PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from michael smigielski
Other Reviews by this User
 
August 21, 2014 @ 07:11 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
michael smigielski

Beer Reviews
(11)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

11
Beer Reviews from michael smigielski
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Awesome!

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Corner Brewery, Ypsilanti, MI

I've been to this establishment a number of times. They currently carry up to six beers, a Helles lager, A Belgian style Blonde, a Hefeweizen, a Special Bitter (Red Snapper), an IPA and an Alt. I miss a couple of their Arbor offerings, but the above are fine. There is ample room in which to walk around, not much clutter and a great beergarden in the back. Don't go for the food, as the menu is very limited. You can order stuff in, though. They just made this place an internet hot spot. Plans are to further develop the beer garden so that it can be utilized in the colder months, which is helpful, since smoking is allowed only outside.

(07/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Aubree's, Ypsilanti, MI

Yes, the pizza is so good that it can outshine the beer, but no need to go thirsty. There's a great assortment of beer here whether on tap or in a bottle. Frog Island, Bells, and Dark Horse breweries are well represented within. Many TV screens and a great staff and managemnt round out this place. Sticks, the place where I play pool, is upstairs and under the same management, so the drinks and menu are the same. Some bizarre law prevents you from walking from one place to the other with alcohol, though. A few years ago, they banned cigars and certain clothing for men...I find that annoying at times, but I still go.

(03/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Conor O'Neill's Traditional Irish Pub, Ann Arbor, MI

I've been going to this place since it opened. Except for the ground upon which it is built, it started out as an authentic Irish pub. The place was designed and built in Ireland, taken apart, shipped here and reassembled. Much of the original staff was imported as well. Good Irish food and beer, as you might expect. The Irish staff has dissipated, but it's still an nice place to go. I don't go as often as I used to, since they banned cigars until after 10 PM. Allegedly this is the top pick-up bar in Ann Arbor, but I'm not a twenty something, so I can't verify that.

(03/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Sidetrack Bar and Grill, Ypsilanti, MI

A not too little place on the edge of Depot Town, with a fine selection of beers and a nicer-than-you-would-think menu. The staff is nice and usually quite attentive. A fav place to go in the winter especially if I can get next to the fireplace. Later in the evening the whole place is a smoking area.

(03/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Frog Island Brewing Company, Ypsilanti, MI

AS far as I know, there is no pub called Frog Island where you can go. Instead, Dave Frence is trying to work with The City of Yppsilanti to open one near his other fine establishments in Depot Town. Frankly, I wish they'd hurry, because he brews some fine beer. My favorite, sadly, is seasonal - an Oktoberfest. You can get his brew in many places in the area.

(03/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!

Establishment: Arbor Brewing Company, Ann Arbor, MI

I was part of a tour given by the owners, Matt and Renee. Bot are really into beer and is shows. Their IPA is wonderful, but the Terminator and Super Snapper are my favs. Matt makes a smoked beer reminiscent of one made in Bamburg, Germany. The food is good, but go for the beer.

(02/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Berkley Front, Berkley, MI

Went for the first time before the Leon Russell concert. The place is easy to find and parking is wonderfully free right behind the establishment. There are lots of beer on tap, but some others I would have liked to see. The menu is not diverse, but the food is good and resonably priced.. My friend had a great brat and homemade sauerkraut special. The best thing about this pub was the service. We had a friendly, attentive waitress. This is more like a neighborhood joint, but has lots going for it. Nobody even bitched about my cigar! I think I'll be back before Hot Tuna performs.

(07/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: The Alchemist Pub and Brewery, Waterbury, VT

We weren't thrilled with all the beers, but the ones we did like we really enjoyed. The place is great-funky in the best ways. Food was pretty good, too. Servic was quick and friendly. A small town experience. It was a main destination for us when we were visiting the area.

(12/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Harpoon Brewery, Windsor, VT

We visited on a great summer's day. This place is not so much a brew pub as on that combines great beer, their merchandise and some sandwich type foods. We like all of the beer to one extent or another, but relly enjoyed their IPA, which we buy here at home in Michigan. We need to go back!

(12/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Grizzly Peak Brewing Company, Ann Arbor, MI

This is one of my favorite places to go. I can't say all the beers are great, since I don't care for all types, but I do find their Porter, ESB, Red and Octoberfest AWESOME. The food is quite tasty, too. I don't eat red meat, but can always find something delicious. The only gripe I might have is that their sweet potatoe fries are underdone at times. Service is great, too. I usually go away with a couple of growlers.

(12/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Detroit Beer Company, Detroit, MI

I've been there three times and can't wait to get back. The first time we tried the sampler and found all the beers to be very good or better. The Detroit Red is my favorite of the regular brews, but the Kilt Lifter (a deep red rotating tap) was truly outstanding. The staff is extremely attentive and cheerful (especially Rebecca/Legs) and the food is great, too. Just being two blocks from Commerica Park, makes this my first stop before a game to load up on some great beer before I have to settle for the Bass Ale in the park. For this place, I don't think I need an excuse of a game.

(05/18/2004)














(0.102 seconds) 07:11:18 54.167.176.106, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS