PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from michael romano
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 23, 2014 @ 01:05 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
michael romano

Beer Reviews
(16)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

16
Beer Reviews from michael romano
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Good Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Pixel Lounge, Ithaca, NY

Got referred to this place by folks at Ithaca Brewing. This bar is in an alley, about 100 feet off of the main drag in Collegetown. My wife and I spent a wonderful 2 hours with the owners. These folks know beer, and are dedicated to quality, and uniqueness. They are really trying to position themselves as a destination for beer lovers, rather than a stop on the latest beer crawl.

They also seemed to have a wonderful selection of unique hard liquors as well.

My only complaint... I wish the beer menu on their site were up to date.

(06/13/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Good Good So So

Establishment: Gingerbread Man, Carlisle, PA

Visited here after reading a Lew Bryson comment. Their 16 taps included bud, bud light, molson. They did stock several Lienenkugals on tap. The only really interesting option was a very delicious glass of mad elf. the food was not bad. Overall, kind of disappointing for a town that boasts Market Cross

(01/05/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Canal Street Pub and Restaurant, Reading, PA

A brewpub in the same building as legacy brewing. We stumbled into it and were pleasantly surprised. beautiful old building. We thought of Victory's dining room if it were warm and intimate. 3 legacies on tap, including euphoria and wit, and a wonderfully fresh bluepoint blueberry wheat. Very knowledgeable staff, both about their products, and micro-brewing in the area. We didn't eat, but the menu looked interesting. It was a bit high end, main courses in the $18 to $25 range, but the dining area was very nice.

(07/20/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good N/A

Establishment: Market Cross Pub, Carlisle, PA

Very nice place. Referred here by the folks at Troegs. Nice Red. reasonable food, some unusual bottle selections

(07/05/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Bocktown Beer and Grill, Robinson Township, PA

This place is going to be a real winner !!!. The draft selection is about 15 well chosen beers. They seem to run through kegs very quickly so the selection is constantly changing and the food is fresh. They have a huge selection of bottles including a few that I have'nt seen in area bars (ie sam adams homebrew winners). The owner seems to know her beers. Good burgers, good fries, nice atmosphere. Very comfortable. The owner told us the nickname for the place was "man-dump", becuase lots of women go shopping at Robinson Town Center and "dump" their men at Bocktown.

(04/30/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So So So So So

Establishment: Double Wide Grill, Pittsburgh , PA

The selection of drafts is better than it has to be, but certainly not enough to make this a destination for beer lovers, especially with other bars just down the street like Smokin Joes and fatheads. The most adventerous tap was Maudite.

The food was really disappointing. Mostly fried stuff, and the ribs were really tasteless but covered in sauce. This is not quite comfort cooking, but the menu kind of tells you what to expect.

(01/29/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Good So So

Establishment: Double Wide Grill, Pittsburgh , PA

A relatively new resturant striving to offer a reasonable selection of microbrews. We tried it based on a recent review in the pittsburgh paper:

http://postgazette.com/pg/07011/752677-242.stm

The most adventurous selection was unibrue Maudite. They had an east end and penn st. nicholas bock as well. There were a couple of beers that were worth drinking, but this is definetly not a destination beer bar. We found the food very "so-so". Lots of fried stuff. The crab cake was ok, the ribs were tasteless, but covered in sauce. Potato disks were fried and tasted stale.

There are much better food / beer options within a few blocks of this location. We won't go back.

(01/22/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! So So Awesome!

Establishment: Burgh's Pizza and Wing Pub, Bridgeville, PA

Excellent draft beer selection, inlcuding Kastell and karmeleit Tripel, and Cherish Rasberry which I have not seen before on tap. Had more common belgiums as well: Hoegarden, stella artois, and leffe. They claim 28 beers on tap but this includes michelob, michelob ultra, bud, bud light etc. The thin deck pizza was one of the best I have ever eaten.

The service was OK, but the beer knowledge of the waitstaff was abysmal. The board listed a victory and a stoudt's; the waitress didn't know which beer from that line was available. We finally figured out that the stoudt's was their scarlet lady. I asked what style of beer this was, and the answer came "I'm not sure. I like Bud. I bet it's a pale ale...we get lots of pale ales". No offer to taste a sample or any desire to find more information.

It's just disappointing becuase you want places to "be all they can be". I'd still go back. It's hard to top of the combination of belgiums and fine pizza there.

(11/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Victory Brewing Company, Downingtown, PA

amazing beers. The food looked really good, based on what our neighbors were eating. Our french fry appetizer was awesome (a mixture of fried leeks, potatoes, and sweet potatos). The pizzas are OK...nothing exceptional. But the beer is worth the journey. It is a bit hard to find, made more difficult by some construction in the area.

(11/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Lousy Good

Establishment: Bitter End Bistro and Brewery, Austin, TX

This establishment offers a very adventerous selection of microbrews. They do generally fairly well with Belgiums in particular. The food front is better than most breweries, but not up to the quality of 1-2 years ago. Service has degraded considerably. This seems mostly a place for the "beautiful people" to see and be seen. Worth a visit, but may not be all that you hope for. But, there is Lovejoys.

(03/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Lousy Good

Establishment: Bitter End Bistro and Brewery, Austin, TX

This establishment offers a very adventerous selection of microbrews. They do generally fairly well with Belgiums in particular. The food front is better than most breweries, but not up to the quality of 1-2 years ago. Service has degraded considerably. This seems mostly a place for the "beautiful people" to see and be seen. Worth a visit, but may not be all that you hope for. But, there is Lovejoys.

(03/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Barley's Brewing Company, Columbus, OH

We were there for "Firkin Friday" In this case a very nice Barleywine. A little lighter in body than most, but nicely spiced and complex. They also had a pale ale on the beer engine which was wonderful. They also were doing a Rye IPA which was good, although not the best beer when it is cold and raining outside. We just had snacks at the bar, but these were good (0nion strings and chips).

(10/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Good So So

Establishment: Elevator Brewery and Draught Haus, Columbus , OH

I agree with a previous reviewer...Big selection of mostly mundane beers. The Octoberfest tasted like brown fizzy water. We had high hopes for the food after reading a review in a local alternative paper. I had crab cakes..OK, but the sauce was heavily overspiced. MY wife had the fish and chips. Huge portion of mostly batter, with the fish very dry and tough. I've had better at a chain.

(10/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A Good Good Good

Establishment: Brewer's Alley, Frederick, MD

Stopped in for a quick drink and some nacho's on the way to dinner. We had the cask ale on the beer engine. Simply amazing. To me ranked one of the top 10 microbrews I've had. Smooth, hint of sweetness, good body.

Nacho's were very good as well. Went with a buddy who generally drinks wine so I didn't get to try other stuff.

(10/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Chapter House, Ithaca, NY

One of the best bars I have been in. Not much to look at...the first time we visited Ithaca, we had'nt heard of this place, walked past it, and were didn't go in because it looked grungy. But I tell you, the beer selection was great, very decent barkeeps who know what they selling, generous tasting policy. Just a great place to spend an afternoon. We were there during summer when most of the students were gone. I'm told its a bit rowdier during school.

(06/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! N/A

Establishment: District ChopHouse and Brewery, Washington, DC

Bourbon stout was wonderful. A veru hoppy IPA. Great mussels at the bar. We'll go back for dinner, but this is the best beer I've found so far in DC. Worth a trip on the metro to the Chinatown stop

(04/22/2004)














(0.229 seconds) 13:05:42 54.91.84.149, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS