PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from jeff rose
Other Reviews by this User
 
December 21, 2014 @ 11:29 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
jeff rose

Beer Reviews
(12)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

12
Beer Reviews from jeff rose
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Barclay's, Oakland, CA

Sorry to report that this location has been closed for around 6 months now. The Barclays on College Ave is still going strong...

(03/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: BJ's Restaurant and Brewery, Oxnard, CA

I knew BJ's is a SoCal chain, so I was not expecting great beer, but I was pleasantly surprised! They have some good beers at the Oxnard location, which is in stand-alone building a big mall complex. They have a sweet, nutty Brewhouse Blonde, and a solid Piranha Pale Ale. They have an excellent strong, scotchy Jeremiah Red ale, and a big, bitter IPA. And they have three dark beers. The classically-named and tasty Nutty Brewnette, an excellent creamy, roasty, full-bodied PM Porter, and a great roasty, sweet imperial Tatonka Stout. A very tasty range of brews!

(11/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Anacapa Brewing Company, Ventura , CA

This is a nice brewpub in a nice location, but I thought the beer was only slightly above average. They had a decent hefeweizen, a good pale ale, a dry, sour alt called Attitude Adjustment Ale, a good red ale, and an interesting Burnt Toast Brown.

(11/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Copper Canyon Brewery, Southfield, MI

I can't complain about the service, and I think this is a good brewpub. Their best beers are the Devil's Peak IPA and Northwestern Gold. They also have a good Copper Canyon Alt, Buffalo Jump Stout, Killer Canyon Porter, and Toasted Pale Ale. Also a sweet and rooty Root 696 for the kids!

(11/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Detroit Beer Company, Detroit, MI

We were there in September while back in town and really enjoyed it. The area has lots of construction going on, but it is probably fixed up by now. They had an excellent Detroit Red (toasty amber), Local 1529 IPA, and Dwarf Ale (roasty IPA) on tap. The Steamtunnel Stout was medium body and roasty. They also had Hot Town Wit and Broadway Light. A nice brewpub. I hope the downtown Detroit location makes it in the long run.

(11/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Lousy Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Six Rivers Brewery, McKinleyville, CA

Yes, this place is under new management, but they don't treat their customers very well. We were up in Humboldt visiting my wife's sister, and I was going to redeem a $20 gift certificate she had given me the last time we were in the area. Well these new owners would not honor it, even though it was a Six Rivers gift certificate. I was going to use it to buy one of their lousy shirts, but they would not honor a gift certificate with their name on it. What poor customer service. And this snub happened after having an excessively greasy dinner and mediocre beer. They did have 9 beers to choose from, but only 3 were above average. Their IPA was a decent pale ale, the Moonstone Porter had a nice roast, and the Kona Moon Porter with coffee added had lots of coffee roast. Save yourself the aggravation and go to the Lost Coast Brewery in Eureka instead.

(11/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Motor City Brewing Works, Detroit, MI

I have not been here since July 2002, but they have added a bar area with an outdoor upper deck. They have had several incarnations as a microbrewery. The beer was OK, a sweet lager, a roasty nut brown ale, and a summer-wheat-like pale ale. As a bonus, it is right across the street from the Traffic Jam, which was Michigan's first brewpub and is a great restaurant.

(01/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: K.C. Brewing Company was Wizard Brewing, San Leandro, CA

This microbrewery closed a few years ago. I only had one of the brews once at a festival, and it was strong but under-fermented or something. I heard that they were just very inconsistent and went under.

(01/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Drake's Brewing Company was Lind Brewing Company, San Leandro, CA

This is a micro-brewery that has an open-house every Friday afternoon, which draws a bunch of beer lovers hanging out outside and in the brewery warehouse. The beer is very good and hearty, and it is worth stopping by the unmarked blue building behind the Walmart. They usually have about 4 beers on tap. Drake's Blonde Ale which tastes like a pilsner. Drakes Amber Ale which is a solid, tasty California amber. Their flagship is the award-winning Drakes IPA, which has loads of flavor and alcohol. If you are lucky they will have their Expedition Ale, which is a dark, full-bodied IPA. They have a few other seasonals and a hefe-weizen.

(01/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: SLO Brewing Company, San Luis Obispo, CA

This was the first great California brewpub that I went to back in 1994. I finally made it back down this way, and the beer is still very good. We were in the upstairs pool hall part of the place. Some of their beers were average as opposed to 94, the wheat, the honey blonde, and the hemp ale which had no hemp flavor. But they had a very good Extra Pale Ale (totally different than the contract brewed bottled version), a solid Amber, and a very good full-bodied, very hoppy IPA. The Cole Porter was very roasty and malty, and the best of the bunch was their Oatmeal Stout.

(01/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: San Francisco Brewing Company, San Francisco, CA

This is one of my favorite brewpubs of all time! I can't believe there are so many poor reviews. The place is a hundred-year-old pub, so maybe people used to the nouveau chain breweries won't like it. The pub is kinda dark, but the bar is beautiful, and I love the rotating palm fans and listening to their stereophonic pings they make on a quiet day. The beer is excellent! I've never been there for an off batch. I usually start with the Emperor Norton Lager, a tasty amber lager with a bit of grainy malt and a nice hop finish. The ShanghaIPA is medium-bodied and dry with balanced hops, not as huge as some IPAs. They sometimes have Grace Darling Bock, a rare dark bock which has some dark graininess and plenty of hops; it is not a dopplebock, but quite tasty. The Gripman's Porter is a full-bodied, sweet, dark malty brew. The Alcatraz Stout is medium-full bodied, mildy roasty, and a bit drier and hoppier than the porter. Their Christmas Cheer is a must around the holidays. It is dark with lots of flavor and alcohol, approaching a barleywine. They usually have 6 to 8 different brews with a couple of rotating seasonals. I always try to stop by SFBC for a couple of pints when I'm near the North Beach area. Don't let those naysayers turn you off to this beer shrine.

(01/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Hops Restaurant and Brewery, Orange Park, FL

This place in a mall area of Clay County south of the Jax NAS. Clay County does not allow beer to be served on Sunday before 2pm, even during football season. I was there at 1:05pm. I had a Pepsi.

(01/07/2004)














(0.221 seconds) 11:29:50 54.89.36.189, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS