PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from mike weaver
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 23, 2014 @ 09:57 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
mike weaver

Beer Reviews
(10)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

10
Beer Reviews from mike weaver
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Bobcat Cafe and Brewery, Bristol, VT

We stumbled across this place during a recent visit to VT. What a find !! They offered 3 in-house beers, a kolsch, IPA, and ESB. The kolsch was light, fruity, and very enjoyable. The IPA was super. Good hop notes from beginning to end. My only complaint was that the beer was served too cold. But a little time in the glass fixed that. They also had a very wide range of other, local and non-local beers on tap. Menu looked very tasty but our budget was getting low so we passed on the food. Bartender was super friendly and outgoing. This place is definitely worth going out of the way for.

(08/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Long Trail Brewing Company was Mountain Brewers, Bridgewater Corners, VT

Stopped in here while on a beer vacation. Sampled their brown, alt, double alt, hefe and IPA. All were tasty, as expected. None jumped out as extraodinary though. They had a self guided tour. This was the only brewery (not brewpub) we hit that didn't give free samples. The beers offered at the brewery were the same ones I could find at home so no pleasant surprises were discovered.

(08/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Good Good

Establishment: Three Needs Taproom, Burlington, VT

Visited here, along with many other breweries/brewpubs, during a VT vacation last week. Very different environment from all the other places we visited. Younger, louder crowd, not in a bad way as everyone was enjoying themselves. Kind of a hippie joint maybe? I suspect two 40-ish tourists with a 9 yr old in tow looked a little out of place in there but we were treated well. Freindly bartender offered up samples of their 3 beers, a porter, alt (I think - no notes), and a light colored lager. All were tasty. The porter was less robust than I like them, but good enough that I ordered a pint and enjoyed it. And the prices were very reasonable too.

Funky atmosphere, decent beer, low prices. What is not to like? I'll come back here on our next visit.

(08/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Magic Hat Brewing Company, South Burlington, VT

I am not a fan of most of the MH beers they sell in my neighborhood (#9) but while in VT I wanted to see what else they offered.

The brewery was definitely worth the visit. Be forwarned, they offer a lot of samples and you can get into trouble if you are not careful !!! They had at least 8 beers on tap. The range of offerings was quite large. There is really something for everyone. I enjoyed batch 375 double IPA and Fat Angel APA. None of their beers struck me as "must have", but they were all of decent quality. It was a neat place with a definite Holloween theme to it. One note, this is one of the few places in VT that I visited that was willing to fill growlers that didn't have their logo on them.

(08/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A Great Good

Establishment: Switchback Brewing Company, Burlington, VT

This is a tiny brewery in Burlington that only offers one beer. But it is a good one. The facility is easy to miss as they share a building with 3 other companies and signage on the walls and doors is poor. Their one beer is worth the persistance to find it though. While there, we spoke with the brewer and got a little tour. The brewer bent our ears for almost 45 minutes on his philosophy on making beer for the public. Real nice guy with an obvious passion for what he is doing. Switchback Ale is a light colored ale that he refuses to classify but struck me as something of a cross between a kolsh and an American Pale. It was tasty. Mildly fruity, well balanced, with good hop and malt characteristics. The brewer has no plans to expand his lineup anytime soon. I enjoyed the samples offered but, unfortunately, they do not offer growlers or refills so I could not bring any of this delicious brew home with me.

(08/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: The Alchemist Pub and Brewery, Waterbury, VT

Now this is a brewpub !! I had heard so much good about this place that I was afraid I had entered with way-too-high expectations. I had samples of Broken Spoke Pale, El Jefe dark IPA, blonde ale, Holy Cow IPA, and Wild Child (fermented with Brett). Didn't care for Wild Child, but the others were all fantastic. IBU's on their pales and IPAs were running 65 and up to 100. Obviously they like to make their beers hoppy here. The beer did have the malt backbone to carry it though. I was extremely impressed. This has become my favorite brewpub anywhere. Bar none.

(08/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good So So So So

Establishment: Shed Restaurant, Stowe, VT

We recently returned from a beer tour of Vermont and this was our one real disappointment. Food was pricey and beer was not up to the standards other area breweries set. We tried a golden ale, a wit, Mountain Ale, and honey wheat. I did like the Mountain Ale. All of the beers, and especially the lighter ones had a taste I could only describe as a fault but I could not pin down the flavor I was getting. We ordered a beer sampler, 2 pints, chicken fingers, and potato skins and paid what we consider over market price for the meal. Food was OK, but not worth the premium they charge for being in a ski resort area. I doubt I'll be back. Not because of the food or prices, but because the beer really didn't stand up to the best Vt offers.

(08/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Good Great So So Good

Establishment: Vermont Pub and Brewery, Burlington, VT

VP&B has the look of a well financed touristy kind of spot. There is outdoor and indoor dining and a nice bar area.

We sat outside on a beautiful sunny day. Tasted a Red ale, brown, IPA, a wheat beer, smoked porter, and an Alt. All were decent beers. Nothing extraordinary but nothing bad either. The smoked porter didn't have much smoke character. If it is there, it is subtle. I ended up ordering a pint of the IPA and enjoyed it with a delicious sheppard's pie. I walked away pleased.

As a previous poster mentioned, this is nothing that you can't get at most any other decent brewpub around the nation. We did enjoy the food and beer. And prices were reasonble. That is about all you can ask for. One gripe I have with this, and most other, brewpubs is the lack of knowledgeable wait staff. Like so many other brewpubs, our waitress was totally ignorant of what went into their beers. I like to ask about the beer I am drinking and received blank stairs to my questions. Too bad, a knowledgeable staff can go a long way in improving a customers' experience.

(08/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Madison Brewing Company, Bennington, VT

We stopped in here for lunch on the way up to Burlington. It is a nice little place in downtown Madison. Ordered a sampler of 5 beers. Tried a blonde, honey wheat, a pale, a strong ale, and a belgian farmhouse ale. Blond and honey wheat were nice light tasting beers, no complaints there. Pale was tasty. The strong ale was a winner in my book and I had a pint and bought a growler of it to go. I didn't care for the farmhouse ale but beers fermented with Brett are not among my favorites.

Food was tasty and priced reasonably. Downtown Bennington was a nice walk for tired legs and eyes too.

I would gladly return to this place.

(08/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: American Flatbread Taproom was Burlington Hearth, Burlington, VT

Visited this place last week. Tried a brown, ESB, wheat IPA, schwarz, and dry stout. All were of good quality. wheat IPA (called Conehead) was super. Dry, bitter finish with strong hop flavors. Tasted similar to Southern Tier Hop Sun. Bar tender was very personable and knowledgeable. They had a very good selection of other local and non-local beers on tap. They also had a beer engine serving a local IPA. I was told that the beer on the hand pull does change frequently.

During a second visit we got chummy with the bartender and he offered a sample of IPA that had just been transfered out of fermentation. Still cloudy and carbonated only by the remnents of fermentation. About as close to "real ale" as you can get. Man was it tasty !!! Awesome malt backbone and a long hop finish. I could take up resisdence in this place.

Warning, only open during lunch then closes again until 5pm for dinner. Both times I was there the dinner crowd was large. BTW- the flat bread pizzas are very tasty.

(08/19/2006)














(0.185 seconds) 09:57:31 54.161.191.254, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS