PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from jt
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 30, 2014 @ 06:59 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
jt

Beer Reviews
(14)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

14
Beer Reviews from jt
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Good Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Great Adirondack Brewing Company, Lake Placid, NY

Had the Ausable Wulff Red Ale at recent TAP NY. An awesome ale in an American style. American hops can be rough and sharp in contrast to the soft English hops. This ale has the spicy floral and citrus characteristics of American hops, but without the sharpness. Have been to the BP in Lk Placid,look forward to it this summer. Great experience in all respects. A great place to fuel up before and relax after fishing the Ausable River. the Ausable River. (

(05/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: C.H. Evans Brewing - The Albany Pump Station, Albany, NY

Visited Sunday, 3/21, for victuals and grog before Palace tie-dye gathering Tasted the Kick Ass brown, awesome as usual, although this tasting a little more hoppy (See my previous review), and the Kolsch (not one of my preferred styles). BUT this Kolsch (German ale, which is fermented at lower temps than English ales, as I understand it) is AWESOME. Much of the Kolsch I've tasted is fruity with a clove note. I prefer a more neutral palate in beer. (I'm a lager guy) This Kolsch has lager character with a hint of spicey-ness. Paired wonderfully with their excellent Thai peanut wings. The service was awesome. Twenty+ at the bar, one server. She is a total pro. Just an awesome experience overall! (Of course the pre-concert clientele made it a little more special) Great atmosphere, music. (Just wish this place didn't close so early on Sunday (8 pm?!)Needed a post concert cool down.)

(03/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great N/A Good N/A

Establishment: Hyde Park Brewing Company, Hyde Park, NY

This visit: Tasted the "S.O.B." (ESB type) Thin bodied, not much more than hoppy water. Little malt character. Porter--not much character. This place is hit or miss. Not on my A and B lists of BPs. There are too many uncertainties in life as it is. I drink beer to escape. If it's a poison I need to ingest now and then to stay sane, it better taste good, damnit! Is this place trying to accomodate the mass market drinkers? One piece of evidence for that is the number of TVs. Get it together, guys. P.S. For great beer, go southon Rt 9 about 6 miles to "Half Moon" retail and its beer bar next door. A candy store of beer and with growlers to go.

(03/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Keegan Ales, Kingston, NY

Technically speaking, very well made beers. From an artistic standpoint, not distinguished. "Old Capital" very similar to Sierra Pale. "Mother's Milk Stout" although delicious, was not extraordinary. (Third product, "Kitty IPA", not available at the restaurant) But it's nice to have great local products available. These are beers worth seeking out.

(02/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Great

Establishment: Gilded Otter, New Paltz, NY

Made a quick stop here for a nightcap. (In a less hysterical era it would be "one for the road") Had the Schwarzbier Lager ("Black beer"- slightly less alcohol) Delicious, hit the spot on a very cold night. Coffee note, smooth and medium body. Mild hopiness.

(02/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Hyde Park Brewing Company, Hyde Park, NY

Let me clarify my previous review. Re: beer quality for 2 of the three products was indeed GREAT. In past visits the quality has ranged from so-so to great depending on style of brew. Some of the brews can be a bit thin-bodied and scaled down for my taste

(02/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Good

Establishment: Hyde Park Brewing Company, Hyde Park, NY

Visited 2/8/04. Had 3 products: Winkles Pilsener, SOB Ale, Chaos Dry Stout. I'll begin with the good. The SOB Ale was close to awesome. Great taste profile and balance of malt and hops with a smooth and medium body. Could drink a lot of this. The dry stout was great. Light body, dry (not Guiness dry), with an espresso note. Very enjoyable. The Winkles pilsener was a disappointment (so-so). Its only redeeming quality was smoothness of body. It is nearly devoid of the pilsener features of mild maltiness and the herbalness of Saaz hops. This tasting had a front palate of "city water", an empty mid palate, and finished with just a trace of any character. I've had this product on previous visits and found it lacking in one feature or another. The food is great and moderately priced. Service was good, but even with few customers in the place at the time the bartender had an attention lapse or two. Overall, very good place, nice ambience, but the TVs--at least 4 in the bar area--could produce a "sports bar" atmosphere.

(02/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Gilded Otter, New Paltz, NY

Visited this past WE (1/25). (Many visits over the years and beers range from so-so to great, getting better. This visit had the English mild ("session" beer, delicate, low ABV; forgot its "ID"). Quite good, but perhaps finishes w/ too much of hop bite for the style. Next on tap, the BP's flagship brew, "Crimson Lager"--excellent-- moderate body, nicely balanced flavor profile, but again a bit of a hop bite on the finish. Last, the Imperial Stout, excellent, rich, thick, slight sweetness (just right for me in this style) 9% ABV, flavor profile nicely balanced for the style. But, again, a hop bite on finish. Food is quite good, but pricey and menu does not offer small items, e.g., fries, rings, chips, and nothing under $ 4.95. Had a bowl of very good garlic soup ($4.95) But serving was a spoon more than cup size Average price appetizer or snack is $7. Does have happy hour on Fridays w/complimentary wings, nachos and such. Love the building and ambience. Service is usually prompt and knowledgable, but in a college town there can be some immature attitudes behind the bar. Place is certainly worth many visits. But it is not on my BP "A" list.

(01/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Baltimore Brewing Company, Baltimore, MD

In every respect one of the top 5 BPs in USA. And the Pils, oh, THE Pils! Perfect balance of malt and Saaz hops, moderate body, clean and smooth. I've been going here since 1992, and visit several times each year. For a few years, ca. 2000, place fell off a bit in product and atmosphere. But, last visit, December 03, it's back to where it belongs. (Most of pool tables gone, thank God.) Try the chicken wings with the Marzen or Dunkels.

(01/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: C.H. Evans Brewing - The Albany Pump Station, Albany, NY

This BP's signature product, "Kick Ass Brown Ale", although not in the traditional English brown ale style is, nonetheless, awesome. Beautiful marriage and balance of malt and hops. In the top 5 of my favorite beers. The porter and the "winter warmer" are excellent: Porter has a smoky bourbon note, clean, SMOOTH, moderate body. Winter warmer, touch of malty sweetness, rich body, moderate hoppiness. The "Vienna style lager" did not measure up. Flat (this pour) and not to style. The "style" designation made me suspicious at the start. The flavor was too estery (fruity) to be a lager. I suspect that this brew was made with ale yeast at lager temperatures (cold) to make an ale "suggestive" of a lager. My experience with the "style" designation has usually been disappointing. It's not the real deal and it shows. Also, either a BP is a lager house or an ale house. Rarely have I found one that makes both equally great.

(01/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Madison Brewing Company, Bennington, VT

I visit this place usually once a year. Beers are good to great. Had the English Pale. Great! I don't understand the bad reviews. No wait, I do. If you're looking for hops and more hops, you're in the wrong place. The beer I had was balanced, flavorful, with smooth body and complete palate. As I read through other reviews of other pubs I infer that the "hopheads" write most of them. Nothing wrong with a hoppy beer brewed to style. But does the hop factor need to be the guiding criterion for all beers?

(06/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Malt River Brewing Company, Latham, NY

When this place is on, it is great. And when it's off, it's much less. (It's usually on) Beers are well made, have character, balanced features. Favorite is the pilsner (German style) The two ales I've tasted ("Albany..." and "Malt River...", {Go to this BP's homepage) are quite good. They have hand-pumps (cask conditioned?) but are often out of product. The service can be prompt and knowledgeable, but I have experienced otherwise. Stay with the finger foods, which are quite good. Entrees can be a problem service-wise (late, cold) The location is regrettable--shopping mall. Easy to get to, but..a mall? Incosistency across the board (incl. restroom condition) is the downside to this place. But it's worth a visit on a Sat or Sun afternoon.

(06/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Good Good Good

Establishment: Olde Erie Brew Pub and Grille, Middletown, NY

This place is NOT a true BP; it has never brewed its own beer. Occasionally it offers an undistinguished (quality) contract brew. Food can be very good (great fish and fries). Nice ambience (railroad memorabilia) and live music (blues) Has a line of standard micro taps. But it's not a PB

(06/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good So So Good

Establishment: Gilded Otter, New Paltz, NY

This place presents two of my beer/

(03/03/2003)














(0.206 seconds) 18:59:24 54.161.202.106, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS