PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from monte
Other Reviews by this User
 
April 20, 2014 @ 07:20 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
monte

Beer Reviews
(36)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

36
Beer Reviews from monte
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Prism Brewing Company, North Wales, PA

I visited back in August. I wish there were more places like this. They have a very creative approach to brewing. They recently opened a taproom/brewpub with seven beers on tap, and each was either a twist on a traditional style, or defied any category. The first beer I tried was the Shady Blond, which was a very dry summer beer brewed with blood oranges. I found it a bit too dry for my taste. Next I tried their flagship beer, Bitto Honey IPA. I really liked this, it had a nice hop flavor with the honey providing a great balance – not sweet, but it smoothed things out. Very well done. Finally, I had the Funk Zone. This was described as one of their beers (flavored with pumpkin pie spices) that was dosed with brett, to give it the characteristic sourness. Since Rodenbach is one of my favorite beers, I had to try it, although I was a bit unsure about the pumpkin pie spices (not a big fan). It was great! The sourness was pronounced, and the spices served as a really nice background.

They don’t have much in the way of food (hot dogs with some interesting-sounding toppings, and bags of chips). The bartender, Jack, was friendly and knowledgeable. If you’re an adventurous beer drinker, make it a point to visit.

(12/02/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Sin City Brewing Company, Las Vegas, NV

This was a pleasant surprise! Found their location in the Venetian. Not much of a "pub", maybe 10 seats and a couple of TVs. But the beauty of Vegas is you can take your beer with you, so I grabbed a hefeweizen and enjoyed it as my wife and I walked back to our hotel. The hefe was very true to style, nice banana aroma, tart, good body, and very refreshing. Server was friendly. Pints were a little pricey, but in line with other options for quality beer in the area.

(11/22/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Pike Brewery and Pub, Seattle, WA

Been here several times on trips to Seattle. I really like their IPA - nice citrus hop aroma/flavor perfectly balanced by the malt. They have a nice variety of beer styles (though I've only had the IPA and the Pale). It's a lively place, just a few doors down from the main market, but we've always been able to find a place to sit and relax. A must-stop when in the area.

(10/29/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: The Peekskill Brewery, Peekskill, NY

Stopped in on Saturday for a beer. Had the Paramount Pale Ale - it was excellent. Nice hop aroma and citrus character, but not overly bitter. Every bit as good as those I've had in the Pacific Northwest. Also tasted the Vanilla Bourbon Stout, which was nice - malty, but not really sweet. The bartender (didn't get his name) was very enthusiastic about the beers and quick to explain the profile and offer a taste (not just with me, but with every customer I saw him serve). Exactly what I want to see in a brewpub.

They only had four of their own beers, but did have another 10 or so guest beers on tap, with a good mix of local and better-known micros in a variety of styles (I didn't rate their selection as "Awesome" only because of the low number of their own beers). Overall, it's a great place for great beer - I'll be back.

(03/08/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: The Pratt Street Ale House, Baltimore, MD

Stopped in for a quick beer a few days ago while driving through the area. Had the cask-conditioned Best Bitter - exceptional. It was as good a session beer as almost any of the real ales I've had during trips to England. I wished I was able to stay longer, though it would have been tough to decide whether to try one of the other styles or just stick with perfection. Bartender was friendly. Didn't try the food. I'd definitely recommend a visit, preferable not on a gameday, though.

(10/30/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Coddington Brewing Company, Middletown, RI

My brother and I stopped in a couple of weekends ago on a hot day and each had a hefeweizen. It was very nicely balanced, true to style, perfectly refreshing. Also had a cup of the chowder, which was creamy and loaded with clams. They had some interesting beer styles (watermelon ale, blueberry wheat), but I wanted a classic and wasn't disappointed.

(08/28/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Widmer Brothers Brewing Company, Portland, OR

Stopped in for a beer a few nights ago and had to have a hefe, since I really like that style and it's their flagship beer. It was very good, but I've had better from lesser-known brewers. Bar area is really small, especially given the size of the brewery buildings. Servers were friendly.

(08/01/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Hopworks Urban Brewery, Portland, OR

Stopped in for a mid-afternoon beer a few days ago. Nice setup, lots of open space. Had their draft IPA, which was very good. It hits you with its citrus aroma and flavor, but has some good malt in the background. Also tasted their cask version, which was softer and smoother - really nice. Bartenders were very personable. Would recommend a visit.

(08/01/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Good

Establishment: Basil T's Brew Pub and Italian Grill, Toms River, NJ

My wife and I were in the area yesterday, so we stopped in for a beer and a late lunch (our first visit here). I had an IPA - it was good, but I'm spoiled a bit by what I've had recently in the Pacific NW, and this just doesn't compare. The beer selection was varied, there were the three regulars (lite, red ale, and IPA) as well as three seasonals (golden ale, winter ale and doppelbock). I had the spicy balsamic calamari which was very good. It had a nice balance of spice and sweetness, and the calamari was very tender. My wife liked her chopped Cobb salad. Overall, I'd visit again when nearby, but it's not a must-go destination.

(12/31/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: High Point Brewing, Butler, NJ

I make it up to the brewery a few times a year, most recently this past Saturday for the open house (second Sat. of the month, except for Jan and Feb). Their beers are excellent, especially their wheat beers. The blonde is my overall favorite, it's very true to style (compares favorably to Paulaner Hefeweizen, which is a classic). This visit I had my growler filled with their Winter Wheat, which is a strong, dark style, (I guess you could call it a "weizendoppelbock"). As much as I am enjoying it, I wished I had gotten a growler of the Platinum Blonde they were sampling (I tasted it after I filled my growler), as it was outstanding. Perfect balance, with a little more kick than the standard blonde.

You don't need to wait for an open house to stop by, but call ahead to make sure they are open (I don't know what their normal hours of operation are).

(12/16/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Triumph Brewing Company, Princeton, NJ

Thought Id post a more recent review since no one has put one up in a couple of years.

I love this place. It takes almost 90 minutes for me to get down there, but its well worth it. I was there a couple of nights ago  I wanted to catch the Gothic Ale, which they have on the handpump every year around this time. The flavoring is a mixture of spices called gruit, which was widely used in northern Europe before hops became dominant. Probably not to everyones taste, but I really enjoy it, and how many places offer something like this, which is not only creative but highly drinkable? Anyway, enjoyed a couple, had a light meal (the duck quesadillas, which were very good) and even got to talk a little with the brewer, Tom. Really nice guy, and unduly modest about his beers. I think he deserves a lot of credit for his variety, and his ability to execute so many different styles so well. My bartender, Christine, was friendly  all in all, I couldnt ask for a better visit.

(03/12/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Trap Rock Restaurant and Brewery, Berkeley Heights, NJ

In response to the question of whether they are still open, they were in May, and I'm sure they still are. The problem is that the link provided on this page is no longer valid - their new website is at: http://traprockrestaurant.net/

In May, I had a their IPA which was very hoppy (could have used a little more malt to balance it). I've always enjoyed their beers. They usually have a nice variety in styles.

(08/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Kelly's Brewpub, Albuquerque, NM

Went there late afternoon for a beer. The patio wasn't crowded so I sat out there and had a very refreshing hefeweizen. True to style, perfect for a summer afternoon. They have a huge selection of their beers on tap, spanning a variety of styles. Service was friendly.

(08/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: 75th Street Brewery, Kansas City, MO

Was in town on business and stopped in for a beer after dinner. Had the Mighty Mo' Stout - it was outstanding. Great balance of roastiness, sweetness and hops. Nicely done. Great atmosphere as well.

(05/19/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Kona Brewing Company, Honolulu, HI

My wife and I stopped in during our vacation last week for a beer and snack. Had the Pipeline Porter - great roasted coffee aroma and flavor. We enjoyed our appetizer, the Mauna Loa Volcano Rolls. Would recommend stopping in, if you're exploring in the area (it's close to Hanauma Bay, a popular snorkling spot).

(02/20/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Maui Brewing Company, Lahaina, Maui, HI

Stopped in for a beer on vacation last week and the Pale Ale was the daily special, so I tried one. Very good, aggressively hopped (maybe more like what I would expect from an IPA). Bartender was friendly - provided samples to help a few of the other customers select a style they might like.

(02/20/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Engine House Number 9, Tacoma, WA

Stopped in on a Sunday afternoon for a pint and a light lunch. Had the IPA, nice balance, very good. My wife and I shared a halibut sandwich which was good (the fries were great). Cool building, lots of old firehouse decor.

(07/27/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Elysian Brewing Company - Capitol Hill, Seattle, WA

Stopped in at about 4 pm on a Friday - it wasn't crowded and service was attentive. Had the Immortal IPA cask - excellent. Nicely hopped, perfect balance, very drinkable. Also tasted the Jasmine IPA - it was very "jasminey" (what did I expect?). Interesting, but I don't think I'd want a whole pint. They had about 10 of their own beers on tap, with a great range in styles, and a few interesting guest beers as well. Not too far from the downtown area, parking wasn't a problem at that time of day. Highly recommended.

(07/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Peaks Pub, Port Angeles, WA

This place is kind of a sleeper. From the outside (and inside), it looks like a small bar you might find in just about any neighborhood - a pool table, dart board, and some local guys having a beer or two. They offer about 15 beers on tap, mostly micros from Washington and Oregon. They did have one of their own, Ed's Red Imperial Ale. Had to try it and I'm glad I did. Served in a smaller glass, it was great - sweet, but balanced, very drinkable. Could easily sneak up on you with its higher alcohol content....Worth a stop if in the area.

(07/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Rogue Ales / Oregon Brewing and Brewer's on the Bay, Newport, OR

Stopped in after dinner on our one night in Newport. Tremendous selection of their beers, but it does make it tough if you're only going to have one or two. Decided to go for something unusual and had the Juniper Pale Ale (where else are you going to be able to get something like this on tap?!). It was great - nice hop character but the juniper came through as well. The only other brewpub I've visited with a selection (in terms of numbers/styles) even close to this is Victory (in PA). A must visit if you're in the Pacific NW (I think they offer pretty much the same huge selection at all of their locations).

(09/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Pelican Pub and Brewery, Pacific City, OR

We were driving down the coast on our vacation and stopped in mid-afternoon for a pint. Decided on the Doryman Dark - perfect balance, very nice. The location can't be beat. Worth a side trip from Portland to see the coast and sample the brews.

(09/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Bill's Tavern and Brewhouse, Cannon Beach, OR

What a great place! Stopped in for a beer on a weeknight and there were a bunch of musicians sitting around a couple of tables playing bluegrass. The beer was great and the service was very friendly. Would highly recommend a visit (the Cannon Beach area itself is worth a drive).

(09/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Bridgeport Brewing Company and Public House, Portland, OR

Visited the Alehouse for lunch a couple of days ago and had the cask IPA - it was great, but I think the keg version is even better (it's a little hoppier). Also had a bowl of soup (chipotle fish stew) which was very good. Large selection of their beers, a little out of the way from downtown, but in an interesting area (the Hawthorne section).

(09/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Kutztown Tavern / Golden Avalanche Brewing Company, Kutztown, PA

Stopped in for a beer after a trip out to the Kutztown PA. German Festival. I'm a big fan of hefeweizens during summer, so I had the Donner Weiss. It wasn't bad, just not very good. Somewhere between so-so and good. It didn't have much tartness (the lemon helped a little, but a good hefe doesn't need it), was a little paler and thinner-bodied than it should have been. My wife had the same impression. Place seemed nice otherwise, and I'd give it another shot if back in the area.

(07/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: Union Station Brewery was John Harvard's Brew House, Providence, RI

Stopped in for dinner and a beer after the Sox opener. They didn't have a huge selection of beer, but I give them credit for diversity - among the 5 they offered was a Belgian-style ale and on the hand-pump they had a milk stout. Decided on the stout. It was true to style, malty, somewhat but not overly sweet. My brother had the Golden Spike (American-style) Ale - nicely balanced, moderately hopped. Foodwise, we were looking for something simple - they accomodated us and let us order from the lunch menu. Definitely worth a visit when in the area.

(04/13/2005)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.141 seconds) 19:20:21 54.211.27.61, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS