PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from mike p
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 23, 2014 @ 08:29 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
mike p

Beer Reviews
(28)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

28
Beer Reviews from mike p
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Great So So Good Good

Establishment: Galway Tribes Irish Pub and Ale House, Frankfort, IL

its gone! Done! beer selection was good,food was nothing special(been there quite a few times too)Ya cant build a zillion dollar pub,have 50 employees a day scramblin around and expect to make any kind of profit.Duh!

(01/21/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Great Great

Establishment: Broad Ripple Brewing Company, Indianapolis, IN

My bro lives there and we usually stop.Stopped in today.Been there a hundred times.Always good service,decent food.Always get the cheese crock and bread appetizer.scottish eggs are pretty good.Most of the beers are good.No wheat beer.Darn!Whats with having to have a hostess seat you now.You cant walk in and just go to the bar which was empty,you have to wait outside for a hostess.Thumbs down.And whats up with that oder in there.I think its that hundred year old carpet.Smells like a dirty old wet sour unbathed hound dog.will be back soon!

(08/23/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: Grumpy Troll Restuarant and Brewery, Mount Horeb, WI

I started out with a wheat and it was very good.Finally someone that can make a good wheat beer.I thought the porter tasted more like a stout.Was good.Friends sampled all the beers and really liked them.I thought the rye bock was the best.Very unique,Hearty,malty and a little sweet.Great beer!Gotta make me some soon.Bartender was very friendly and served us well.Food menu was different and a step up from pub food.Nice bright place in a nice town.Took a glowler home,and would come back.

(06/01/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Great Dane Pub and Brewing Company, Madison, WI

I started out with there oatmeal stout and was very pleased.Nice creamy head which lasted till the end,very smooth,dry and slightly sweet. A little on the thin side.Drinkem all night.Tryed a few more samples and cant recall the names but very good except for the wheat.Too tart and an unpleasing taste.We all enjoyed the beer.Didnt get any food.Bartender was very nice and service was good.Huge very nice place with big out door area.Suprised at the amount of fine females to gander and ponder at.Took a growler home and would come back.

(06/01/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Brewhaus, Springfield, IL

If you cant find a beer that you like here,you should be beat over the head.This bar has it all. Its a little hard finding the place but worth the hunt.It was a monday and slow.Bring your reading glasses cuz there is over a hundred fine beers on the menu.Kitchen was not open which sucked.We ordered some pizza from a local place,which we were told was great. Blah! They need to visit chicago area and take some lessons on how a real pie tastes.The guy bartender was very good,and that gorgeous little Aron,man what a little sweet thing.Without the food I give this place an all thumbs up.Hope I make it back.

(05/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A So So Great

Establishment: Goose Island Beer Company - Wrigleyville, Chicago, IL

Finally made it after all these years!I had the ESB and it was excellent.Oatmeal stout,IPA,and honkers are all high quality made beers.Not to crazy about the wheat. Bartender could have been a tiny bit social or maybe smiled once.Nice old gutted out brick building.Did not stay for food.Would like to come back and stay a while longer.

(05/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great

Establishment: Lafayette Brewing Company, Lafayette, IN

Once again another satisfying visit to the LBC. A fine pint of oatmeal stout and scottish eggs Oh Ya!

(03/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Oaken Barrel Brewing Company, Greenwood, IN

Stopped in with 4 people before seeing joe bonamassa kick some ass!! place was empty on monday,so the service was great.The beer was excellent! Cajun strips were soo tender,and the cajun shrimp and rice dish was very tasty.Everyone enjoyed there meals and beer.I would definetly come back.

(03/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Sand Creek Brewing Company, Black River Falls, WI

Im enjoying an oscars chocolate oatmeal stout at this very moment!mmm delish.Got the recipe,made 11 gal and cant wait to try it.

(12/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great

Establishment: LogJam Microbrewery, Tomahawk, WI

Axe handle was the best.Nut brown was good.I think he had a stout too.All were well done and drunkable.No hoppy beer at all.Sure ill stop back.

(10/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great So So Awesome! Great

Establishment: Hereford and Hops, Wausau, WI

Stopped in around noon.Not crowded. Had the sampler rail and some. Enjoyed every one except fruit!Blah.. The rye was fantastic,my favorite.He just tapped a hefe-weisen when i was ready to leave.So i didnt leave and glad I did.Great job.Average food,nice bartender and service.Will go back..

(10/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Kuhnhenn Brewing Company, Warren, MI

A buddy was there last week and said all beers were excellent.He got pretty toasted and forgot what growler full of beer he bought back for me to consume,which I am enjoying this very second!Awsome!This is a dead ringer for a Three Floyd's Gumball Wheat.SOOO good!

(07/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Three Floyds Brewing Company, Munster, IN

Went there with a few freinds yesterday.Gotta look real close to find the place.Industrial building.Tried all the beers they had available and then tried em again. Well done! Alpha king Pale ale is still my favorite.The Bartender (I forgot her name) was very nice and helpfull. Was really looking forward to sampling the gumball wheat. Said it was seasonal,which I cant possibly understand why because wheatbeers are so delicious when done right.Had a good time and a good buzz! Basically your just standing around inside a warehouse holding a plastic cup of fine beer bullshiting with everyone.Kinda like a kegger party.Maybe thats why I liked it so much.Brewpub in front still not completed.Come on floyd brothers,lets get a move on! Will be back a few times for a brew and to check on the pub.Nice growlers!

(02/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Flossmoor Station Brewing Company, Flossmoor, IL

Ok!Had to stop in today. IPA was excellent! MMM... Grapefruity.Honey ale was very scary easy drinkin.Wheat ale was good and smooth but too tart for my taste.Red still my favorite,comes real close to an ESB.Mai ??? strong,too sweet,but The mouth feel and drinkability was pleasant.Nut brown was good,but too close to the stout.Every beer was very drinkable.fruit beers too fruity for me.Great job brewmaster.Soup was excellent,Service great,Parked right in front.see ya soon.

(12/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Lafayette Brewing Company, Lafayette, IN

my friend said the pale ale tasted a little chemicaly.I had the wheat and it was too tart for me but easy drinkin. Then the 85,Thin but excellent!We tried all the other beers except the common ale.Great job.Bitter was my favorite.Took a growler of that stuff.Nice malty beers. enjoyed every one.Nice bar,service was good. appetizer wasnt bad.I would go back.

(12/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Aberdeen Brewing Company, Valparaiso, IN

It wasnt a brew pub!It was a place for all the wealthy ,yuppie shitstains to go after there golf or tennis game.Pale ale was not good,No wheat beer.atmosphere sucked!.Dont go unless you bring your BMW and your little country club shirt with the anchor on it.

(12/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Hereford and Hops, Escanaba, MI

went there begining of summer.beer was very drinkable,service was good,stuffed mushrooms and crab cakes were awsome.i would go back

(12/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Black Forest Brau Keller, Frankenmuth, MI

Beer was excellent,Food was excellent,service was excellent,bartender was good,Nice brewmaster,showed me his brew equipment.Would definetly go back.dont know if they had growlers.

(12/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So So So So So

Establishment: Taylor Brewing Company, Lombard, IL

Been there a few times.Get the sampler. Decent beers,Not the greatest selection of house beers.Wheat was good.No hoppy Ipa or pale ales when I went.Food was ok.Bartenders no nothing about beer.diner type atmosphere.I would stop in to try a beer again.Cheap empty growlers.

(12/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Good Good

Establishment: Harrison's Brewing Company, Orland Park, IL

Been there a few times.Few of the beers are ok.Cant make an IPA.Just another example of an over priced upscale brewpub thats not consentrating on quality and consistant beers but rather on how many different stupid yuppie crappy tasting beers they can spit out.Excellent bartenders,good expensive food.If Im driving by,I probably would stop in for a beer. 25 bucks a growler (great for aging homebrew)

(12/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Good

Establishment: Flossmoor Station Brewing Company, Flossmoor, IL

live in the area so I go there occasionally.Still get the sampler everytime I go.Like getting a taste of all of them.Dont care for all the fruit beers,BLAH! Never has an IPA,Pale ale,or UNFILTERED wheat when im there.Not honey wheat.Had his german wheat one time and too much banana flavor.Love the red ale,malty and will kick your butt.He can put out a good product but he should try to consentrate on perfecting the unfiltered wheats,IPA's,Pale ales,stouts,ect...not all that fruity,pumkiny,honey light crap.Just my opinion!bartenders are nice and do a good job.Nice place.Parking sucks.Had there high priced burgers.What can I say,Its just another burger.I will still go,and would recommend it.Nice glasses and growlers.

(12/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Emmett's Tavern and Brewery, Dundee, IL

Tried the sampler.All beers were excellent,malty,very drinkable and satisfying.Upscale comfortable place,but people were not snooty.Bartender was awsome.She new the beers too.Food was pricey but man were they some tastey appetizers.I would go there again.nice growlers

(12/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A So So So So

Establishment: Illinois Brewing Company, Bloomington, IL

Im shocked that they would even think of putting that beer out to sell.The FILTERED wheat beer did not taste like wheat and was so tart It was like drinking consentrated lemon juice(straight)!I couldnt drink it.The pale ale I could not figure out what it tasted like.Couldnt taste anything. No hops,and no malt,.Tasted like some tangy old forgotten batch.Seriously.. two tries Had to go.Brewmaster needs to make some serious changes. They did have a very good selection of other beers.Was in a nice old building.Nice bartender.Would not recomend this place if your looking for that homebrew taste.Cheap empty growlers

(12/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Lunar Brewing, Villa Park, IL

Went there yesterday with a few freinds.Every town should have a pub like this.A clean older laid back establishment.The IPA is a must try.Everything you would like in an IPA.Cascade and columbus hops.Yum! There lager was also great,Smooth,nice head, a little muddy looking,but these are all unfiltered beers..The stout was very drinkable too.Buddy had a beer with mango which smelt ok if you like those kind of beers.Was too buzzed to try anymore.Had a belgium beer too.No wheat beer that day.No food which sucks,and I dont understand why a pub would not serve at least some simple bar food for us hungry drunks.Cheap growlers.Would definetly go back if up that way.Also a brew supply north of the place on north ave and rt 83 which is convienient.

(12/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Three Floyds Brewing Company, Munster, IN

Love the pale ale! So does anyone know when this brew pub is going to open.Sure would be nice.You can never have enough brew pubs.

(12/23/2004)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.303 seconds) 08:29:11 54.81.124.198, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS