PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from james s
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 28, 2014 @ 11:26 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
james s

Beer Reviews
(7)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

7
Beer Reviews from james s
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Desert Edge Brewery, Salt Lake City, UT

Nice place. I came in while it was a slow afternoon. Since I had to walk a couple of miles back to the hotel from here I only had one of their brews, but it was still worth it.

Their ESB was excellent, the cheesecake I got to go was very good later on that night, the service was prompt and friendly, as well as being very nice to look at.

If I ever make it back to Salt Lake, I'm going to make sure I drop by to try more of the brews and food.

(08/21/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Red Rock Brewing Company, Salt Lake City, UT

Very nice place! I made it in last month while in town for a statistics conference and am glad I stopped in.

The food was great! My pizza was excellent, and my colleagues all enjoyed their entrees as well. The service as great, our server was easy to talk to about the beer and menu selections, and was always around to help out.

The beer was very good, too. I tried the oatmeal stout, which would have made an excellent stout, just not an oatmeal stout.

The ESB was fantastic! I'm not even a fan of ESBs and PAs, but I really enjoyed this one.

I'm not sure if I'll ever make it back out to Salt Lake City, but if I do, I'm definitely coming back here.

(08/21/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Squatter's Pub Brewery was Salt Lake Brewing Company, Salt Lake City, UT

Made it to Squatters last month while on attending a conference in Salt Lake. Tried the sampler, allowing me to taste a good portion of the beers. I can't think of any that were poor.

Captain Bastard's was good enough to get a couple of pints of it during the meal. My only problem with it was that I didn't feel it was much of an oatmeal stout, it just seemed like a good, average stout beer. My colleague's seemed to very much enjoy the Full Suspension pale ale.

I do recommend the cask-conditioned ale. This was excellent! Get it if they have any on hand.

As for food, everyone seemed to enjoy what they got, although no one thought it was wonderful. My nachos were good, but nothing to brag about. The service was good. It could have been better, but I will admit the place was very busy. If nothing else, the servers were usually easy on the eyes, too.

(08/21/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A N/A Good

Establishment: St. George Brewing Company, Hampton, VA

Stopped by last week (Wed, Aug 15th). I was hoping for a tour of the brewery, but did not get to. Still, it was worth the trip. We did get to go into the tasting room and tried a couple of their beers.

The nut brown was very nice, although I have had better. The summer ale was an excellent seasonal, right up there with Sam Adam's summer ale.

It was good enough to take a sampler 6-pack home. I tried a couple last night. The golden ale was very nice, with an excellent aroma, color, and taste. I also have to agree with about everyone else on here that's reviewed St. George's, the porter was absolutely terrific! I'm hoping they can start exporting to WV sometime soon.

(08/21/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Calhoun's Restaurant and Brewery, Harrisonburg, VA

Stopped by Cally's last week (Wed, Aug 15th), while driving through the mountains on the way back home from the beach.

The food was good really good. My hamburger (had some cajun spices and a nice sauce) was excellent.

The beer selection was all right for a brewpub. I would definitely go back and try a few more, but only got the chance to try two while I was there this time.

The best was the smokin scottish. I was hoping for something along the lines of a wee heavy, but it wasn't that strong. It's probably along the lines of a 60 or 70 shilling, but very good nonetheless.

(08/21/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: Mountain State Brewing Company, Thomas, WV

Stopped by here last week to hit the two brewpubs in the area while on the way back from vacation. Brian, one of the owner/brewers, was nice enough to take some time out of his day to let us sample their beers. Every one of them is excellent!

The oatmeal stout, particularly, was great. True, I'm biased towards stouts, but even with that in mind, it was truly enjoyable. Especially having a couple of so-so oatmeal stouts while on business in Utah, it was great to find a homestate oatmeal stout that was truly great. The nice thing that I found out, is that it is served locally in Morgantown at the Black Bear, too.

The Almost Heaven Amber and Cold Trail Ale were also excellent. If I ever stop by and they're out of stout, I won't be bothered at all to drink several ambers. The IPA was also nice, but considering my generaly dislike for IPAs, I would imagine me thinking it's nice would translate to a good/great beer for a pale ale lover.

The seasonal (sorry, can't remember the name) was also excellent! I ended up taking a growler of this and the stout home. When most people say you can taste the banana and cloves, you might get a hint of it. This one, the taste was all there!

I'm only sorry we wanted to get back home before they opened at 6:00. It would have been nice to catch some of the local musicians playing.

(08/21/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great So So Great

Establishment: Blackwater Brewing Company, Davis, WV

Stopped by here last week (Thurs, Aug 16th) on the way back from vacation. The food was very good. My rueben was thick and the beer bread was excellent. The two others with me said the pastrami and spaghetti were good, too.

Tried three beers. The Seneca Wheat was nice and refreshing. I usually prefer my wheat beers unfiltered, but it was still good. Nice aroma and coloring.

The Marzen was good, too. Nice copper color, good head and lace, excellent taste. The mixture of hops and malt was very good.

The best, though, was the Black Diamond Stout. This was excellent and well worth the side trip to get here. Great body, great aroma, great coloring (black as pitch). It had an excellent chocolate/coffee aftertaste that I reall enjoyed.

The only down sides were that the service, while passable, was not as friendly or timely as it could be. I was also disappointed that they didn't have any growlers on hand. I guess they order them from Germany, which is odd given West Virginia's glass history, but they are a partial-German style place.

(08/21/2007)














(0.054 seconds) 11:26:07 54.80.17.224, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS