PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from mark
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 28, 2014 @ 05:33 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
mark

Beer Reviews
(4)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

4
Beer Reviews from mark
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Awesome!

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Waterfront Ale House, Brooklyn, NY

I haven't done much reviewing in the last several months (see my 2001 & 2002 entries below) since Karen and I have been somewhat out of circulation throughout her pregnancy. But now that little Olivia has joined the pubcrawling world, we are going back (EAGERLY) to the Waterfront later today. And to make sure that she is properly attired, I've equipped her with her very own Daddy-made Waterfront onsie (see attached picture at the top of this page)!

(06/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Waterfront Ale House, Brooklyn, NY

For those of you who may have read my 1999 and 2000 reviews, my wife, Karen, and I were a little out of circulation while she was pregnant. However, now that little Olivia has joined the pubcrawling world, we look forward to making the trek back to the place where her Mommy and I first met. If I did it right, there should be a picture of Olivia in her homemade Waterfront onesie attached to this page. Can't wait to go back!!!

(05/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Country Inn, Krumville, NY

Several years ago, a dear friend of mine who lived in Accord, NY sent me a letter about a local place in the Catskills that he had just been to with what he considered to be an impressive array of beers. He invited me upstate to have a beer with him when I could get away. Unfortunately, Joe passed on shortly after his 91st birthday and we never did get to have that beer. Several years later, my wife, Karen, and I finally bit the bullet and drove two hours to find this quaint little place in the middle of nowhere accompanied by Joe's picture. We, and several of our friends from NJ, CT and upstate NY were amazed by the depth and breadth of the selection: hundreds of beers, including many near impossible to find elsewhere. Larry, the owner, was gracious, helpful, and exceedingly tolerant. While the food was not fancy, it was filling and there were enough beers to find an appropriate match for whatever was on the menu. Thanks, Larry, for a wonderful time and thank you, Joe, for letting me know of the Country Inn in the first place. I guess that's just one more I owe you.

(04/03/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Great

Establishment: Trap Rock Restaurant and Brewery, Berkeley Heights, NJ

In Rob Mullin's defense, my friends and family had a wonderful experience at Trap Rock recently. As Rob points out, food is king here ... exceptionally well-prepared and always flavorful. While service was a little spotty on our last visit, that seems to be an aberration from the norm. Rob has indeed been tweaking some of the beers lately. His two recent seasonals, an imperial stout and a double bock were outstanding representations of the style. I look forward to him extending the same level of attention to more of the "regular" line that he largely inherited. Regarding his recent comments concerning Trap Rock's atmosphere ... all I can say is, "It is what it is." His description was accurate. This certainly isn't your typical brewpub, nor does it purport to be. If it's not your cup of tea, so be it. Personally, I think there's room for a more upscale version on occasion. Finally, I found Rob's recent comments anything but self-serving. They seemed honest, forthright and even a little humble. I look forward to hearing about (and maybe sampling) Rob's upcoming Imperial Pilsner being brewed for Michael Jackson's birthday celebration at the Bricksleller in Washington, DC.

(01/05/2002)














(0.048 seconds) 17:33:02 54.205.179.23, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS