PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from james stoodley
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 22, 2014 @ 03:29 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
james stoodley

Beer Reviews
(49)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

49
Beer Reviews from james stoodley
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Good Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Rogue Ales Public House, Portland, OR

I TRIED THE HAZELNUT BROWN, AND IT IS JUST THAT! HAZELNUTTY! THE HAZELNUT FLAVOR IS A BIT STRONG,AND WHEN IT HITS YOUR MOUTH YOU WILL THINK SO. BUT IT DOESN'T GET IN THE WAY OF ITS DRINKABILITY.

(11/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Oak Creek Brewing Company, Sedona, AZ

I DIDN'T GO TO THE BREWERY BUT I TRIED THE NUT BROWN ALE FROM A BOTTLE. IT WAS GOOD BUT NOT DISTINCTIVE. FLAVOR AND TEXTURE WAS GOOD. THERE WERE NO OFF FLAVORS, OR AROMA.VERY SMOOTH AND DRINKABLE.

(11/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Milly's Tavern was Stark Mill Brewing, Manchester, NH

ON THE SECOND TRIP. I STILL LOVE THE STOUT! I TRIED THE PUMPKIN ALE. IT IS VERY GOOD FOR ONE OF THOSE FRUITY, VEGGIE BEERS. THE PUMPKIN FLAVOR IS NOT OVER POWERING BUT IS VERY NOTICABLE.IT HAS A THIN, WATER LIKE MOUTH FEEL BUT IT DOES HAVE A HOPPY NOSE. I WISH THIS PLACE WOULD START SELLING GROWLERS!!(THE BAR MAID SAID THEY ARE COMING SOON)

(11/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Blue Star Brewing Company, San Antonio, TX

THIS PLACE IS THE BEST PLACE IN MY OPINION TO GO WHEN YOU ARE IN TEXAS!! THEIR BREWS ARE ALL AWESOME!!!THE STOUTS ARE BRILLIANT!!!!THE WAIT STAFF ARE SO FRIENDLY!!!!!LIONEL,JOY, AND MELONY WILL MAKE SURE YOUR NEED FOR PINTS ARE TAKEN CARE OF!!!!THE FOOD IS GOOD TOO!

(11/07/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Good So So

Establishment: Durty Nellie's, San Antonio, TX

THIS IS NOT AN IRISH PUB!LET ME SAY IT AGAIN! THIS IS NOT AN IRISH PUB!!!! OH IT LOOKS LIKE IT ON THE INSIDE. LOTS OF OAK,STONE FLOOR,FIRE PLACES.YOU CAN HAVE ALL THE BEER FROM THE BRITISH ISLES AND THE EMERALD ISLE AS LONG AS IT IS GUINNESS,HARP, OR BASS.AS FOR THE REST TAKE YOUR PICK FROM ANY CHEEP DOMESTIC. AND THE LIVE ENTERTAINMENT WAS VERY BAD!! A DRUNKEN PIANO PLAYER TELLING ONE LINERS AND SINGING OLD COWBOY SONGS.BETTER SUITED FOR A NIGHT CLUB IN LAS VEGAS. OVERALL A UNPLEASANT VISIT!!

(09/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Laboratory Brewing Company, San Antonio, TX

THIS PLACE HAS CHANGED ITS NAME TO THE LAB, AND IT IS A BAR THAT JUST HAPPENS TO MAKE IT OWN BEER. THE SIGN ON THE OUTSIDE SAID IT OPENED AT 11:00 BUT THE DOORS WERE LOCKED. WE WALKED AROUND TO THE BACK WHERE THERE WAS SOME GUY CLEANING AND ASKED IF THEY WERE OPEN. HIS RESPONCE:"WHY?,WHUTS UP?" I SAID "I WOULD LIKE TO TRY THE BEER". HE REPLIES "YOU WANT A BEER?, NAW MAN WE'RE CLOSED MAN, I THINK WE OPEN AT 3:00" MY RECOMENDATION... DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME AT THIS PLACE!!!!!!!

(09/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Blue Star Brewing Company, San Antonio, TX

AWESOME ALES! THE STOUTS ARE BRILLIANT! THE CHOCOLATE STOUT IS NO JOKE! IT IS SO SMOOTH AND GOOD!THE KING WILLIAM'S ALE(BARLEY WINE)AT 12% ABV IS SMOOTH AS WELL. NOT BITTER LIKE MOST BARLEY WINES! THE BREW MASTER HERE TAKES ALOT OF PRIDE IN HIS CRAFT. THE PLACE IS A BIT HARD TO LOCATE BUT IT IS WORTH THE HUNT!

(09/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Nimbus Brewing Company, Tucson, AZ

I DON'T DRINK TOO MUCH OTHER THAN STOUT AND PORTER BUT I TRIED THE PALE ALE. AND I WOULD HAVE TO SAY IT WAS GREAT! EXTREME HOP AROMA, AND VERY HOPPY TASTE!THIS PALE ALE IS FULL OF HOP!! SO MUCH IT MADE MY EYES WATER! VERY GOOD, AND STRONG PALE ALE!

(08/23/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Grant's Brewery Pub, Yakima, WA

HAVE ONLY HAD THE IMPERIAL STOUT. AND IT WAS THE BEST. DEFINITLY ON THE TOP TEN!

(08/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A N/A So So

Establishment: Gluek Brewing Company, Cold Spring, MN

I HAVE NEVER BEEN TO THE BREWERY, BUT I HAVE TRIED THE BEER. THEY BREW A SERIES OF BEERS UNDER THE JEREMIAH JAMES NAME.(WHICH ARE NOT LISTED ON THEIR WEB SITE)I HAD THEIR MAPLE STOUT. WHICH DIDN'T TASTE LIKE MAPLE, NOR DID IT TASTE LIKE STOUT.I WOULD CALL IT A DARK ALE WITH A MAPLE AROMA. IT HAD A THIN MOUTH FEEL. IT REMINDED ME MORE OF MICHELOB'S BLACK AND TAN.

(08/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So N/A N/A N/A So So

Establishment: Atlantic Coast Brewing, Boston, MA

I HAVE HAD THE PORTEROUT OF THE BOTTLE. IT WAS OVER CARBONATED.AS SOON AS I OPENED THE BOTTLE A HEAD STARTED TO BUILD.AND FORGET ABOUT POUR IT INTO A GLASS.THE HEAD JUST BILLOWED OVER THE TOP. AFTER IT FINALLY SETTLED I HAD ABOUT FOUR OR FIVE OUNCES LEFT IN MY PINT GLASS.THEN I WAS ABLE TO TASTE IT.THE PORTER WAS OK BUT THE BEER WAS SO CARBONATED IT GOT IN THE WAY OF THE FLAVOR. NOT ONE OF THE BEST I HAVE EVER HAD.AND NOT WORTH WAITIN TEN MINUTES FOR IT TO SETTLE.

(07/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A Great

Establishment: The Green Room was Mogollon Brewing, Flagstaff, AZ

I HAVE TRIED THE APACHE TROUT STOUT. IT HAS A FULL ROASTY/MALTY FLAVOR WITH A SMOOTH FINISH.DEFINITLY ON MY TOP TEN LIST OF STOUTS!

(07/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Rockies Brewing Company, Boulder, CO

I HAVE HAD THE STOUT. IT IS GOOD,BUT DOESN'T REALLY STAND OUT IN A CROWD.

(07/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Long Trail Brewing Company was Mountain Brewers, Bridgewater Corners, VT

OH MY,DO JUST WHAT THE BEAR IS DOING ON THE HIBERNATOR BOTTLE LABLE! SIT IN FRONT OF A FIRE ON A -5 DEGREE NEW ENGLAND WINTER NIGHT, AND SIP THIS INCREDIBLE ALE! THE DOUBLE BAG ALE IS VERY GOOD TOO! OH BUT TRY THE HIBERNATOR! I HAVE YET TO TRY THE STOUT?

(07/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So N/A N/A N/A So So

Establishment: Hyland's Orchard and Brewery, Sturbridge, MA

I DON'T KNOW MUCH ABOUT THIS BREWERY BUT I FOUND THEIR STURBRIDGE STOUT ONE DAY AND TRIED IT. I DON'T LIKE TO GIVE BAD REVIEWS,BUT I AM SORRY TO SAY THE STOUT WAS NOT SO GOOD. IT HAD A NICE DARK COLOR. AVERAGE HEAD RETENTION. BUT A THIN WATERY FLAVOR AND A BITTER FINISH. IT WAS IF THEY MISSED A STEP IN THE BREWING PROCESS.I WOULD SAY TO REVISE YOUR RECIPE AND TRY AGAIN, I WOULD LOVE TO GIVE IT A SECOND CHANCE.

(07/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Mercury Brewing Company, Ipswich, MA

I HAVE TRIED THE IPSWICH STOUT. AND IT IS VERY GOOD.FULL ROASTED FLAVOR WITH A SMOOTH MALT TEXTURE.

(07/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Massachusetts Bay Brewing Company, Boston, MA

I HAVE ONLY TRIED THE CATAMOUNT PORTER. IT HAS A GOOD ROBUST FLAVOR KEEPING WITH THE TRADITIONAL PORTER STYLE.

(07/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Biddy Mulligan's, Dover, NH

A GREAT PLACE TO HANG OUT! SET JUST BELOW STREET LEVEL IN ONE OF THE OLD MILLS ATOP THE COCHECO RIVER. GREAT SELECTION OF LOCAL MICROBREWS AND IMPORTS. LIVE MUSIC ALMOST EVERY NIGHT. ONE OF MY FAVORITE PLACES.

(07/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Sierra Nevada Brewing Company, Chico, CA

VERY GOOD PORTER AND STOUT! THE PALE ALE IS NOT SO SHABBY EITHER. THE BARLEY WINE WILL DEFINITLY PUT HAIR ON YOUR A... WELL LET US JUST SAY IT IS VERY STONG!

(07/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Rogue Ales Public House, Portland, OR

THEIR STOUT IS A CLASSIC!VERY TASTEFUL. I HAVE YET TO TRY THE PORTER,BUT I AM SURE IF THEY APPLY THE SAME DEVOTION TO QUALITY AS THEY SHOWED IN THE STOUT, I AM SURE IT WILL BE A HIT.

(07/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Shipyard Brewing Company, Portland, ME

I DON'T KNOW MUCH ABOUT THE SHIPYARD, BUT I HAVE HAD THE BLUE FIN STOUT. IT IS VERY GOOD BUT HARD TO FIND.I ASSUME BECAUSE THEY HAVE OTHER MORE POPULAR STYLES TO TAKE UP COOLER SPACE.

(07/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Boston Beer Company aka Samuel Adams, Boston, MA

THE CREAM STOUT IS A STAPLE!I FIND MYSELF ALWAYS GOING BACK FOR MORE.THEIR BOSTON LAGER IS SO-SO BUT I AM NOT MUCH OF A LAGER FAN SO MY OPINION IS BIAS. THE ALES ARE GREAT.AND THEY HAVE MANY STYLES.PLUS GOOD SEASONAL BREWS AS WELL. I WISH THEY NEVER KILLED THE HONEY PORTER,OR THE SCOTCH ALE.(WHICH WAS ONE OF THE BEST I HAVE EVER TASTED). THE BREWERY IS ALWAYS ON THE CUTTING EDGE OF BREWING TECHNOLOGY.

(07/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Wachusett Brewing Company, Westminster, MA

I AM CRAZY ABOUT PORTER AND STOUT!THE BLACK SHACK PORTER IS PERFECT. ESPECIALLY WHEN HAD AT 60 DEGREES OR SO.THE FLAVOR REALLY COMES OUT.YUM YUM.

(07/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: Anchor Brewing Company, San Francisco, CA

I TAKE MY HAT OFF TO ANCHOR FOR MAKING SUCH FINE PORTER MADE TO THE HIGHEST OF QUALITY.FIT FOR A KING AS WELL AS A...WELL PORTER!

(07/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Flying Dog Brewery, Denver, CO

I THINK THESE PEOPLE ARE CRAZY!BUT THEY SURE DO MAKE SOME GOOD PORTER!

(07/21/2002)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.276 seconds) 03:29:29 54.161.228.29, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS