PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from michael padgett
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 30, 2014 @ 08:28 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
michael padgett

Beer Reviews
(86)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

86
Beer Reviews from michael padgett
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Le Saint Bock, Montreal, QC

Le SB opened earlier this year on the St Denis street in the Latin Quartier, in between Le 3 Brasseur & L'Amere a Boir in what was formerly a bicycle shop.

Food selection is more pub fare than otherwise, but done well for what it is. The real treat is the 16 micros on tap, most Quebecois that are not available elsewhere. In addition, there is a fairly decent bottle selection as well, mostly from Quebec & Belgium. When the weather is nice, there is also a nice little terrasse outside, so you can enjoy a nice brew and people watch on this great street.

(04/26/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Good Good

Establishment: Les 3 Brasseurs, Montreal, QC

Montreal's 4th location of this brewpub chain from France. On the corner of Crescent, the beer selection was standard, with the exception of the christmas beer. The music was seemingly louder than in the other locations and I was treated to Outkast, Madonna, Beenieman and other slop that permeates US airwaves. So if you can't get enough of this at home...

(12/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Great Good

Establishment: Benelux Brasserie Artisanale et Cafe, Montreal, QC

I stopped in Benelux on a Saturday eve in December and met Jean Francois, who owns(?)/manages the pub. He was very accomodating and filled me in on the details of the place.

Benelux opened in midsummer 2006 in a space that was previously a bank (safe is still intact). Food offerings are limited - my rating above was based on selection not quality. But for the main thing - the beer. Benelux had 4 selections on tap while I was there, although the ran out of the abbay blonde before I could try it. The stout was easy drinking and the rye pale ale was on special during the hockey game. In addition to these 4 beers, there were another 3 beers on offer from another Quebec microbrewer - guest taps if you will, which will rotate.

Although never jammed, there was a steady crowd the whole time I was there. The atmosphere and layout are get good marks in my opinion. This place is easy to find on Sherbrook, so check it out.

(12/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Bieres and Compagnie, Montreal, QC

The Rue St Laurent Biere et Compagnie was closed as of August 2006. I passed by in December 2006 and it is now a souvlaki restaurant.

(12/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great

Establishment: Les 3 Brasseurs - Vieux Montreal, Montreal, QC

The latest offering from the French (France not French Canadian) brewpub chain is located in Old Montreal. A nice 2-story space, the offerings were blanche, blonde, ambree & brune. Decent food and a nice crowd that seemed to go beyond the tourist scene. Maybe this changes in summer though.

(02/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: The Ginger Man, Houston, TX

My experience is with the Ginger Man in NYC. However, the Ginger Man in Houston is a nice little destination. Not quite the same atmosphere as Manhattan, but still a great selection of draught and bottled brews. Sitting at the bar, the service struck me as busy and efficient - that is, not friendly and welcoming but not rude or testy. More to the order of, I have a lot of people to take care of, know what you want or I'll be back. There is no kitchen although they do have a handful of snax. Nice neighborhood in Houston - one that you can actually walk around in as opposed to the car mandate that the rest of the city seems to suffer from.

(01/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Henry's End Cafe, Brooklyn, NY

Henry's End is just down the street from Henry St Ale House and I confused the two at first. Henry's End however is a restaurant without a bar per se. The food is quite good with a nice wild game section and entrees prices running from $15 to $25. The beer selection is very nice, not extensive in quantity but there are some nice choices not commonly seen (Berliner Kindl Weisse for example) and there seems to have been a conscious choice to include a few examples from a lot of different styles.

(01/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Les 3 Brasseurs, Montreal, QC

This is the second location of 3 Brasseurs (a third is scheduled to open soon in old Montreal). The space is right on St Catherine street between Rue McGill College and Rue University and contains 2 stories opening onto the sidewalk. Beer is brewed at this location and the offerings were blanche, blonde, brune, ambree & doree. The beer doesn't try to be way out in style and will satisfy most session drinkers.

The menu is the same as the St Denis location. The service was top-notch on my visit, both friendly and efficient. The food came out quickly and was better than I remember from St Denis.

(07/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Claddagh Irish Pub, Pittsburgh , PA

The first faux Irish Pub (you know, nice bar, good lighting, and knick-knacks stashed everywhere that is supposed to make you feel like the place has been around 100 years) was Fado in Atlanta 8 or 9 years ago. At the time, I really liked the place because it was different, but we did have to get used to $5 pints, as they were one of the first to break this price. Years later, I've been in more of these places than I can count.

Claddagh does the theme quite well, but being in in a strip mall-ish storefront situation just next to the blazing neon of a movie theatre does tend to take away from the 'traditional Irish country pub' motif.

The beer selection is 8-10 taps and a fair number of bottle/can choices as I peeked into the cooler. The selection runs mostly from Ireland & Britain, which is a good thing, and the choices I had on tap came out well. The food was also solid, not exceptional but tasty.

This is a great place to duck into with a friend if the wives/girlfriends are doing a bit of shopping in all of the stores nearby.

(06/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Good Great

Establishment: Dieu du Ciel!, Montreal, QC

This little brewery is a bit off the tourist path (over the hill from downtown). As other reviews noted, the kitchen is limited. Toaster oven pizza and Quebecois cheese plate. Quite good for what it is, but this is a place where you go for beer that has a few snacks, not a great food place that also has awesome beer.

About the beer. The night I went, there were 4 offerings en fut - a rousse, a Belgian style blanche, a very nice abbey triple, and a stout (Deesee Nocture -pardon my spelling) that was incredible.

(05/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: L'Île Noire, Montreal, QC

There is no food. This is a superb dinking venue. Ambient, IDM music in the background. Nice wooden interior, with windows open onto the street. 15 taps + another 6-8 bottles plus a scotch list that is most impressive (top 5 I've seen in the world - ask & I'll tell you the other 4).

A very nice place. All cities should be blessed with something like this.

(05/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Hurley's Irish Pub, Montreal, QC

I've stopped by Hurley's 3 times, eaten twice. The food is good, the Bailey's cheesecake was awesome.

Beerwise, there is a really nice selection of Canadian offerings, mixed in with some European imports. A nice selection all in all. Whisky-wise, the scotches are there, but I actually enjoyed the selection of Irish whiskies. You can find scotches in a lot of places, but Irish ones are often limited to your Bushmills/Jameson/Powers in most pubs.

This place does get crowded on weekends.

(05/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good

Establishment: Le Cheval Blanc, Montreal, QC

As its been 2 years since this place was reviewed...

This was the first brewpub in Montreal, opening in '86 or '87 (can't remember see the website). The Cheval Blanc bieres that you get here are different than the ones brewed by Brasseurs RJ and sold in bottle throughout the city. There is a connection obviously, but both the bartender at the pub as well as the ratebeer guys show it different. My own tasting of the amber bears it out as well.

Still, visit this place. Decor is cool. Location is cool.

(05/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Harris Grill, Pittsburgh , PA

I understand that Harris Grill was open once upon a time, then closed. It is open again - under new mgt or not, I am unsure - and has a nice selection of beer in both bottle and on tap.

The menu runs with standard bar fare expanded to include a few entrees and other non-typical sandwiches (i.e. monte cristo, muffaletta, etc.) I believe I saw a note that said kitchen is open late, which is cool.

A nice outdoor seating in the front gives a people-watching option that should be good in the spring and summer.

(04/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: L’Amere a Boire, Montreal, QC

Nice little place on St. Denis. Not a quaint smoky pub, but a nice 'loft-ish atmosphere. There were 8 samplings on tap tonight - a blanche, a Czech blonde (fantastic), 3 reds, & 3 porters / stouts. All of the samples were good, the Czech style blonde & red were excellent.

Food wise, the menu isn't huge. The fries are top-notch though with a nice cajun mayo. The burger was standard.

Service was very cool.

(03/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: One-Eyed Mike's, Baltimore, MD

While in Baltimore for the weekend, we asked (in Max's) for a decent local place for crabcakes away from the tourist area of Inner Harbor and were directed to One-Eyed Mike's.

Well, the staff (and other patrons) were very friendly, attentive & fun. The crabcakes were spectacular (much better than Phillips was our consensus opinion). The beer selections were nice. And the Grand Marnier theme served as our dessert.

Don't miss this place.

(02/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: D's Six Packs and Dogz, Pittsburgh , PA

D's is an unassuming little shop selling dogs and a few sandwiches (great stuff though). No elaborate oaken bar, no subdued lighting. But their beer selection is amazing. 800+ tossed about in the reviews below. Striving to reach 1000 is what I read on a sign on the wall.

Whereas most states have liquor/package stores or an indie cornershop that specializes in beer, Pennsylvania's beer laws preclude you from buying singles and samples (or even 6-packs) in a beer store. Thankfully, places like D's help rectify that situation.

(01/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Gooski's, Polish Hill, PA

Pittsburgh has a number of these little neighborhood bars - Sidelines, Rivertowne Inn, etc - that pack an unexpected assortment of beers on tap and in bottles. Gooski's is small, dark and, when I went, very smoky. But the beer selection is very good and the prices are reasonable. They were out of 75% of the Polish food offerings but their wings were excellent.

The jukebox was under repair so I cannot comment on the tunes. Another great thing about Gooski's is its proximity to downtown and the strip district, which makes it easily accessible.

(12/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Burgh's Pizza and Wing Pub, Bridgeville, PA

Stopped in on a Friday afternoon. Although the tap selection is none too shabby, most of the choices here come in bottle form. Which is fine as there was a nice choice of seasonals from which to select.

The pizza was really tasty, but the wings - both hot & mild left something to be desired. The sauce had too much butter in it and consequently, would not stay on the wings. I like butter in my sauce, but more importantly, I like it to stay on the food rather than running through the basket and over the table.

I rate this Good overall as it more of a "stop in if in the neighborhood" place rather than a destination unto itself.

(12/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Bieres et Compagnie, Montreal, QC

This is the original Bieres et Compagnie location, which has been around since '96 or '97. The beer menu is the same at both places, but what a fantastic offering it is. Heavy on Quebec, French & Belgian artisanal beers, the beer complements the food - if you like mussels, visit.

(10/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!

Establishment: Kelly's Bar and Lounge, Pittsburgh , PA

This is an excellent place. There is a single page of pub fare for the food and 2 pages for the cocktails & beer. Not a huge number of taps & bottles, but the quality more than makes up for the quantity. Plus, as mentioned, the taps rotate weekly.

The bartenders were fun and the place has great atmosphere, w/ a 50s Diner-ish motif and punk & rockabilly tunes. I did see that the music choices were varied by night, so you may get a DJ playing something else.

(10/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Bloomfield Bridge Tavern, Pittsburgh , PA

The draft selection isn't large, but by the bottle, the choices are much better. Plus, several of the offerings (Eastern European) are unique to this bar from what I can tell about Pittsburgh - for those of you looking to add a few more titles to your beer list.

Food was inexpensive, tasty and filling. But I didn't really expect light fare when I ordered the Polish Platter.

(10/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Bites and Brews, Pittsburgh , PA

A few updates. B&B is owned by the same folks who own Elbow Room next door. They do accept credit cards now as well. Beer-wise, B&B offers 45 bottles & 30 taps. While there aren't as many interesting beers as you might think out of 75 choices, still, there are 75 choices - although the Allagash Grand Cru was a bit off when I was there.

Atmosphere is really that of a sandwich shop.

(10/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Lot 17, Pittsburgh, PA

I visited Lot 17 on a Wednesday night. There were 10-15 patrons, all 30-50 year old men, watching the baseball game. Atmosphere was OK, not exciting.

The beer selection is ~ 15 taps with another 30 or so choices in bottle. You can definitely find something to drink, although there are a few too many alco-pops in the mix.

The stuffed peppers were excellent. The buffalo chicken sandwich was average. The wings looked good, but I had already placed my order.

(10/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good So So Good

Establishment: Park Slope Alehouse was Park Slope Brewing, Brooklyn, NY

From prior reviews, I didn't expect this to be a brewpub. Now, I no longer see the equipment either. This is a nice little corner pub, with standard pub fare (nachos & wings were good, hummus was a bit off). There were only 2 offerings in bottle - nothing exciting there, but they did have 20 taps, comprised overwhelmingly with micros & imports.

(10/18/2004)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]













(0.178 seconds) 20:28:47 54.205.225.18, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS