PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from justin hochgesang
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 28, 2014 @ 01:27 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
justin hochgesang

Beer Reviews
(4)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

4
Beer Reviews from justin hochgesang
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Good Great Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A N/A So So

Establishment: Ithaca Beer Company, Ithaca, NY

*Sorry about the previous post* I feel bad posting a review that is not so good about the local beer, but I really don't like it too much. I have had it on tap and in the bottle and I believe that the majority of their brews are lacking in flavor. I find the taste to be somewhat watery, and that they all have an odd fruity taste, most likely from the yeast, that does not compliment the beer. I'm not a huge fan of fruit beers, but I would suggest trying the Apricot Wheat.

(10/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Chapter House, Ithaca, NY

This is a great bar. A lot of people are turned off by the somewhat grungy look of this place, but I like it. It is a no frills bar, it's very comfortable and the beer selection is huge with most of it being on tap. It is roomy on the inside and is a great place to hang out. Aparently they used to make their own brews, but now they don't (bummer.) There are good local beers available (Ithaca Brewing Company and Wagner Valley.)

(10/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy Good Great So So

Establishment: Bootleggers, Plattsburgh, NY

The best thing about the place was the service, which was pleasent and quick. I tried 3 out of 4 of their beers (they were out of 2 or 3 beers): the Red Ale, the Brown Ale and the Blueberry ale. The Red Ale and Brown Ale were suprisingly tastless, tasting about the same: Watery, not much malt flavor, and a weird fruityness probably from the yeast that should have been overwhelmed by the other flavors. This in turn actually worked out for the Blueberry, but it still wasn't that great of a beer. The food was good, not great, but good. Their menu was quite large but didn't offer that many things cooked with beer which is what I like to see at a brew pub. My suggestion is if you want to go to this place for beer, DON'T. This was easily the worst brew pub I have ever been to (sorry to hurt anybody's feelings.)

(04/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So N/A Good Good

Establishment: Gilded Otter, New Paltz, NY

For the quality of the beer I would actually have to mark it at 2 1/2 (between SoSo and Good.) The first thing that struck me was that the beer had very little body and all of it was quite watery tasting. This lack of body also lead to lack of mouthfeel and the beer could have been a lot better. I only got the sampler because I was only going to be in the bar for a short while, after the sampler I decided to skip the pint or two I was going to have. Because I only had the sampler I will not go into depth about any single beer. The best of the bland was the imperial stout, but I should have been much richer. The bock wasn't too bad either. The interior to this place was pleasing with a spruced up lodge kind of feel to it. I didn't try the food, but it did look pretty good (hopefully it was better than the beer.)

(03/13/2003)














(0.049 seconds) 01:27:37 54.80.100.90, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS