PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from jeff k
Other Reviews by this User
 
April 19, 2014 @ 05:24 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
jeff k

Beer Reviews
(28)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

28
Beer Reviews from jeff k
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Goose Island Beer Company - Wrigleyville, Chicago, IL

Stopped in a couple of weeks ago for lunch, brews and Cubs/White Sox game. The game wasn't at Wrigley so it wasn't too busy. I started with the sampler. Honker was great, as was the IPA-both true to form. I also enjoyed the Nut brown Ale, but have had better. They were out of a couple of the 'standard' brews, but they had several seasonal ones including the Imperial IPA and Summertime. Both those were good as well.

As far as food goes, I had a buffalo burger. Very good.

(06/01/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: The Church Brew Works, Pittsburgh , PA

Was in the 'Burgh for a wedding. Heard this is the place to go for great beer. Stopped in on a gloomy Sat afternoon. The place wasn't too busy, but then, this was at 3 in the afternoon. I would imagine the atmosphere is better during happy hour, late night, etc. I started with the Pipe Organ Pale. Excellent. Then I did the sampler. My favorite was the Pious Monk Dunkel but they were all very good. Highly recommended!

(08/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Great Good Good

Establishment: BrewZZi Microbrewery, Bakery and Pizza, Boca Raton, FL

GO HERE FOR THE FOOD!!!! The food and the service is very good.

Last time, I wasn't so harsh in my review of the beer. But, a recent experience confirms my dislike for the beer. All the beers are flat and tasteless. None had any body or flavor. The stout was like drinking black water. Seriously. The beer is bad. There are no other breweries in Boca. The closest thing to good draft beer in Boca is Wilt Chamberlain's. They have about 35 draft beers, ranging from domestics to imports like Warsteiner and Tucher.

(03/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Good Good

Establishment: Broad Ripple Brewing Company, Indianapolis, IN

I'm not quite sure what to make of all this stuff I'm reading...I've been here before, but if I never had been, all this talk is enough to stir my interest in checking it out. So, for those of you who are trying to get people to avoid this place, you're actually probably doing the opposite...

The beer happens to be very good. Any time I'm in Indy, I'll make a trip just for the beer. The food wasn't impressive. Its typical pub-style food. The service, which seems to be the only thing people are talking about, was fine. If the service was nearly as bad as what is being described, I would clearly remember it, even if it was quite a while ago. Last time I went, I sat at the bar, so maybe I got more attentive service there, but it didn't appear that patrons "on the floor" were being poorly treated or ignored.

(03/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So Good

Establishment: Broad Ripple Brewing Company, Indianapolis, IN

Euphoria probably isn't the correct word to use, and there isn't much atmosphere there. I've been to the place a few times. The service is "hit or miss". I've been in the restaurant biz before, if anyone knows what the industry is like, you'll know that its too tough to be hit or miss and a restaurant is only as good as the people that represent it. The server is the most crucial part of the operation-not the chef, cooks, manager. They are the customers only real contact (unless you include hostess) and they can set the tone for the entire dining experience. On many occasions, I've had lousy service and, despite having a good meal, didn't enjoy the experience because of the quality of service. I'm sure many of you have felt the same way. That being said, last time I was there, the service was better than the time before. The food is fair. Its typical pub food. Next time I'm in town, I'll go back. I probably won't eat though.

(01/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Lousy So So

Establishment: Heartland Brewery at Union Square, New York, NY

Actually Bernie, I am a former New Yorker. I ate at the bar. The bartender was very unfriendly. Just a miserable person. That itself can ruin the experience. The food was no better. I spend years in the hospitality/food service industry, and I understand that every restaurant can have an “off” night. But I’ve tried this place, and the other locations, a few times and didn’t enjoy it. There’s nothing worse than overpaying for lousy food. As far as the beer, I liked the Harvest Wheat and Oatmeal Stout the best. This place attracts a lot of tourists as well as the happy hour crowd. That’s what keeps it busy. Its not a “neighborhood” place at all. The owners don’t grab the concept of a brewpub. They seem to think that bigger (and louder) is better. Heartland has no charm or feel of a brewpub.

(10/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Great Good

Establishment: Barley's Smokehouse and Brewpub, Columbus, OH

I had been to the Barley's just north of downtown many times, but never to the brewhouse. The beer was great as ever, so was the service, but the food was a little disappointing. I'd go back for the beer, not so sure about food.

(09/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Good

Establishment: Granville Island Brewing Company, Limited, Vancouver, BC

The lager is a classic Bavarian brew. Slighly hoppy, full bodied. Goes down easy. Very nice. The Amber and Pale Ale are also well craftet beers. I wasn't too crazy about the atmosphere, which is a bit generic and sterile. Doesn't have the feel of a true brewpub. Neverless, there is good beer to be had here. Worth a visit while in Vancouver, but I still prefer Steamworks and Yaletown Brewing.

(08/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Good

Establishment: Red Dog Saloon, Juneau, AK

Red Dog, a fun place to be sure, is definetely a tourist trap. Its an old-style Western saloon. Floor is covered with Sawdust, servers and bartenders cop a pseudo-attitude, etc. The prices are outrageous! $5.50 for a pint-and this is Alaska, not NYC! Granted, they carry fresh brews from Alaskan Brewing Company, which are very good beers. Its worth a stop for a beer. We didn't try the food, but it didn't look all that good anyway.

(08/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great

Establishment: Steamers Restaurant, Ketchikan, AK

Food took a little while to come out, but it was good. Beer selection is great. They have at least 50 different beers on tap, including local brews and several from the Northwest breweries. Atmosphere is very pleasent as well. If you try the Silver Gulch sampler, you get a free t-shirt. Not a bad deal!

(08/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Steamworks Brewing Company, Vancouver, BC

A very good brewery! I tried the sampler... Skinny Tire Hefeweizen-A crisp, refreshing beer that was among the best Weizens that I've had. Signiture Pale-Very good. Slightly malty with a spicy finish. Empress IPA-Full bodied flavor, slightly bitter and malty. Nirvana Nut Brown Ale-If there is any reason to frequent this place, its for this beer. Awesome!! Heroica Oatmeal Stout-It has a dry, roasted flavor to it. Very good!

Definetely worth a visit.

(08/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So So So So So

Establishment: Fort Lauderdale Ale House, Fort Lauderdale, FL

If you've been to 1 Ale House, you've been to 'em all. Food is so so. Service is fair. Beer isn't much better.

(07/31/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Arbor Brewing Company, Ann Arbor, MI

Being a graduate of Ohio State, I didn't think there would be anything to like about Ann Arbor...

I was wrong. ABC is a great place. Beers are fresh and tasty, as is the food. Service was very good as well. Recommended!

(07/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Lousy N/A N/A

Establishment: Hooter's, Saint Louis, MO

I agree, Steve. Unnecessary. Hooters is for fat guys to adore the girls while the devour hot wings and guzzle miller lite by the pitcher. Not for beer enthusiasts.

(07/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Broad Ripple Brewing Company, Indianapolis, IN

Beers were exceptional, Food was not. Though decent, I was disappointed with the food. Very generic-no creativity at all. Kind of like eating at any sports bar. The atmosphere was nice; friendly customers and staff, kind of dark inside, definetely not fancy. Its located off the beaten path in Broadripple which is a funky section on the northeast side of Indy. Its their Greenwich Village. I'll go back for beer, not so sure if I'll eat....

(07/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Santa Barbara Brewing Company and Restaurant, Santa Barbara, CA

Everything about this place is great.

I sampled just about all the beers and, at worst, they were all very good!! The food was just as good too. The staff were very friendly, professional and knew a little about their beer!

If you are in the area, definetely check out SBBC.

(06/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Columbus Brewing Company, Columbus, OH

Overall, a pretty good establishment. This is one of Cameron Mitchell's restaurants. Mitchell is a giant in the food service biz in Columbus, so you pay a little extra for the "privaledge" of dining at one of his places...Its a bit trendy..Food is quite good, as is the presentation...Servers were friendly, although most (a lot of OSU students) didn't know a lot about beer---I can live with that though...The Pale Ale was my favorite. Apricot was nice, not too sweet.

Though, I have nothing bad to say about CBC, I would recommend going to Barley's--the best brewpub in Columbus!

(06/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Slaughtered Lamb, New York, NY

Not a bad place to have a few beers. we sat downstairs...It has the feel of a dungeon. Pretty cool atmosphere...Beers are slightly overpriced...Not a place to hang out all night but to start out. Any place named the Slaughtered Lamb is at least worth checking out...

(06/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Otto Brothers' Brewing Company, Jackson Hole, WY

Teton Ale is my favorite of theirs. Moose Juice Stout (Great name!) is also very good.

(06/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: BrewZZi Microbrewery, Bakery and Pizza, Boca Raton, FL

Not the best place for beer. The lighter beers are pretty decent. Pale Ale is fairly weak, as is the Stout, which is the weakest stout I've had.

Go here for the food. They have a pretty extensive menu, the food is usually quite good and the portions are huge! They've got a "Mile High" meatloaf that literally is a mile high. Very generous portions...

A couple of pints and a burger will cost over $20. Its a little pricey, but thats what you'd expect in Boca!

(06/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Great Lakes Brewing Company, Cleveland, OH

Hey Jake from Perrysburg, GLBC is not even the best brewpub in Ohio, let alone the country. Barley's (Columbus) takes the cake as the best brewpub in Ohio. Barley's offers an absolutely fantastic selection of truly great beers and seasonal brews, not to mention an eclectic and creative menu.

Don't get me wrong, GLBC is great. When you're in Cleveland, this is the place to visit.

(06/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Good So So

Establishment: Hops Restaurant and Brewery, Orlando, FL

If you've been to one Hops, you've been to 'em all! Hops is a chain restaurant, in the style of TGI Friday's, that happens to make beer. The food, although better than friday's, isn't anything special. The beers aren't particuraly great. They aren't horrible either, but if you're looking for a great brewpub, Hops isn't it.

(06/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Big Bear Brewing Company, Coral Springs, FL

Great place! The food is quite good, reasonably priced and the service has always been great. The beers are great. All of them. Definetely worth a visit if you are in the area!!

(06/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Alcatraz Brewing Company, Indianapolis, IN

The food was ok. A little overpriced. The place has the feel of a chain restaurant, not a brewpub. The beers were nothing particuraly great.

(06/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Barley's Brewing Company, Columbus, OH

If you are in Columbus, don't not miss Barley's. This is the best place in town. Barley's is a true beer pub, not a chain restaurant that happens to make beer. The term "brewery" has become so generic, and many people think that if says brewery in the name, the beer must be good.

There aren't many great places like this.

They serve high quality beer and great food--not typical pub food (like Friday's, etc.) The Scottish Ale is terrific. Though all the beers are great, and they continually make seasonal brews, the other standouts are the Pale Ale, Pilsner, Russian Stout and the IPA. I wish a place like this existed in South Florida. I used to frequent Barley's often when I was a student at Ohio State. I still get to Columbus a few times a year and always hit Barley's. A must!

(06/09/2003)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.126 seconds) 05:24:15 54.82.1.136, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS