PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from mike blumena
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 01, 2014 @ 01:35 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
mike blumena

Beer Reviews
(5)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

5
Beer Reviews from mike blumena
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Rogue Ales / Oregon Brewing and Brewer's on the Bay, Newport, OR

Oh my!!! The best brewery experience I've had, and I've had very many. Every element of our trip to Rogue was unique and utterly enjoyable. The town of Newport is a quaint, quiet community. The only things going on here are fising, tourism, and beer. We arrived at Rogue around lunchtime. The place looks like a warehouse or some sort of boat dock because it is right on the coast in a not-so-appealing part of town. But don't let that fool you. We walked right in to the bottling and kegging area because there were no signs for bar area. Actually, I don't even know if there is a bar area because when we finally got ahold of a manager, he sent us up to a private tasting room with a huge window overlooking the Pacific and its own bar. We sat in this room for half the day, sampling a huge variety of the best beers I've ever had! I can't recommend one or two because they were all equally excellent. The beer menu was diverse, with some very interesting concoctions. Each beer was complex, fresh, very unique, and very well crafted. The brewmaster at Rogue is a true artist. This is a MUST VISIT if you are ever within 200 miles of Newport. This makes a great day trip from anywhere in Oregon or Northern California. The drive up and down the coast is a nice way to spend the afternoon, but make sure to plan on spending plenty of time at Rogue.

(10/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Deschutes Brewery, Bend, OR

Definitely a must-visit if you are in the area and you like well-crafted beers. A perfect day trip if you are visiting Portalnd or anywhere else in Oregon. The town of Bend is beautiful and the surrounding area is packed with outdoor activities - hey, ya gotta work up a thirst somehow! Deschutes is a quaint little pub with a typical pub menu, but don't go there for the food. All of their beers are superb - rich, complex, well - crafted. Definitely in my top 5 around the country!!

(10/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Sierra Nevada Brewing Company, Chico, CA

I used to live in Chico and visited the brewery often. The variety of beers is usually pretty nice. Definitely check out Chico during the holiday season- the Celebration Ale is a refreshingly crisp holiday brew that is not overspiced. Hopefully you will be around to sample the Bigfoot Barleywine Ale. This powerful ale is high in alcohol and in flavor. Of course the Pale Ale is magnificent. Definiteky a must-visit if you are ever anywhere near Chico!

(10/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Valhalla Microbrewery and Restaurant, Pittsburgh , PA

This is the trendiest, most modern-looking brewery I've been in. The bar area is very open, spacious and airy. In the summer, a large open door connects the spacious patio to the bar area. The dining area is split in two levels. The decor is very modern and hip. The food is out of this world-definitely not your average pub fare! The selection is fresh, diverse, and creative. We tried the bruchetta sampler, but the entire menu was filled with mouth-watering choices. Now for the beer. We had the sampler and found that most of the beers were average at best. If I had to recommend two ales they would be the wheat and the IPA. Overall, Valhalla was a unique brewery experience definitely aimed at the young, hip crowd.

(10/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A So So Good

Establishment: The Church Brew Works, Pittsburgh , PA

This is a novel brewery. If you are visiting, you should at least check this place out. The beer quality was average, but there was quite a variety. Although we didn't eat here, the food looked like good pub grub. The only real attraction is the fact that they turned a beautiful church into a beautiful brewery.

(10/26/2002)














(0.049 seconds) 01:35:32 54.82.142.246, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS