PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from j.s.
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 21, 2014 @ 05:07 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
j.s.

Beer Reviews
(6)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

6
Beer Reviews from j.s.
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Awesome! Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Lewiston Brew House, Lewiston, NY

Was in Lewiston over Labor Day weekend and have confirmed that this place is defunct as I had suspected. The previous reviews must have been based on visits that occured many months before. Looks like a new business will be opening in this space soon. Hopefully they will have a good beer selection.

(09/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Lewiston Brew House, Lewiston, NY

Can anyone confirm if this place still exists? I was under the impression that contents were dispersed in a bankruptcy auction sometime around spring 2004. Hope I'm wrong as I visited Labor Day weekend 2003 and did enjoy this place.

(08/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A Great So So

Establishment: Barnstormers, Henrietta, NY

Visited here for the first time in about 8 years on 7/24 after reading about their 2 for 1 daily happy hour. What a major disappointment for a place that once was a beer mecca. 8 taps in use with only one micro (Custom Brewcrafters English Pale Ale). All the rest were mainstream swill. Noticed 9 unused taps on the draft system which the bartender explained would no longer be used as they can not have any more kegs go bad as the beer would not sell. Probably will not be coming back anytime soon unless I am really desperate. MacGregor's is only about a mile down the road and they will continue to get most of my business. NOTE TO LEW BRYSON: Please don't tarnish your great book by including this place. Things have changed since you visited.

(07/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Four Sons Brewery, Titusville, PA

I read about this place in the Great Lakes Brewing News and made a visit on July 3rd for beers and dinner after touring Southern Tier Brewery (Lakewood, NY). Odd location for a brewpub being located in kind of an out of the way location. It was not an easy "straight shot" route to get there by any means. Was all worth the while though. Nice building with nice bartenders and six house beers on tap. They normally have 7 but were out of one. I ordered the beer sampler and found the beers to be interesting and unique in flavor. None of them stood out as being super outstanding but none were disappointing either. They were all good or better. Wish that they had a beer for the "hopheads" as the pale ale was only mildly hopped. When we asked for a menu we were warned upfront that there was a "problem" with the kitchen and that full dinners would not be available, only sandwiches and appetizers. I had a pulled pork sandwich and my friends had stuffed mushrooms and some sort of boneless type chicken wings. We were all very satisfied with the food and found it to be a good value for the price. I enjoyed my visit and give it "2 thumbs up!". I hope that the locals understand what they have and give this place lots of support in order to make this place successful in this location.

(07/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Southern Tier Brewing Company, Lakewood, NY

Visited 7/3/04 for a tour and some tastings. Matt the brewmaster was the tour guide. For having been in business for only about 1 1/2 years these guys have established themselves as what I would consider to be the top craft brewery in upstate NY. I especially like their IPA. Big on hops just the way I like it. All of their beers are tasty and are distributed in a wide area. Tours are done only on Saturday 2 to 5pm. Well worth the trip. Keep up the good job guys!

(07/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: Ellicottville Brewing Company, Ellicottville, NY

Stopped for lunch and some beers on 7/2/04. The 2 Brothers Pale Ale rocks! The food was good but portions were small and price was high. Not really a good value for what we paid. Love the atmosphere of this place. The bartender was super friendly and knew his stuff. Will be back when in the area again. Beware: Parking can be tough. You may have to circle the streets to find an open parking spot.

(07/14/2004)














(0.108 seconds) 17:07:09 54.226.7.15, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS