PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from moondoggie
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 23, 2014 @ 02:15 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
moondoggie

Beer Reviews
(21)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

21
Beer Reviews from moondoggie
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Good Good Great Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great So So Good

Establishment: Big Horse Brewing, Hood River, OR

Wow, the most recent review below is from nearly two years ago! We stopped in for a late lunch on Saturday, June 21, 2008. Here's an up-to-date impression. I think the food was the best brewpub-type fare I've ever had, my barbecue portobello mushroom sandwich was delicious, and generously sized. However, I paid an extra buck or so for the side of sweet potato fries and they didn't come with the special dipping sauce mentioned with the appetizer portion of them, like I assumed they would. We only had time to try two beers, an IPA and an ESB, both were very good. Now, the things that were negatives. The entire place seems a little dirty, ratty and worn out. Examples--lots of food debris on the floors, dirty bathrooms, and a lot of assorted junk has been thrown down next to the building in full view of the outside deck seating--if I recall correctly it was an old air conditioner and some broken deck chairs. As for service, there is a sign that says you must see the hostess for outside seating. It took a little while (not too bad) for anyone to notice us waiting, and then he said he would have to go out and wipe down a table for us. When he came back in he told us to "go ahead" instead of seating us. Meanwhile, I watched two women walk outside and plop down at the table that had just been wiped down for us. I guess we could have confronted them, but I wasn't in the mood, so we just another table that was free at the rear of the deck, not the better table he had cleared for us. All in all, I think things seemed pretty disorganized. The food and beer were good enough that I would definitely give it another try, but I think they need to pay more attention to the service and cleanliness issues.

(07/02/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good So So So So

Establishment: Bridgeport Brewing Company and Public House, Portland, OR

Like most of Portland, we were dying for the grand re-opening. And like most of Portland, were we ever disappointed (see the glut of negative reviews at portland.citysearch.com/profile/8462852/portland_or/bridgeport_brewpub_bakery.html) to see what I mean). The beer is still top-notch, but a place that was so cool to hang out and have a slice of pizza is now a sanitized corporate place. Dick Ponzi would be rolling over in his grave, if he were dead. In a few years no one will remember the old Bridgeport, and this place will have "awesome" right across the board. So if you were never at the old one, or if you prefer "nice" to well-worn, by all means get here. You'll love it. (I will say that the food being grilled out on the dock in back is a bright spot. I liked the old dock better, but the new dock is still better than indoors).

(08/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Lucky Labrador Public House, Portland, OR

Maybe calling Lucky Lab beer "great" is being a little too generous, because none of it knocks my socks off. But I've also never has a bad beer. And some are quite tasty. What does knock my socks off is the Northwest pizza--blue cheese, hazelnuts, pesto, oh my god it's good. It is the only pizza I have ever liked that omits the red sauce. Compared to the "real" Lucky Lab over on Hawthorne, this place is maybe a little too kid-friendly, contributing to the noise. But now that Bridgeport has been all gussied up, the Lucky Labs (including the new one on Quimby) are perhaps the quintessential Portland BP experience.

(08/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Columbia River Brewing Company was Laurelwood, Portland, OR

There are so many fantastic brewpubs in PDX "beervana" that it is hard to declare one the best. So I will just say that the overall experience here--the quality of the beers, the food, the service, the tone of the establishment, and so on---keeps me coming back, and I always bring out-of-towners here. It is just consistently excellent.

(08/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Great Great Good

Establishment: Mash Tun Brewpub, Portland, OR

We were here last fall during the baseball play-offs. A White-Sox-loving bar in PDX, that's the best! The look and feel of the place are great, too. They had not started making their own beer yet. The bartender was super-friendly and the food was maybe the best I have ever had in a brewpub, many vegan and vegetarian options. That's heaven for me, and I would love to be a regular here. But no way, because too smoky. Healthy vegan food and smoke just don't mix.

(08/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: Amnesia Brewing, Portland, OR

I love this place. The beers are borderline awesome, the outdoor area a nice place to soak up the sun and a few brews, and dog friendly. (After New Old Lompoc, the next nicest outdoor BP in town, I think). On my last visit I had my elderly mom, and a very-frightened Lab with me, and the bartender and grill tenders went out of their way to make everyhbody feel welcome--and I'm a fat old surburban guy, not an urban hipster. This is an excellent place and deserves all the good that can come their way.

(08/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: Tugboat Brewing Company, Portland, OR

How can I give a place with so-so beer a good overall? Well, I'm willing to give it another chance because I think it would be a really cool place to hang out, I love the space, the clientele, and the bartenders. But I also love beer, and there was a major problem here. Maybe the beer was infected, but I really think it was the pint glasses. They had an aroma that was, ah, shall I say, "funky?" It spoiled whatever the beer may have tasted like. Seriously, I almost didn't finish my pint because I was worried I might catch something. The only thing I could figure was that the dishwasher wasn't working right, was low on sanitizer, or something. So I'm going with good because, looking at the other reviews, something must have been wrong that night. I'll try again and report back, and it is definitely worth checking to form your own opinion. Be warned though--cigarette smoke can be an issue here, which also is hard on the beer palate.

(08/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good So So Great Great

Establishment: New Old Lompoc Pub and Brewery, Portland, OR

A cool place in a cool neighborhood. That is, if you like your BPs in the style of, say, Gritty McD's in Portland, Maine, or Arbor in Ann Arbor, Michigan. If you want new and shiny like a Rock Bottom, this ain't it. By the way, my food rating is based on a couple of veg items only, which were pretty average. Maybe some of the stuff for meat-eaters is great.

(02/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Old Market Pub, Portland, OR

An update to the review immediately below, now that I've visited once a week for months. It can have its off nights. Last visit my fries were cold, and the IPA so gone flat they shouldn't have been serving (but waiter quickly replaced with a Hop On! -- yum). My only 3 consistent gripes here are (1) vegetarians get soaked price-wise. For example, vegetarian gyros (grilled onions, mushrooms and peppers) cost $8.50, just like the meat version, and that doesn't even include fries. Ridiculous! (2) Fries cost $1.50 extra with burgers/sandwiches, and then the portion is quite small. Order chicken fingers on the other hand, they come wih enough fries to feed your family. (3) Would be nice to see a new seasonal a litle more often. So there you have it--I still love the place, and will continue my weekly visits.

(02/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Tablerock Brewpub and Grill, Boise, ID

On a x-country drive from Indiana to Portland, OR, hit brewpubs in Laramie, WY, and Iowa City, IA, the two nights before. Beer-wise, by far the best of the 3. The pale and the IPA were both quite good. Had a hummous appetizer that was outstanding. The group of regulars (always a good sign) sitting at the bar were really friendly, enjoyed watching the first game of the Sox-Astros WS with them.

(10/24/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Library Restaurant and Brewing Company, Laramie, WY

Had an IPA which was not bad. This is definitely a college bar, though. If you're over 25 years in age, you might want to stick with Altitude.

(10/24/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Altitude Chophouse and Brewery, Laramie, WY

Very nice establishment with great food very reasonably priced. I would definitely go back if I were in Laramie again. But to call it Awesome is overdoing it. I had an Oktoberfest and an IPA--neither had anything major wrong, but neither was memorable and weren't a whole lot different than drinking something bottled from a major brewer: i.e., they forgot to hop the IPA. I also tasted their pumpkin ale, and thought it was just plain bad. All three of these were seasonals, however, maybe their regular beers are a lot better. (It is pretty weird for a brewpub not to have a regular IPA, though, in my opinion.)

(10/24/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good

Establishment: McMenamins John Barleycorns, Tigard, OR

Typical McMenamins grub & beer. In kind of an office park/light industrial area, in a new building, built in the style of an old church, so atmosphere is kind of nice. Plus, nice outside patio. Warning: if you order an appetizer, DON'T give them your main course selection until it arrives. Otherwise, they have an annoying habit of serving them both at the same time, then being perplexed if you aren't happy about that; i.e., they don't seem to understand what "appetizer" means.

(10/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good So So

Establishment: McMenamins Greenway, Tigard, OR

Typical McMenamin's beer and grub. Located in a strip mall, so a little short on atmosphere.

(10/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Amnesia Brewing, Portland, OR

Just went Sunday afternoon. I only had time for one beer, a Sunshine IPA. Not a typical IPA, but quite good sitting in the sun on the patio out front, which is a nice place to enjoy a beer. If you're from out of town, get some good directions. I probably liked it more than my "good" indicates, and will be back to check it out further.

(09/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Old Market Pub, Portland, OR

I just moved to Tigard from Indiana and geez am I lucky to have the Market Pub about a mile from my house. If this BP were anywhere other than the Portland area, it would have to be ranked as awesome across the board. I don't know what the guy below means who says it didn't look clean--try comparing it to Lucky Labrador (which I love and am NOT knocking.) I love everything about the Market, and think their beers blow away many, many others--McMenamin's, to give one example. If you're visiting Portland and made a special trip out from downtown to check it out, you might not think that was worth it. But if you take surface streets it is only a few minutes away from the zoo, Rose Garden, etc. so you might think about it. Again, what a neighborhood treasure.

(09/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Lady Falconburgh's Barley Exchange, Durango, CO

Beer selection nirvana with 38 micros on tap. Only reason for the n/a on quality is, it depends on what you're drinking, doesn't it? No problems with the quality in terms of them keeping lines clean or anything like that. LF is totally non-smoking in a building that is totally NS. A very cool place--don't be put off by the fact that it is downstairs. There are tables in an atrium which gives it an open feel, or you can hunker down in a more cavern-like area behind the bar.

(03/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Carver Brewing Company, Durango, CO

Had a great meal and read the "good" on beer as "very good." If you are bothered by second-hand smoke, I think you will prefer Carver BC by a mile over Steamworks.

(03/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Steamworks Brewing Company, Durango, CO

Very nice place, very crowded. Enjoyed my beer. But loaded with cigarette smokers. Carver's on Main Street is totally non-smoking, so that is my preferred venue in Durango. Also, Lady Falconburgh's on Main is NS and has about 38 micros on tap.

(03/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Awesome! Good

Establishment: Oaken Barrel Brewing Company, Greenwood, IN

I have enjoyed the bottled versions of the Gnaw Bone Pale and Indiana Amber and have been wanting to visit this place for quite some time. I think many people would absolutely love this place and nothing I say is intended to discourage a visit--I'm just giving the facts, filtered through my personal perception. First, the 2 bartenders were awesome and very friendly. You couldn't ask for more. Second, The Gnaw Bone Pale was great, but my (Spitfly?)IPA definitely had an off-flavor. That makes for an average of "good" although maybe sometimes the IPA is fine and the beers should be rated higher. The decor is very, very nice. The place was just too smoky for me, and located in a strip mall at an interstate exit. I am taking the suggestion of many smokers I know, and voting with my feet by moving to a non-smoking state, and I like BPs that are funky old downtown places. (Think Troy, Gritty McDuffs, Green Man, Lafayette Brewing, Arbor, etc.) So Oaken Barrel really doesn't do it for me. If you don't mind smoke and location, you will love it. The beers here are far better, to me, than the chains in downtown Indy.

(10/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good So So Great

Establishment: New Holland Brewing Company, Holland, MI

I wonder where all the older reviews went? Anyway, last October was the first time I had the chance for a lengthy visit here since they moved into their fancy new downtown digs. The beer is still excellent (Mad Hatter -- yum!) but they have stopped making the Island Amber which was my wife's favorite beer (unusually hoppy for an amber). The pizza is still very good, but the new venue has brought a change in attitude. In the old warehouse things were friendly and funky. In the glitzy new spot, the staff acts quite snobby, maybe to go with, or in reaction to, what appears to be a different clientele. The hostess was so openly rude when we told her we didn't like the table she tried to put us at that we almost left. If I lived in the area, it is unfortunate that the staff would make me think twice about being a regular--I didn't used to feel that way about NHBC.

(02/23/2004)














(0.268 seconds) 14:15:04 54.82.166.45, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS