PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from mark stoffan
Other Reviews by this User
 
April 16, 2014 @ 11:14 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
mark stoffan

Beer Reviews
(8)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

8
Beer Reviews from mark stoffan
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome!
Great Awesome! Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: Highland Brewing Company, Asheville, NC

Located in the basement of Barleys Taproom but apparently not connected with it. Their excellent beers are available in many area bars and is sold in bottles throughout the Asheville area. Their seasonal Kashmir Ale was the best yet. Too bad it's not available year-round!

(03/20/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Caribbean Cafe, Boone, NC

An excellent brewpub with great atmosphere, brews, and food. The porter is one of the best I've ever had. A must stop when passing through Boone.

(03/20/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Great Lost Bear, Portland, ME

My first visit to the Bear in over a year, since I no longer live in Maine. A great selection of almost 50 microbrews (mostly from Maine) and excellent food. A great bar and wait-staff round out the picture. A nice if somewhat hokey decor. Specials many nights and featured breweries on Thursday. A must stop when in the Portland area.

(01/03/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Lousy So So

Establishment: The Stone Coast Brewing Company, Portland, ME

I stopped by while checking out pubs in the Portland area and had a sampler of all six brews. I wasn't impressed enough by any to order a pint, although the stout and a couple of others were good if unspectacular. The bartender was brusque to the point of being unfriendly - and it wasn't that busy. Nice atmosphere downstairs, with another room upstairs featuring live entertainment and some pool tables. Seemed to be a hangout for local twenty-somethings the night I was there.

(01/03/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Sea Dog Brewery, South Portland, ME

Another location of the place I hung out in when I lived in Bangor. GREAT atmosphere with a million dollar view at the Portland skyline across the harbor. The beers were great, especially the ESB, and the food was spectacular. Try the shepard's pie and the chowders. This place may be a bit hard for non-locals to find but is definitely worth the effort. They were having a computer bug the day I visited which slowed the kitchen down, but they up front about this when we walked in and it simply gave us more time to savor the beers and the view.

(01/03/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Maine Coast Brewing was Jack Russell Brewpub, Bar Harbor, ME

My first visit back since leaving Maine in 1997. The place is still there, little has changed except the staff. Several brews were on tap including the IPA which was suitably hoppy with a very agreeable finish. The new staff was still friendly and this is still my favorite brewpub anywhere.

(01/03/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! So So Great

Establishment: Barley's Taproom, Asheville, NC

Asheville's most popular watering hole, featuring about 40 beers on tap including changing monthly features. One of a locally-owned chain, with other locations in Greenville, SC and Knoxville, TN. The pizza is great, the beer selection good. The only complaint I have is the service, which tends to be mechanical and not overly friendly. Great place for a pint and a slice, along with a game of pool or darts.

(07/13/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Two Moons Brew 'N' View, Asheville, NC

Now under new management and called "Asheville Pizza and Brewing Company". Same brewmaster, a new and expanded menu, and even better than it was before. I'd visit often even if I didn't live just down the street.

(04/05/1999)














(0.077 seconds) 11:14:07 54.234.217.247, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS