50 pitchers, so we inhaled 2 of the cask IPAs...still an excellent value at 8.75/pitcher regularly vs. 3.50 per pint. The other beers are nothing to write home about.

Reflecting back to the way this place used to be when it first opened, it has really slipped. The beers used to be something really special and the food was once exceptional. It was nothing to have to wait a very long time for a table, even with multiple rooms upstairs and down. When the original head brewer left and the original head chef left, things began to change and not for the better.

Our opinion is they need a new business plan, a new menu and more aggressive marketing, as well as better beer. I don't see how they can downgrade it much more...when I think back to what it used to be, it is SO freaking SAD. NOTE: This is the only non-chain microbrewery left in the Toledo area.

We do feel the need to support it occasionally just for the cask IPA beer, no other reason...

(10/13/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: North Country Brewing Company, Slippery Rock, PA

Visited Slippery Rock for the very first time last weekend to see what this brewpub had to offer. Upon entering you will see why they call it North Country. It really reflects the UP of Michigan, and I thought I was visiting Traverse City again! Nearly everything inside is handcrafted from natural wood. There is more than a touch of whimsy to the decorating and the creativity of the craftsmen is inspiring. I have never seen anything quite like it! The owners are to be commended!

There were 12 or 13 beers on tap. Since we had more traveling to do, we did not dare fully enjoy the selections offered, so we settled for a pitcher of the IPA. I agree with the previous reviewer that the beer had an initially strong hoppy taste, but it finished thinner than what I am used to.

Our server was very attentive and the meals were delivered in a very reasonable time. I had the Leroy Brown, a massive burger that was absolutely delicious. There was a generous portion of hand cut fries that came with. I could not finish them as I was too full.

I recommend taking a spin around their website. It is very well done. Loved this place! We will be back again.

(03/31/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Great N/A Great Good

Establishment: Lot 17, Pittsburgh, PA

Last weekend was my 2nd visit to Lot 17, previously operated years ago as Aussie's by another owner. This is a nice bar with natural brick interior and dining on 2 levels. There was a decent crowd watching NCAA action on the many TVs, mostly drinkers, not eaters.

We ordered a pitcher of Hop Devil, one of our most favorite hoppy beers. After a few swallows and after comparing notes and making faces at each other, it was decided that the beer was definitely funky. Whether it had gotten warm or old, the taps were unclean, or maybe just a bad keg, we didn't know. The bartender claimed he sells alot of it, so it should not be spoiled.

After we pointed it out, he voluntarily and quickly replaced it with a pitcher of Sierra Nevada Pale Ale, which tasted the way it should. We were surprised that the tap handle was not pulled and the other bartenders were not told that the beer was foul.

If you go to Lot 17, you might ask for a sample before you commit to a pitcher. Hopefully this was a one time only problem!

(03/31/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Bloomfield Bridge Tavern, Pittsburgh , PA

The BBT was a regular stop of mine when I lived in Bloomfield. It seemed strange to walk in and not see Stan smiling from behind the bar. We would always look forward to see what "treats" he would be handing out to the customers, whether it be a ball point pen, Xmas gift labels, cassette tape, or whatever, one time even ladies' skirts! The bottled beers in the cold cases always had "free" gifts rubberbanded to them as well.

Anyway, I digress. We stopped in to see what was on tap and stayed for a pitcher. Our bartender was very friendly and chatted with us for awhile. The dining room was filling up and the Polish platters were being prepared right down the bar from us. A band was bringing their equipment in to set up. (There is always a wide variety of live entertainment at BBT.)

This is a true no-frills neighborhood bar, with very reasonable prices. It's worth a visit just for the homemade pierogies and an ice cold beer.

(03/31/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Fat Head's South Shore Saloon, Pittsburgh , PA

We had visited Fat Heads many years ago before they expanded and remodeled and over the past few years we've resumed our visits. Their above average beer selection has become even better. There is definitely something for everyone on tap. This visit, we tried the Big Daddy IPA, a great San Francisco micro that I had not drank since my last visit to CA. I wish we could get this one by the case here!

Sitting in the bar area, I perused the menu and found it to be overwhelming. I have never seen so many enticing sandwiches listed in one place. Regretfully, we weren't ready to eat, but we did get a strong whiff of garlic from a plate being delivered. All of the food going by looked and smelled good. Hope to try the eats sometime soon.

In my opinion, this is one of the nicer places on Carson to hang out and people watch while enjoying quality beer. Give it a try!

(03/31/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Smokin' Joe's, Pittsburgh , PA

This is one of our favorite watering holes to frequent when visiting the 'Burgh. Smokin' Joes beer taps are among the very best in the city. This visit I was able to turn my brother on to a pitcher of the Lagunitas IPA for $14.25. I hadn't drank this beer since my last trip to CA. It's a nicely balanced hoppy choice, which did not disappoint either of us.

As usual, the bar area was jam packed and we had to wait along the wall until some seats were vacated. We were lucky enough to score the hitop table by the front window, which afforded us a great view of the action on Carson St.

Although the beer is a bit pricey by the pitcher, the diverse selection makes it well worth the visit. We'll be back in June!

(03/31/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: Piper's Pub, Pittsburgh, PA

Last weekend was my 2nd visit to Piper's Pub. This is a nice bar, right on Carson, with an interesting cross-section of clientele...a good place to people watch. Bartender was attentive and friendly.

Specifically was looking for an East End Brewing Beer, which was not available. Would have settled for a Hop Devil, but that was not on either. Both were available at my last visit in October. Pint prices are rather steep, averaging $4.50-5.00 each, but stopping for one will not break the bank. Food being served looked and smelled good, but we weren't hungry.

The one thing I must complain about is the condition of the rest rooms. The ladies' room looked like it hadn't been serviced in quite some time. No TP to be found anywhere and the paper towels were almost gone. That's the only thing I found that needs improvement.

(03/31/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Birmingham Bridge Tavern, Pittsburgh , PA

After reading Paris' review, we wanted to check this place out while barcrawling down Carson. This is a nice clean, aesthetically pleasing establishment. The knowledgeable bartender was very friendly and accommodating in finding just the right T-shirt for me to purchase as a souvenir.

After perusing the diverse tap selection, we opted for the always delicious Sierra Nevada Pale Ale. My jaw dropped as my brother had to shell out $15 for a pitcher (after all, it was his turn to buy!). OUCH! That's the highest price we have ever paid for SNPA in Pittsburgh, or for any pitcher for that matter. We felt obligated to inform that the very same beer can be purchased at Dee's for $9.50.

We will probably stop back for a single draft, but there are better values elsewhere if you are on a budget.

(03/31/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Homestead, PA

Visited this national chain for the 2nd time last weekend, primarily to take advantage of the $2 happy hour pints from 4-6 p.m. We weren't hungry, as we had already eaten, but the happy hour food that was coming out of the kitchen looked and smelled very good. The beer was predictable, nothing to write home about, particularly if you like hoppy beer like I do. I have to agree with the comments of the previous reviewer. However, our bartender was right on top of his game and readily offered samples to taste. Will stop back again on another trip.

(03/31/2006)














(0.061 seconds) 10:21:59 54.196.197.28, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS