PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from mark
Other Reviews by this User
 
December 20, 2014 @ 04:28 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
mark

Beer Reviews
(94)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

94
Beer Reviews from mark
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Capital Ale House, Richmond, VA

We enjoyed a nice afternoon looking over the voluminouis list of beers at this most well-appointed establishment. The warm woods and indirect lighting made this a most comfortable venue. With an attentive and knowledgeable waitstaff, the experience was most impressive. A large bar with an ice strip running through it gave the place a very professional appearance. The large wall of taps with some of the best of the local scene and the world would make a beer geek look twice. Parking is very limited, but it is readily accessible walking or by public transportation. We only enjoyed dessert here, but the menu looked inviting and we hope to stop in again and enjoy the atmosphere and the beers!

(10/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Richbrau Brewing Company and Restaurant, Richmond, VA

Parking in this section of town is limited and one should be prepared to walk here if possible. The atmosphere in this old building was quite comfortable and the waitstaff very pleasant, though somewaht slow. The beers were great but not exceptional. As with all places, they have their pedigrees and their mutts. I found the Big Nasty Porter and Shockoe Espresso Stout full-bodied and roasty. The barleywine will probably improve with age and the Oktoberfest was well-balanced. This is certainly worth a visit and you should take home some of your favorites in bottles.

(10/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Main Street Beer Company, Richmond, VA

Quite a surprise when we found this place. The ultra-modern decor was bright and pleasant, the bartender was very attentive and the beers were better than I expected. I did not anticipate world class beers and I was not disappointed. The selection is quite large though droll. Not a whole lot in the way of taste, but the Mango was very fruity and the Porter roasty. Certainly not a beer geeks destination, but a nice venue to sit and spend some time drinking session beers.

(10/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Legend Brewing Company, Richmond, VA

We enjoyed a very pleasant experience at Legend with an attentive waitstaff and management. Food and beers were very good with the APA as a standout for a hophead like myself. The vistas of the river and the Richmond skyline were excellent also. Looking forward to a return visit.

(10/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Delafield Brewhaus, Delafield, WI

We were not prepared for the eye-catching beauty of this building. A new edifice that reminded me of a ski lodge, the bar was impressive with a large dining area. We sat and watched the wood brick oven pizza being made while we enjoyed a nice dinner. The beers ranged from mediocre to very good. If I allow for my bias for lighter selections, they were all very good. I like big, bold beers and it is sometimes hard to separate my tastes from style. The beers were up to style, but not my taste. The Pewaunee Porter was my favorite and the Orange Blossom Wit caught me as the most refreshing for a nice summer beer. In spite of the place being crowded, we did not feel fenced in due to the high ceilings and size of the room. At night with all the lights on, it is an impressive sight from the interstate. Easy to find and close to our hotel, this will be a repeat whenever we're back in Wisconsin. Keep up the great work!

(08/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: J.T. Whitney's Brewpub and Eatery, Madison, WI

Stopped for lunch when we pulled into Madison. Venue reminded me of an old 60's bar that could use some updating, but we were there for the beer and food. The sampler revealed a nice selection of beers with the Dark Alt and the Rauch standing out. A nice lunch crowd tells me that this place is also a food destination. Looking forward to another visit.

(08/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Mishawaka Brewing Company, Mishawaka, IN

On our way to Madison, WI, we stopped here to have lunch. The size and the decor of the place was most impressive. I would love to have a place like this at home! The beers and food were very good. They also have a homebrew shop there! Don't know when we'll be out there again, but it will be a stop when we do. This is a gem in a small town.

(08/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Barley's Brewing Company, Columbus, OH

Stopped on our way back from Wisconsin and enjoyed a wonderful Sunday dinner here. The beers were quite good with a wide variety....I tasted them all in a sampler. Liked the Scottish Ale the best and took a growler with us. Easy to find in the heart of downtown, the venue is a renovated older building with lots of character. Make this a stop when traveling through Columbus.

(08/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: The Church Brew Works, Pittsburgh , PA

We've wanted to visit here for so long and finally had the chance last week. The building is quite unique for a brewpub and lends so much to the fantastic beers and outstanding food. Menu is quite eclectic. This is a must-stop. Set your sights on Pittsburgh!

(08/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: The Brew Pub was Ramapo Valley Brewery, Suffern, NY

We stopped by the day before Neill left and we were not impressed by the beer or the ambiance. I guess I just expected something different. When I found out 2 days later that Neill left, I could see why the beer was not the best. I guess we'll have to give it another chance when we return to the area.

(05/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Goose Island Beer Company - Clybourn, Chicago, IL

Got to this location at Real Ale this year. Place was quite crowded but we managed to seat ourselves in the bar area without delay. Enjoyed some wonderful food and beer despite not feeling our best. They are an asset to the city of Chicago and hope they continue to prosper.

(03/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Chicago, IL

Despite the reputation of some of these places, I found the beer to be quite flavorful and true to style. The chains don't always leave room for their brewers' imagination, but that is the nature of the business. We were there during Real Ale 2003 and they seem to put their best foot forward at these times, but I couldn't imagine the beer being brewed just for the visiting crowds. The vertical sampling of barleywines, I found to be very interesting and I fell in love with their 2000 vintage made with lots of malt and just a bit of hops. It was not because it was so goo, it was because it was so different....fruity flavors bursting on the tongue, certainly not a normal barleywine! The 2001 & 2002 were brewed to style. This is certainly the best Rock Bottom I have been in and look forward to another visit.

(03/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Eulogy Belgian Tavern, Philadelphia, PA

A fantastic selection of beers on tap and in bottle. Small venue but comfortable. There is a small upstairs room for dining which is quite cozy. Food is mostly Belgian-influenced but with an American touch. Prices are about equal with the area, Look forward to our next trip there!

(03/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Brewer's Art, Baltimore, MD

Our first visit to this comfortable venue. It is not how I pictured it, but places rarely are. I have had their beers at many fests, but have not been to Baltimore in several years. We made this trip for the express purpose of dining here. We weren't disappointed. The bar and restaurant have a homey feel to them as do the employees. We had excellent beer, excellent food and an attentive waiter, Anthony. We had Ozzy, Resurrection, Proletary and Cerberus; All excellent Belgian beers! Our dinner was exceptional topped off by one of the best desserts I've ever had! Looking forward to our next trip there. Don't miss this brewpub when in Baltimore!

(02/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great

Establishment: Victory Brewing Company, Downingtown, PA

No matter how many times you come here, the place is always great! We stopped in for the barbecue today and enjoyed some fine pulled pork sandwiches and potato salad as well as Victory's fantastic brews. We've normally gotten good service here though at times it could be better. Their wide selection of beers leaves something for everyone and the eclectic menu will fill the bill no matter what you're looking for. Quality is Job 1 here and Bill & Ron seek nothing else but to supply the best product they can to the public. They are very attentive to your opinions and I'm sure will do what they can to correct any valid complaints put forth to them. Don't sweat the details! Come here to relax and enjoy the ambiance, food and beer!

(07/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Selin's Grove Brewing, Selinsgrove, PA

This is one of those quaint places that you can't help but fall in love with! A very small bar and dining area in this historic old building, though in the nice weather you can sit outside on the patio. The entrance trellis is covered with hops which right away tells you this is a Real beer place!!! The menu is limited with a slant toward vegetarian/healthy though meat dishes and sandwiches are available. Not a vegetarian, I decided to be adventurous and order the Thai Peanut Curry and was not disappointed...it was excellent!! Steven make s small quantities of beers on his 3 barrel system and his aim is Quality with a capital Q. He picked us out as beer geeks and brought us some of his famous barleywine and Imperial Stout....Nectar of the Gods!! It was everything I was told it was going to be and more! We cannot wait to return and spend more time at this most delightful of brewpubs! Keep it up Steven and Heather!!

(07/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Bullfrog Brewery, Williamsport, PA

Stopped in for lunch and was immediately impressed with the look of the brewpub. We found Mark & Chris hard at work brewing a wheat beer and got a chance to talk to Chris about what's coming up and how the venue is doing in general. We enjoyed a fine meal with great service and a lot of wonderfully flavorful brews. We had had many of their beers at various festivals but had never made it to Williamsport. We will definitely stop back when in the area. Chris was very attentive to our opinions and made for a very pleasant visit. Keep up the good work and thanks for an outstanding experience.

(07/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: McKenzie Brew House, Glen Mills, PA

Enjoyed our first visit on the hottest day of the year. We had a pleasant lunch with a sampler of all the beers. I found a very unusual thing... all the beers had flavor! There are many places you go where at least one of the beers has no taste, but this was not the case. We got a chance to talk to Scott and he brought up some of his Double Wit which was excellent. We enjoyed all the beers...the Belgian Pale Ale and Settlers Pale Ale stood out to me. Looking forward to our next excursion there. Give it a try. It is a large building with a large bar area and a game room dowstairs. Stop by when in the area.

(07/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Tun Tavern Brewing Company, Atlantic City, NJ

The Tun is my local brewpub and we get there often. Ted has certainly hit his stride and is making great beer. Keep up the good work! The food, however, is not consistent. They have been through several chefs and it seems that it depends on what day you get there as to what they'll serve that's good. I haven't had an excellent meal(good, but not excellent) there since Jim left 2 years ago. But the trip is worth it for the beer alone. The IPA and the Brown are excellent, the Wheat and Hefe are refreshing and the stout bold and tasty. I trust that the cooking staff will catch up to the brewing staff and will be a complete brewpub again.

(06/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: Heavyweight Brewing Company, Ocean Township, NJ

Such big beers from such a small place! Lunacy, Baltus, Perkuno's Hammer, Two Druids Gruit Ale and then his seasonals, Stickenjab, Old Salty Barleywine, Cinderbock...all big and full of flavor! Look for his Biere de Garde coming out in limited edition soon! If in the area, call and see if you can stop by and visit! Look for all of Heavyweight's beers in NJ, PA, New York City and now MD and check out the website for events. If you haven't tried any of these, do it! You won't be disappointed.

(06/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Blind Tiger Ale House, New York, NY

I was certainly surprised that an establishment of this size would have such fantastic beers! 24 taps and some of the best beers in the world! We came for a special tasting and would love to return every day! Alas, we live so far away! I wonder if Dave would like to open up a place down my way!! When in NYC, don't miss this place. It is a beer geeks Mecca!

(05/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Gilded Otter, New Paltz, NY

I was quite surprised at how pleasant our experience was here. Their website is quite appealing and I always wanted to stop. Well, we finally got our chance while in the area on vacation. It was certainly worth the stop. Despite the second rate motel we had to endure, the ambiance of the restaurant was most comfortable, bright and cheery. The large bar area and dining room accommodates the customer load well and the vistas from the large windows and doors is quite pleasant. The sprawling deck on the side would be a very comfortable place to sit and enjoy the nice weather. They had a great beer selection and the quality was what one would expect. The Rail Trail Pale Ale and the Weizenbock were my favorites and the Weizenbock was excellent!!! I hope to make it back up there soon! Cheers!!!

(05/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Davidson Brothers Restaurant and Brewery, Glens Falls, NY

I would like to reiterate what my distinguished colleague Lew Bryson had to say. I'm also a sucker for old buildings and this one really had charm! We had great service, wonderful beers and a very tasty lunch. And as Mr. Nowicki stated, I DID save my Scotch Ale for dessert! I'm sure the outside patio would be a great place to spend summer days and nights. Unfortunately, we live several hundred miles away or we'd be regulars! Their IPA was also excellent with an assertive lupulin nose and palate and I took a sixer home with me! This is a must stop for those going that way!

(05/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Vermont Pub and Brewery, Burlington, VT

We were impressed by the beautifully appointed bar and dining area. The beer list was also quite exceptional. They even had 2 on cask! The sampler gave me a chance to taste most of the beers. Found the IPA and the Maple Ale to be outstanding with the Smoked Porter not far behind. Our meal was well presented and delicious. Our waitress was attentive and informative. I would be here every day if I lived nearby. Can't wait for the next visit!

(05/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Three Needs Taproom, Burlington, VT

It was mobbed when we got there with young kids. I was definitely the oldest in the place. Got to try the trpel and the Stout, both very good, but the smoke and inability to hear yourself think would keep this from being a regular visit if I were a local.

(05/12/2002)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]













(0.359 seconds) 04:28:15 54.87.89.176, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS