PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from mike mitchell
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 30, 2014 @ 06:44 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
mike mitchell

Beer Reviews
(20)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

20
Beer Reviews from mike mitchell
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: Carolina Wings and Ribhouse, Charlotte, NC

I totally agree with the prior reviewers about Carolina Wings and Ribhouse. Unfortunately it has closed and been replaced by some generic wing joint with a generic name and has a generic selection of beers.

(12/12/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Brixx Wood Fired Pizza, Charlotte, NC

This place offers most of everything you could ask for in a beer bar / pizza restaurant and breaks the mold of most chain restaurants. There is a great selection of draft beers with specially featured bottled beers each month. A very impressive schedule of daily specials includes $1.50 microbrew drafts on Mondays and $2.50 import drafts on Thursdays. The pizza is very good wood oven style, which only comes in one size. The staff is knowledgeable and very friendly. One concern would be the very limited rotation of their taps. I would LOVE to see more seasonal beers offered.

(07/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Mellow Mushroom, Charlotte, NC

This place is now known as the Moondog Cafe, as are the other locations in the Charlotte area. As far as I can tell, there have been few, if any changes other than the name. The pizza is still excellent wood oven style with generous toppings. The draft beer list is extensive and well represented by different styles. The bottled beer list is exhaustive and well worth exploring.

(07/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Mellow Mushroom, Charlotte, NC

F Y I - The Mellow Mushroom locations(s) in the Charlotte area are now known as Moondog Cafe.

(07/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Mellow Mushroom, Charlotte, NC

F Y I - The Mellow Mushroom location(s) in the Charlotte area are now known as Moondog Cafe.

(07/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy So So Lousy

Establishment: Shelley's Woodroast, Rockville, MD

Food this bad CAN'T be associated with Montgomery's Grill of Bethesda (and THAT place isn't too great either)!! A blatant rip-off of the Montgomery's Grill name. The fried seafood platter described as "lightly battered and flash fried" arrived as cold, indistinguishable glops of 60% batter and 40% seafood!! Even the 20 oz. microbrew draft couldn't help wash this down. The fried oysters smelled rotten so I sent the platter back. With no confidence at all in anything else the kitchen could prepare that would be worth eating, I just asked for the check and got out of there!

(09/07/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Hard Times Cafe, Arlington, VA

Let me sing the praises of Hard Times Cafe!! True, it is mostly an old-fashioned chili parlor, BUT there is a very good beer selection; certainly one for almost every taste preference. The food menu is nothing short of superb from top to bottom. The service is fast, but friendly. The Happy Hour CANNOT BE BEAT! Weekdays from 3PM until 6PM you can enjoy huge appetizers for half-price AND half-priced honest pints!

(08/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A So So N/A Lousy Lousy

Establishment: John Harvard's Brew House, Washington, DC

On my most recent visit to John Harvard's, a persnickety, Felix Unger-type bartender sprayed me with cleanser while trying to clean the bar top! As I was asking him to be more careful, he sprayed me AGAIN. All of this occurred before I even had a chance to see what was on tap! After a trip to the bathroom to clean off the chemicals, I suggested he make it up to me with an IPA at Happy Hour price. A reasonable request, no? Noooo; he said the manager would get angry with him if he did that. With that insipid remark I left to quench my thirst at Capital City Brewpub. Note to management: To quote a quaint English expression with which John Harvard himself might have been familiar... "Penny wise, pound foolish".

(08/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!

Establishment: Bardo Rodeo, Arlington, VA

Note to last misguided entrant: Set foot in ANY OTHER brewpub within your extremely limited area of experience and you will KNOW what the "big fuss" is about!!

(08/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Olde Towne Tavern and Brewing Company, Gaithersburg, MD

New establishment, called "Summit Station Restaurant and Brewery", will open May 25, 1999. The new phone number is 301-519-9400.

(05/12/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!

Establishment: Bardo Rodeo, Arlington, VA

BARDO BEER IS BACK !! Ohhhhh heavenly delicious Dremo Tibetan Sasquatch !!

(05/10/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Olde Towne Tavern and Brewing Company, Gaithersburg, MD

FYI - Olde Towne is under new ownership and closed for renovation until mid-May. The good news from the new owner includes the brewmaster being retained and the promise of a much improved menu. I look forward to sampling the results.

(04/19/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Blue N Gold Brewing Company, Arlington, VA

I can't TELL you how much I miss this place! The DC area is lousy with boring, unimaginative "brewpub" chains. The quality and consistency of the standard Blue N Gold brews were the stuff of legend. The seasonal beers were either deliciously true-to-style or pure liquid inspiration. I'd consider giving my right arm for another taste of Kali Ganga, but I need it to lift future pints in search of a worthy substitute to Blue N Gold.

(04/16/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!

Establishment: Bardo Rodeo, Arlington, VA

Reports of Bardo's demise are GREATLY exaggerated !! Get the real poop on their website: www.bardorodeo.com And see you there !!

(03/24/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A N/A So So

Establishment: Wild Goose Brewery, Frederick, MD

Down to "Good" from "Awesome". Unfortunately Blue Ridge's first version (1998) of our beloved SNOW GOOSE is very disappointing. Gone is the complex aroma, tantalizing taste and satisfying mouthfeel that we LOVED. In its place is a generic seasonal that you might expect to see with the "Michelob" moniker. I know your company stock is performing pitifully, but do you have to take it out on us? Are you listening Blue Ridge?

(01/11/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Paddy Mac's Irish Restaurant and Pub, Silver Spring, MD

A VERY welcome new addition to the beer bar/brewpub void that is Silver Spring. While still in the middle of a learning curve, the service is eager to please. The menu has an excellent selection of both traditional Irish fare and American favorites with an offering of daily specials. The basic U.S. and Irish brews are well represented, along with several microbrews. Happy Hour runs from 3-7 PM with $1.00 off beers.

(10/23/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!

Establishment: Old Dominion Brewing Company, Dover, DE

For this Marylander, the trip to Ashburn is a real hike, but worth every mile and cent of the toll road!! Every time I go, I'm STILL amazed at the selection of lagers and ales. The 'Real Ale' is a standout for me. Try the Tuppers Pils, a great pilsner with amazing hop intensity.

(09/20/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Bethesda, MD

Basically another run-of-the-mill brewpub chain for people who like drinking average beer that always tastes on the sweet side, no matter what the style. The food is standard and bland. The Country-fried steak entree was pounded so thin you could see through it, and spiced mayonnaise was passed off as "Asagio Cheese" on one appetizer. To top off my visit, a few months later I discovered that the server wasn't satisfied with the 15% tip I left him, so he added another $6.00 on the bill!

(05/02/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: Tuppers' Hop Pocket Brewing Company, Bethesda, MD

For SERIOUS HOPHEADS only. The Hop Pocket Ale is as intensely hopped as any beer I've had. Wonderful aroma and thirst-quenching mouthfeel. Great with any food. They also brew a terrific, highly hopped Pilsner. In the past the beer has been contract brewed by Old Dominion (Ashburn, VA). I don't know if they have started their own production at present.

(05/02/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Capitol City Brewing Company, Bethesda, MD

The beer is truly AWESOME; especially for a multiple-location brewpub. The brewmasters here have almost complete autonomy in what styles and recipes they brew. VERY unique styles, such as the "Dortmunder Lager", are indescribable in words. (The special yeast imparts an incredible and natural honey aroma and taste.) All of the many other styles (6 or more) are consistently delicious. The Happy Hour is a treat for the wallet as well as the tastebuds. Good pubfare and a friendly staff round out an excellent brewpub experience.

(04/30/1998)














(0.119 seconds) 06:44:56 54.81.52.32, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS