PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from jeff miller
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 22, 2014 @ 07:30 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
jeff miller

Beer Reviews
(9)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

9
Beer Reviews from jeff miller
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Lousy Lousy So So

Establishment: Coach's at the Bricktown Ballpark, Oklahoma City, OK

First, the good. The Sooner stout, Harvester wheat and Hefe were all very good. The IPA was good but not great. The brown, amber and pale ales were also good but not outstanding.

My bacon cheeseburger was possibly the worst burger I've ever had - how do you mess up a burger? Tasted like it had sat on the counter for about a week. My wife's BBQ pork sandwich was tasteless but better than the ptomaine burger.

The waitress was a delicate combination of rude, oblivious and ignorant. When we got her attention every half hour, she was very put out to deal with us. She brought my beer sampler and set them down saying "This is some kind of beer...this is another beer".

The beer was good but not good enough for me to go back. Watching the game from the patio was pretty cool, though.

(05/29/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Max Lager's American Grill and Brewery, Atlanta, GA

Beer was very good, if a little similar. The Max Gold and Red tasted somewhat the same but the Pale and Black were distinctive and tasty. As always, my favorite was the IPA. Excellent! My wife's a dark beer girl and enjoyed the Max Black, even if it wasn't as heavily bodied as her favorite stouts.

My BBQ pork sandwich was great. The fish my wife ordered was black and blue (burned on the outside, raw on the inside) but the pizza they brought after that was good.

Service was quick and friendly.

(12/06/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Good Great

Establishment: 21st Amendment Brewery, San Francisco, CA

Once again, good beer trumps medicore food and service. That seems to be a recurring theme with a lot of brewpubs I find. The service wasn't awful, just not the friendly kind I'm used to in the South. And the food was in line with a high school cafeteria. Edible, but not memorable.

Ahh, but the beer! The pale ale and blond were good. But what stood out was the stout, IPA and the watermelon wheat. The IPA was as good as I have had (and I love IPAs). I usually shun fruity beers but the watermelon wheat was fantastic! I was only there on a short trip but why oh why didn't I find a way to bring back some cans of those two?!

(12/06/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So So So Good

Establishment: Blue Star Brewing Company, San Antonio, TX

Had the beer sampler and was not disappointed in any of them. The best was the pale ale (oddly more hoppy and flavorful than the IPA - which was still good). The cask ale was a close second but all were great. The beers alone are worth the trip. Excellent!

We only had appetizers but the portions were skimpy. The service was inattentive and the table next to us got up and left after being ignored for 10-15 minutes.

The beers are first-rate and that's the most important thing but the poor service and surrounding area keep me from rating Blue Star higher.

(03/31/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Hog Haus Brewing Company, Fayetteville, AR

The service and food is greatly improved from the old Ozark Brewing Co days. I did not have time to try too many beers but the Scout stout is very good and the Hogtoberfest last year was excellent.

The only room for improvement is in the beer selection. Maybe a few less generic lighter/wheat type beers and more specialty beers like porters and IPAs. And bring back the Hogtoberfest.

Well, and quit serving the stout so cold! Mine had ice chunks in the glass. But it was great once it warmed up.

(10/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy So So Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Hermann Brewing Company, Hermann, MO

Like everybody on PubCrawler, I love microbrews and respect the folks that give it a go. I hate to be negative when there's beer involved! With that said, I've never been more disappointed with a brew pub.

I was there shortly before Octoberfest and I guess HBC was putting all their energy into those brews. Only thing on tap was the 1804 and Hermann Ale which tasted identical (both very bland) and an overwhelming cherry wheat. No stouts, porters, ipa, hefeweizen, octoberfest, nothing!

Pizza was a cut below Red Baron and the waiter acted like I had insulted his family at some point. From what I observed, all the other employees acted the same. What's with the attitude?

Maybe I just caught them on a bad night as I had heard some positive things about the HBC. My wife and I plan to return to Hermann (beautiful town!) but I'll just bring my own beer and skip the HBC.

(10/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So So So Good Good

Establishment: Augusta Brewing Company, Augusta, MO

My wife and I stopped by on an unusually cool September day. That's why I was disappointed that they had absolutely no stouts or porters - I guess they were waiting until later in the fall. No IPA, either.

The Octoberfest made up for a lot. Probably the best I've ever had. The hefeweizen was a little too authentic with the banana/clove flavor. I know that's the way they are supposed to be, just not my taste.

Service was good but the pork sandwich was straight out of a can and the hamburger reminded me of the school cafeteria.

Scenery/setting is fantastic. I would love to go back when they have a bigger selection of beer.

(10/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Great

Establishment: Legend Brewing Company, Richmond, VA

The porter and brown ale were fantastic - the best of any I've had. The IPA was disappointing and not very hoppy or flavorful. The Pilsner tasted more like an IPA than the real thing, but it was a very good beer.

The food (prime rib sandwich, chicken sandwich) were not spectacular but definitely edible. Our waitress seemed to be heavily medicated.

The outdoor seating by the river is very nice and a perfect place for having a few porters and pilsners.

(06/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: 75th Street Brewery, Kansas City, MO

I did not have the problems that other reviewers have had (dirty bathrooms, bad service, etc.). Most of the beers were good, not great, but the IPA and stout made up for them. Excellent! I would highly recommend those two and skip the rest. Food - fish and chips and the cajun catfish - was fantastic. Service was prompt and attentive.

(05/12/2004)














(0.075 seconds) 19:30:29 54.161.236.92, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS