PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from jenna
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 25, 2014 @ 10:11 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
jenna

Beer Reviews
(9)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

9
Beer Reviews from jenna
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Good Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great

Establishment: Lucky Labrador Public House, Portland, OR

Yes it can be noisy, but they let you bring your dog, and they have really good pizza. Like the Lucky Lab on Hawthorne food is kind of limited, but they have pizza and salads at this location. The beer is good, sometimes great- kind of depends on the batch. They had a really good IPA earlier this summer- nice and hoppy.

The building used to be a Mason's lodge. It is one open room with hardwood floors so noise tends to amplify. They do have outdoor seating but none of it is covered, unlike the Hawthorne Pub.

Great place for pizza and beer.

(07/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: McMenamins Market Street Pub, Portland, OR

It's very close to Portland State University, and has had the best service of any Mcmenamins I've been to. The beers are slightly above average, and food was good. Mostly it's convient, and the closest place to get a microbrew when at PSU.

(07/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Rogue Ales Public House, Portland, OR

Rogue ales have a wide variety of beers (something for everyone), unlike Deschutes who all tend towards the malty side, and Root's who's all tend towards the hoppy side. The food was great, although a bit expensive. They are in the Pearl District which is the re-vamped-industrial trendy part of town. My friend and I sat at the bar, and I think we had the best waitress ever. She was fairly knoweledgeable about the beers, and we sampled a number of them.

(07/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Portland, OR

I have to agree with Bob in Vancouver, it can be a total meat market in the evenings especially on Fridays and Saturdays. But if that is the scene you want; they have good beer, good food, and pool tables upstairs.

If you go during early happy hour, it's a bit quieter, and some of the food specials are excellent. We had a wonderful batch of nachos.

(07/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Widmer Brothers Brewing Company, Portland, OR

Typically their beers are very good, middle-weight, every balanced beers. They have both one the best beers I've ever had and one of the worst. The best was the Low-down ginger brown that they made for the Summer Brew Fest a few years ago. The beer was so popular that they would only sell it by the glass at the brewery. The worst was a sample of snowplow that I had this past winter. I'm not a fan of sweet beer.

The food is excellent. They have a really good deals on beer for happy hour, although it's limited to specific days. Oh, and the berry cobbler is awesome!

A very nice place to take people from out of town, and they also have tours of the brewery.

(07/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good

Establishment: BJ's Pizza, Grill and Brewery, Portland, OR

Bj's is kind of like the Red Robin of brewpubs. The food is good with enough variety that everyone can find something, but not outstanding. The beers are middle of the road, although they occasionally have an outstanding batch of whisky stout. Happy hour is a good deal. If you are in the area and hungry it's pretty good, but there are far bettter brewpubs in Portland.

(07/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!

Establishment: Rose and Raindrop, Portland, OR

They have one of the best beer selections in town, and for Portland that's saying something. The beers are typically local Pacific NW, but they also have a good selections of beers from California and a few from Colorado. Also they keep the usual imports on tap- Harp, Guniness, Newcastle Brown, that sort of thing. Food is good, typical pub fare, plus a few more interesting things. The oyster shooters are great. Service does get a bit slow when things are busy, but for the most part they have really comfy furniture. A great place to sit and enjoy a wide selection of beers.

(07/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Roots Organic Brewing, Portland, OR

Too Loud. I was there with a friend of mine in the early evening on cheap beer day, and it was already really loud. Outside isn't too bad, but there are not a lot of tables. The beer, particularly the Woody's IPA, is great. We had the IPA at another pub, and liked it so much we sought out the brewery. Like the Lucky Lab around the corner, they aren't much in the way of food. What they do have is all organic and limited to sandwiches, hummus and pita, and pretzels. It isn't a real big place, and it has very low lighting, but they make terrific big-flavor beer- lots of hops.

(07/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Good Great

Establishment: Lucky Labrador Brewing Company, Portland, OR

They let you bring you dog(s) but you do have to sit outside in back. Beers were great, really liked the IPA. The food selection is very limited; they have sandwiches and the occasional soup or chili. The food was very good, but this isn't the place if you like full meals with your beer. Also if you brew your own, or care to see it, they keep the brew book behind the bar.

(07/21/2006)














(0.057 seconds) 22:11:21 54.83.228.89, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS