PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from mike mckenna
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 31, 2014 @ 09:02 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
mike mckenna

Beer Reviews
(43)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

43
Beer Reviews from mike mckenna
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Zion Pizza and Noodle Company, Springdale, UT

Zion Pizza & Noodle offered 6 different Utah micros (plus others), and it was only minutes from the entrance to Zion National Park. It was a pleasure to see Uinta, Wasatch & Squatters offered for only $3 per pint. We enjoyed our micros & pizza out in the Beer Garden. If you make the trip to Zion, stop in Springdale for a delicious Utah micro & some top-notch pizza.

(05/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Monte Carlo Pub and Brewery, Las Vegas, NV

This casino brewpub was another large establishment. Their 5 beers ranged from Lite to Porter, and all were about average. None of the styles really stood out, but none of them tasted bad either. The food and service were very good.

(05/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Triple 7 Brewpub, Las Vegas, NV

This casino brewpub had a tall ceiling, with the stamped metal that you see in a lot of older buildings. The entire dining area had a view of the glass-enclosed tanks. Their beers ranged from a decent Gold to a very plesant Stout. The Red and Dunkleweiss were also very good, but the Pale had an unusual/unpleasant hop flavor. The food was very plentiful & inexpensive, and the service was good. If you're around the Fremont area of Las Vegas, stop by 777 for a $5 sampler tray.

(05/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Gordon Biersch Brewing Company, Las Vegas, NV

We happened upon GB during some down time away from the Strip. Our bartender (Andy) was nice enough to let us sample all of their beers. Each of their beers were very good representatives of the styles, but I liked the Marzen & Maibock the best. We didn't sample the food, but the folks at the bar raved about their lunch dishes.

(05/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Thunder Canyon Brewery, Tucson, AZ

This was the first brewpub of 7 that my wife and I ventured to in Arizona. Despite the location in a mall, we were pleasantly surprised by the beer and food. They featured 8 beers, which ranged from a sweet Bee Berry up to a robust Porter. The Brown and Porter were both excellent. The food was inexpensive, and the service was excellent. It was great to see so much old breweriana on the walls of this large brewpub. You should absolutely head to the mall for an ale.

(01/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Four Peaks Brewing Company, Tempe, AZ

This cavernous place was packed on a Friday night, but the mostly college crowd was fairly tame. My 9-beer sampler was only $7, and my dinner was even cheaper than that! Excluding the Gold and Kolsch, the other 7 beers were at least above average. My favorites were the Cask IPA and Oatmeal Stout, which were very drinkable. The food and service were excellent. Do yourself a favor and drop by for a pint and a bite to eat.

(01/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Oak Creek Brewery And Grill, Sedona, AZ

It was a pleasant surprise to find good beer in a touristy town. The Horseshoe Hefe and the Villafe Nut Brown were excellent, while the Oak Creek Amber & Pullman Porter were just a step below them. They did offer a Micro Light and a 49er Gold for the Budmilloors drinkers, but that has to be expected. The food and service were very good, especially the friendly bartender that we bombarded with questions about the beer. Take a break from looking at the Red Rocks and stop in for an ale, you won't be disappointed.

(01/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: The Green Room was Mogollon Brewing, Flagstaff, AZ

In contrast to most brewpubs that are aimed at the yuppie crowd, Mogollon has more of a blue-collar & gritty feel. Of the 5 styles that were available, the Superstition Pale and Donny Brook Irish Stout were standouts. The service was VERY different in this place...they actually leave you alone to enjoy your beverages and talk with your friends. It was a pleasant surprise NOT to have someone hound your table every 5 minutes. This place is different and the beer is good, so it's definitely worth a trip or 2.

(01/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Good Great

Establishment: Nimbus Brewing Company, Tucson, AZ

Unfortunately I only had time for a pair of pints, but the Strong Ale and Oatmeal Stout were both excellent. Both were full of flavor. If I only had more time...maybe on the next AZ trip.

(01/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Beaver Street Brewery and Whistle Stop Cafe, Flagstaff, AZ

They had 5 styles, ranging from a sweet Berry Brew to a good Porter. The Railhead Red and India Pale Ale were also decent. Food and service were very good. Beaver Street is definitely worth a visit.

(01/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Boscos, Little Rock, AR

This was my first trip to Boscos, and they were very impressive for a Brewpub in a touristy area. They featured 8 different beers, ranging from a light-colored Stone Beer all the way up to Stout. The Red Ale and Porter were excellent, and all but the Scottish Ale were above average. The 4 people in my party had Pasta, Chicken and Fish; and all were excellent. The service was also very good. Boscos is definitely worth a vsit, whether for the beer or food.

(01/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Awesome! Great Good Good

Establishment: Monarch's Rest Restaurant and Brewpub, Yuma, AZ

Monarch's Rest featured almost a dozen styles of beer, from Light all the way to Stout. I was impressed that such a modern restaurant with a nice atmosphere would include diplays with bottles and such excavated from the building site. I tried a sampler, and found that all of their beers reminded me of homebrew using an extract. Excluding the Stout, each one was very light, had only a hint of the respective style's flavor, and had no head whatsoever. Quite honestly, Shiner Bock was a better bet than 11 out of 12 of the beers. The food was very good, probably a little more expensive than average, but uncommon dishes are worth a little more coin. Our server was not very attentive, but the owner did stop by to ask if we needed help. Give the place a try for the food, but don't expect a lot from the beer.

(09/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Barrington Brewery and Restaurant, Great Barrington, MA

This was my second trip to the Barrington Brewery, and the "Barn Brewed" beverages may have been even better than back in '00. The Hopland Ale and seasonal Brown Ale were excellent. The staff was extremely friendly again. If you're in the Great Barrington area, do yourself a favor and stop in for an ale.

(06/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: North by Northwest Restaurant and Brewery, Austin, TX

This northwest Austin brewpub has a stone motif, from the stylish exterior to the large dining area. The Pale Ale, Black Ale, and Stout were all excellent. They also offered a Light and Amber, but they were both too light for me. The moderately proced food was well prepared and plentiful, and the service was just as good. The only negative aspect from North By Northwest was the take home growlers. A filled, 2-liter, German-style growler was available for $34!

(05/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Copper Tank Brewing Company, Austin, TX

I've visited this downtown Austin establishment more than a half-dozen times. The Big Dog Brown has always been my favorite, and I usually try the decent Pale Ale as well. Some of their seasonals have been good, but their lighter beers are simply too light. The food at Copper Tank is pretty much standard bar fare, but I've never heard a complaint about the quality or quantity. If you have a big appetite, try the HUGE calzone. The young staff has rarely been helpful with describing their beer styles, but the rest of the service has been fine.

(05/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! So So Great Great

Establishment: Appalachian Brewing Company, Harrisburg, PA

ABC is huge inside, with plenty of wood and a large bar. Behind the bar you'll find the brewing equipment, which is among the largest I've seen in a brewpub. ABC offered 8 beers, which ranged from a very light Lager to a very nice Stout. The Susquehanna Stout and Purist Pale Ale were excellent, but I can't say the same for the food. The nachos were decent, but our entrees were smallish and bland. The service was excellent. ABC is definitely worth a try, but there is very limited parking in/around the place.

(03/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Calhoun's Restaurant and Brewery, Harrisonburg, VA

This roomy restaurant with lots of wood and exposed ceilings contains a glass-enclosed brewery. They offered 4 beers on draft: Golden Light, Honey Blonde, Nut Brown and Smokin Scottish. The Brown and Scottish were very good, although the Light and Blonde were VERY light. The pub menu was very reasonably priced, and the portions were huge (try the sweet potato fries). The servers were courteous and prompt. Calhoun's was a pleasant surprise...you can find bigger beer in a smaller town.

(06/05/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Great Great Great

Establishment: Jack Of The Wood / Green Man Brewery, Asheville, NC

The decor and music create a kind of Celtic-Bluegrass feel. They offered 2 beers, a Pale which was good and a Stout that was excellent. The food and service were very good. Definitely worth a visit if you like a relaxed, smoke-free brewpub.

(06/05/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Great Good Good

Establishment: Asheville Pizza and Brewing Company, Asheville, NC

The purple exterior paint, scenes painted on the interior, movie theater, specialty pizza and laid back atmosphere all seem to fit together after a beer or 2. Unfortunately they only offered a Pale and IPA, but both were very good. The gourmet pizza was also very good, but the crowds come for the cheap movies. This place is definitely worth a visit, but be prepared to go back to college for an hour or two.

(06/05/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Smoky Mountain Brewery, Gatlinburg, TN

This large chalet is located in Calhoun's Village, one of the trendy town-esque shopping areas. Of the 6 available beers, 3 are what I would term tourist beers, falling in the Budmilloors category. Thankfully the Cherokee Red, Black Bear Brown and Tuckaleechee Porter represented their styles pretty well. The pizza was excellent, and so was the service. They also bottle their beers, although they must be refrigerated. For a tourist town, it was a pleasant surprise to find some craft beer.

(06/05/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: City Brew, Knoxville, TN

This relatively new establishment is located in a large, older building with exposed ceilings. They offered 7 beers on draft, ranging from Pils to Porter. The IPA and Red were very good, with the Brown and Porter approaching excellent. The inexpensive food was very good, as was the service. City Brew is definitely worth a trip, whether for a drink or a bite to eat.

(06/05/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Awesome! Great Good

Establishment: Rocky River Brewing Company, Sevierville, TN

This huge brewpub sits along "restaurant row" among the outlets. The glass-enclosed brewery sits in the center of a rustic themed restaurant. Of the 6 beers on draft, only the IPA and Stout were even average. The Copperhead Red and Hefeweizen tasted very unusual, as though they were missing an ingredient. Even though the beers were disappointing, the food and service were excellent. The quality and portions were terrific, especially for lunch. Go for the food, but don't expect much from the beer.

(06/05/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Gaslight Brewery and Restaurant, South Orange, NJ

A relaxed and friendly brewpub. Though you wouldnt think so from the street, the restaurant is huge. They offered 7 styles, but only the amber ale was above average. The brown, stout and eliminator bock all seemed to lack something, as though fermentation wasn't complete. Since we arrived in the early afternoon, hopefully some of the odd tastes were a result of the beer sitting in the lines.

(06/18/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Awesome! Good

Establishment: Basil T's Brew Pub and Italian Grill, Red Bank, NJ

One of the few brewpubs that should be considered "upscale". Of the 6 available styles, only the Honey Brown and Rocket Red Ale were above average. The food was much better than the beer, with pizza, pasta and panini's dominating the menu. I don't recommend making a special trip for the beer, but if you go, leave the casual clothes at home.

(06/18/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Barrington Brewery and Restaurant, Great Barrington, MA

Located in the Jenifer House Commons, which is designed like an old country village. The brewery is located in a converted barn, full of beer cans, bottles, trays and signs. Of the 5 beers available, all were above average with the Hopland Pale Ale approaching the "excellent" category. The food was very good, with ample portions and many locally grown organic products. This place is definitely worthy of a visit.

(06/18/2000)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.169 seconds) 09:02:42 54.234.82.216, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS