PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from mark stoffan
Other Reviews by this User
 
November 22, 2014 @ 06:00 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
mark stoffan

Beer Reviews
(129)

Restaurant Reviews
(1)






User Tagline: Beer me!
Favorite Beer: Bosco's
Located In: Arkansas

129
Beer Reviews from mark stoffan
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome!
Great Great Awesome! Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: 100 Proof Social Club, Tallahassee, FL

A new bar adjacent to the Liquor Loft beer store. 28 taps and 200+ beers by the bottle. It's non-smoking and a welcome addition to Tallahassee. On a recent Saturday night the crowd included students, community people and others watching the FSU game on the large screen TV. There were 2 for 1 draft specials and a full bar. No food, but the adjacent Ruby Tuesday's will deliver.

(11/28/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Fermentation Lounge, Tallahassee, FL

A new upscale, nonsmoking establishment featuring seven rotating taps and 40-70 beers by the bottle. Also has a good selection of wines. A welcome addition to the limited local beer scene.

(11/28/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Lousy Good Great So So

Establishment: Shenanigan's Irish Pub, Tallahassee, FL

A faux Irish bar with Guinness and Harp on draft along with several Bud selections. They also have Smithwicks in a bottle along with more A-B products. Clientele were mostly Budsucking retirees. I was probably the only person under 60. Food was OK, but the bangers and mash weren't authentic, having no gravy or onions. This is not a destination for people who like good beer.

(08/16/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Leon Pub, Tallahassee, FL

A classic dive bar, smoky and run down. They have wooden booths and a couple of pool tables. They also have the only good beer selection in Tallahassee. If you come in the early evening the smoke is usually tolerable. The staff know their beer and the varied clientele are friendly.

(08/16/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Moriarty's, Philadelphia, PA

I hit this place on a cold, rainy night. Coming through the door I really felt like I was entering an Irish pub, especially with the smiling, brunette hostess so easy on the eyes. Beers included Dogfish Head 60, Victory Hop Devil and Golden Monkey, Yards IPA and Pale, Chimay, Arrogant Bastard, Delirium Tremens, and Flying Fish Grande Cru. The fish and chips was excellent, and the other food I saw looked pretty good, too. The bartender was very knowledgeable about his beers. I'll visit again when in Philadelphia.

(03/21/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Moriarty's, Philadelphia, PA

I hit this place one evening on a cold, rainy night. Coming through the door really felt like entering an Irish pub, especially with the smiling, brunette hostess so easy on the eyes. Beers included Dogfish Head 60, Victory Hop Devil and Golden Monkey, Yards IPA and Pale, Chimay, Arrogant Bastard, Delirium Tremens, and Flying Fish Grande Cru. The fish and chips was excellent, and the other food I saw looked pretty good, too. The bartender was very knowledgeable about his beers. I'll visit again when in Philadelphia.

(01/30/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So So So Good

Establishment: Cregeen's Irish Pub, North Little Rock, AR

Crageens is a new, Irish-themed pub in the reviving city of North Little Rock. Next to the Flying Saucer south of the river, it has what is most likely the widest beer choices in the state. About 30 taps are rounded out by a wide selection of bottles, including many choices from Britain, Germany, and, of course, Ireland.

They had only been open a few weeks when I visited, and the service was poor, with initial discussion taking place over who was going to serve us while we sat uncomfortably. Food choices sounded great, but the quality was mediocre. The kitchen needs lessons in seasoning, including salt and pepper. My wife's chicken pot pie was very bland, and while my bangers and mash were OK, the potatoes were instant! No Irish bar should ever serve instant potatoes.

The atmosphere is very nice, with little snugs and small rooms scattered throughout. A change in the kitchen would make this place highly recommendable. As it stands, go for the beer and the company and have dinner elsewhere.

(01/26/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Flying Saucer, Little Rock, AR

The Saucer is salvation for beer lovers in Arkansas. For a number of reasons (political and economic) the beer selection in the state is comparatively limited. Here you can get 75 drafts and 200 bottles. While many well-known breweries aren't available, there's enough choice to put a smile on anyone's face. Children under 21 are not allowed under state law, as it's a bar and permits smoking. It's also the only location in the chain that's closed on Sunday. Food is average pub fare. The servers are cute young women is short skirts. I try to visit weekly.

(01/26/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great N/A

Establishment: Vino's, Little Rock, AR

A classic dive bar, complete with sagging wallpaper, graffiti on the walls, and a mixed clientèle ranging from bikers to Goths to family groups. Great pizza and calzones, and the open kitchen allows a good view of the pizza dough being tossed in the air. Vinos is unusual in that it has no bar, only tables distributed through several rooms. You order at the counter, get your beer, find a table and the food is brought to you. They have live bands most nights on a stage in the back room, and it can get loud! Beers are excellent, and are available in growlers as well. I find the beers to be better than other reviewers have indicated, but I'm a recent transplant to LR and maybe things have changed. I know Vinos has taken medals at GABF in the past, so they must be doing something right. It's not the easiest place to find, but worth the trip.

(01/26/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: Diamond Bear Brewing Company, Little Rock, AR

Arkansas' only microbrewery, Diamond Bear is an excellent brewery that distributes its beers throughout the state. Their English Pale Ale won the gold at the 2007 GABF and they've won several times in the past. They give tours on Saturday afternoons, but the best place to try their beers on draft is at the Flying Saucer near the River Market. Too many local restaurants and bars do not support their local brewery, unfortunately.

(01/26/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Boscos, Little Rock, AR

Boscos in Little Rock is a haven in a state not known for its beer. Several regular beers are always available along with rotating seasonals. The Hefeweizen took the gold medal in the 2007 GABF, one of two golds won this year by Little Rock brewers. Th beers are aways well-kept and the food has been excellent when we've been here. Service is attentive and professional. They tap a cask beer each Friday at 6:30, and it's worth being here for it.

(01/26/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Fergie's Pub, Philadelphia, PA

A classic, neighborhood bar. It had a handpump with Grog brown ale from nearby Nodding Head. The bartender was Irish which added to the atmosphere. I only stopped in for one beer before meeting friends, but would like to hang out here and try the food. A bit off the regular path and worth finding.

(01/26/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Monk's Cafe, Philadelphia, PA

This is one of a handful of bars to which a true beer lover must make a pilgrimage at least once in a lifetime. It ranks with the Brickskeller and the Toronado for the quality of the beers. The focus here is on Belgian beer, and lots of it. I had Delirium Tremens on draft, and during the night had several other fine selections. The mussels are superb. I chatted with several dental students from Clarion and enjoyed good conversation. A must visit.

(01/26/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Lousy So So

Establishment: Ludwig's Garten, Philadelphia, PA

I visited here after leaving Moriarty's on advice of the bartender. It was my last night in town so I decided to stop by for a last round. I got a really creepy vibe about the place. There were only a handful of other customers, and the air had a strange, sour smell to it, almost like a musty tomb. They did have a pretty good selection of German beers, and I had a Atomium Grande Cru. After serving me I was pretty much ignored by the bartender, who was preoccupied with a couple at the other end of the bar. I don't know about the food, but from what I could see it wasn't the cleanest of places.

(01/26/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Moriarty's, Philadelphia, PA

I hit this place one evening on a cold, rainy night. Coming through the door really felt like entering an Irish pub, especially with the smiling, brunette hostess so easy on the eyes. Beers included Dogfish Head 60, Victory Hop Devil and Golden Monkey, Yards IPA and Pale, Chimay, Arrogant Bastard, Delirium Tremens, and Flying Fish Grande Cru. The fish and chips was excellent, and the other food I saw looked pretty good, too. The bartender was very knowledgeable about his beers. I'll visit again when in Philadelphia.

(01/26/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: McGillin's Olde Ale House, Philadelphia, PA

A friend and I hit McGillin's in the evening, after some trouble in finding it. It was worth the effort. A classic, rough-hewn, classic pub with rickety tables and chairs and a long bar. The beer selection was good, and included Dogfish Head 60 minute and two beers brewed for McGillin's, an ale and a lager. Food was excellent pub fare and hit the spot on a cold night. Our server was very attentive and friendly. Worth a stop.

(01/26/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Nodding Head Brewery and Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA

I stopped in for lunch right after checking into my hotel just down the street. Great beer, including one on hand pump. Apparently they only tap a cask on Thursday, so I hit it right. All of the beers were great, especially Georges Fault, a Belgian-style brewed with lots of honey at 9% alcohol. The others styles included a mild, a brown (on hand pump), a Scottish-style, and a stout. I was surprised to see BBQ on the menu, and asked if this was similar to having cheese steak in the South. It was very good, with a local touch of cheese on top, just like a cheese steak. Staff were friendly and helpful about suggesting other beer places to try. Recommended.

(01/26/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Independence Brew Pub, Philadelphia, PA

The brewpub is closed. In it's place in a nondescript sports bar serving the usual bland macros. The brewing setup is still in place but unused. Nodding Hill is the place to go if you want a brewpub.

(01/26/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Nick's Tavern and Deli, Clemson, SC

Nick's is a great college bar in a great college town. The beer selection was outstanding, with a number of winter seasonals on draft and in the bottle. These included Geary's Hampshire from Maine and the Bad Elf series from England. Overall, there were about 20 taps and 40 to 50 bottle choices. Food is typical pub fare but we didn't try any. By far the best beer selection outside of Greenville.

(12/28/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Barley's Taproom, Greenville, SC

Barley's has the best beer selection in upstate SC. I visited in November and was lucky enough to find Highland's Cold Mountain Winter Ale on draft. Made in Asheville, NC, this seasonal brew has become so popular that bottle cases are pre-sold before reaching the stores. The only other way to get it is on draft. Another 60 taps dispensed quality beers, and they are well kept and served at the proper temperature. Worth a trip.

(12/28/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Tasty World, Athens, GA

Located in an old appliance store, this is a classic college dive bar with live music and a decent beer selection. About a dozen taps are supplemented by over 50 bottles. There are a few tables outside for people watching, and this place probably rocks late at night when a good band is up.

(03/06/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Allgood Lounge, Athens, GA

A long, two-story bar located in a former downtown garage. Downstairs has a long bar running the length of the room with pool tables and social space upstairs. Beer choices included about 8 taps and a decent bottle selection of 40 or so brews. The only complaint I had was that half the taps were out of beer or broken. Service was great, and the customers were friendly students and locals. If they can offer drafts reliably the place will do very well.

(03/06/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Mercury Lounge, Athens, GA

A hip bar with aqua blue walls and cool furniture, The Mercury is as much a wine bar as a beer drinker's haven. The broad wine selection is balanced by several draft beers and and a decent bottle lineup of 40-50 choices. Good live music most evenings and an attentive owner and staff complete the picture. Worth the trip down the hill to find.

(03/06/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Awesome! Good

Establishment: Transmetropolitan, Athens, GA

A cool pizza parlor downstairs and nice bar area upstairs with couches and tables. Draft selections were Terrapin and a few others along with a decent bottle selection. Customers were well-dressed college students and a couple of family groups. A good place for a beer and a pizza.

(03/06/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Mercury Lounge, Athens, GA

This is as much a wine bar as a beer bar and popular with couples. Beer choices include four drafts and about 50-60 bottles including Chimay, Ommegang, and the full selection from St. Peter's. A cool place, with artsy decor and funky aqua blue walls. Staff were friendly and attractive, and I met the owner, a young UGA graduate who opened the bar about a year ago. Live music is offered many nights.

(03/03/2007)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ ALL ]













(0.348 seconds) 18:00:37 54.204.178.31, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS