PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from mike murphy
Other Reviews by this User
 
November 29, 2014 @ 12:24 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
mike murphy

Beer Reviews
(15)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

15
Beer Reviews from mike murphy
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: McSorley's Old Ale House, New York , NY

I rated the place Awesome merely because it is THE definative old-school brewpub. Food isn't that great, beer is ok to today's standard. But the entire package can't be beat.

The group seating, forces everyone to mingle, talk, drink, be merry. My only complaint is, it gets packed, REAL packed. I recommend getting their earlier the better, especially if you want to sit.

Until you have experienced McSorley's, you can't truely can't judge other brewpubs.

It's world famous, ask a person in Iriland to name a bar in NYC, chances are, it will be McSorleys.

(11/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Claddagh Irish Pub, Columbus, OH

Rock solid bar offering a good selection of quality beers, with good food. Great atmosphere, high quality architecture inside. If looking for a rock solid Irish pub, worth checking out. Part of a small growing chain however...

(11/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: The Half Door - A Traditional Irish Pub, Hartford, CT

Every time I'm passing through, I make an effort to stop by. Great beer selection. I highly recommend trying "Aecht Gehlenferla Rauchbier". It was great, one of the most different beers I have ever tried. It was in bottle, but a rare import. Tasted like liquid smoke.

Food is great, service is great, nice looking waitresses. Has real warm feel to it. I'm told they sometimes have music there, but I can't imagine where.

The only problem is location. A real pain to park, and if you go two blocks away, your car better be worth under 10k.

(11/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Flannery's Bar and Restaurant, Milwaukee, WI

A GREAT bar to go to to drink a few pints of Traditional Irish beers or local microbrews. Huge center wood bar with plenty of restaurant seating all around. Has a stage, check out local music scene. Age group I seen on a Thursday night ranged from 21 to 40ish, with most under 30.

If near, worth checking out. Great scotch selection. Beer was as good quality as could be asked for.

(11/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Great Good

Establishment: Durty Nellie's, San Antonio, TX

I can't recommend going here for the beer. Definately not for the food. But for a good time, its three stars, worth stopping by. It does have a bit of a tourist trap feel to it. But I was very impressed by the piano player who stated (true?) that he's been there for over 25 years. If true, I can see why. Truely a character. When he's gone, I doubt this place will still be around. He does sing alongs, and ribbs every person walking throught he door. If you can't take a chops busting like James of NH, don't stop in.

(11/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Pennsylvania Brewing Company aka Penn Brewery, Pittsburgh , PA

A truely great brewpub. Brewed in the German tradition adhering to German purity laws. They have a nice outside area great to sit outside and enjoy a few pints. Stage with regular events.

I can't comment too much on what beers I tried. I tried the range, which was good to awesome! Worth trying if in town. Good German food.

(11/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: Mullaney's Harp and Fiddle Irish Pub, Pittsburgh , PA

The beer selection is ok, usual Irish fair. Harp, Guiness, Smithwicks, etc. All good beers served with care and quality. Food is above standard bar food, but below great. Where this bar provides great basics, it shines with bar character. A true Irish pub with no pretenses. Live music on most nights. Great people, great times, and overall a great place to burn a night in. I highly recommend checking their calander of events on their web site.

(11/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Piper's Pub, Pittsburgh, PA

I was very impressed by this Pub. The beer selection was top notch all around. I have never seen such an impressive beer selection. The food portions where very large and great! I had the Chicken pot pie (awesome) and my brother had Toad in the Hole. (different and great) I saw beers on tap I haven't seen on tap in the US. Such as Spaten Octoberfest, Belhaven scottish ale, strongbow, fillers, old speckle hen, spaten optimator, pilsner urquell, franzishaner weissbier, McEwans (personal fav, a black mac), framboise lambic belgium, carsendonk abbey brown ale, plus many many more. 4 starts for tap selection. Not a brew pub, but with the top notch choices like this, who needs a home grown beer?

(11/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Tierney's Tavern, Montclair, NJ

A place to be with friend, drink, and be merry. Food is great "bar" food. As a sit down restaurant, not sure. Have a second floor for live music, and quality bands play there. Great atmosphere, good prices, great beer, live music, great bar food.....why did I leave? :)

(07/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Elephant and Castle, Springfield, NJ

Nice long wood bar, plenty of tables for restaurant seeting. Large selection of tap and bottled beers. The food is "english/american". I have had some items that where awesome and some where I'm not sure what they where thinking. :) Overall good selection of beer, good food, good service. And a little different, how many "english" motif bars do you see?

(07/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great

Establishment: JJ Bitting Brewing Company, Woodbridge, NJ

Offer a variety of their own brewed beers, many of which I have had mixed results. I don't drink local brewed beers as much as bottled microbrews. Atmosphere is "college like". Decent size wood bar, two story+ ceiling. Second level looking over the bar. Depending on the day, seems to be a under 35ish crowd. Gave it a great over-all, taking into consideration, what else in a 30 minute drive is worth driving to?

(07/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy N/A Good So So

Establishment: O'Connor's Irish Pub , Phoenix, AZ

Definately can skip this bar if in the area. It is basically a local bar with an irish name slapped onto it. No food serverd, beer/shot bar. Two pluses. One definately core local bar, meet "interesting" people. Second in the same strip mall is an irish store, can browse for items.

(07/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Rosie McCaffrey's Irish Pub, Phoenix, AZ

This bar is done in classic Irish Pub tradition. Large wood bar in center, with wood booths and tables surrounding it. A second level exists overlooking the bar, all in wood. On Sundays there is free live Irish Session music, and live music on Thurs/Fri/Sat/Sunday nights. Staff was great, food was great. Traditional Irish and american food. Selection of beers and spirits are extensive. If your a Guinness lover, try the McEwans & Guinness (black-mac) can't be beat.

(07/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good

Establishment: SunUp Brewing was Sonora Brewhouse, Phoenix, AZ

The last reviewer hit it on the head, I'll steal from his review. :) This place is definitely good, but I wouldn't describe it as outstanding. The beers I tried were all pretty good, and the food was good too. Very small bar, had local/regulars feel to it.

(07/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Good Good

Establishment: Dubliner Irish Pub, Phoenix, AZ

I went to serveral Irish pubs in the area. This bar has a genuine feel that someone irish owns it, and put time into the pub to make it have a nice feel. Cross that with a local corner pub, and thats closer to what it is. Wasn't over-all impressed, but if its close to you, worth checking out. Look for review of Rosie McCaffrey's Irish Pub.

(07/24/2004)














(0.232 seconds) 00:24:38 54.211.137.77, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS