PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from mark hansen
Other Reviews by this User
 
August 29, 2014 @ 07:28 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
mark hansen

Beer Reviews
(6)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

6
Beer Reviews from mark hansen
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Lousy Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Lousy So So Good

Establishment: Sly Fox Brewery, Royersford, PA

I share the same opinion of the last two reviewers - except in one area. I actually think that the beer is awesome - not just great. The Sly Fox simply makes some of the best beers around - and bottles or cans quite a few of them. The varities of IPA's they make is remarkable - each one complex and hoppy. I truly loook forward to each new beer release. The food on the other hand is lifeless compared to the beer. The service is typically hit or miss - some waiters/waitresses are very attentive, some are not - even with a small crowd. At times when I am there, I wonder if others feel the same way because the crowd can be quite sparse. If the food somehow could be elevated to consistency and qualtiy of the beer, Sly Fox would be the best brew pub in Philadelphia region - bar none.

(10/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Good

Establishment: Malt River Brewing Company, Latham, NY

Stopped by this past Sat. afternoon while visiting. Malt River have ceased brewing their own beer and sold their brewing equipment. Of the relatively large selection of drafts they did have, they had one remaining keg of their own - a Cream Ale - which was very good. While the draft and bottle selection was nice, and the environment remains plesant, it is sad to see the Capital District lose both Malt River and the Big House Brewery in recent times. Maybe their closings will, in the future, open the door for someone else to compete with Browns and the Pump Station. If not, it would be nice, for Malt River, being a former brew pub, to sell some local drafts.

(09/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Butternuts Beer and Ale, Garrattsville, NY

A buddy and I stopped at Butternuts Beer and Ale this past weekend on the way to the Baseabll Hall of Fame. Driving by late in the afternoon, never having driven Route 51 before, it was easy to pass as it looked like many other farms in Upstate. Simply put, the u-turn we made was well worth it. Butternuts is a dairy barn converted into a fully operational brewery. As my buddy wandered in, we ran into the owners drinking cans of their creation. When asked if they were open, they responded, "we are now". As we sampled the Heinnieweisse and Pork Slap Pale as and talked about beer, their passion and vision became clear. They simply want to create great beer and have fun doing it. The Pork Slap Pale Ale is very drinkable and far tastier than many beers with it's comparatively low ABV. The Heinnieweisse is simply a great summer beer and is infinately drinkable. I think that canning their beer rather than bottling was a stroke of genius (as was the labeling with the Pork Slap) and will hopefully garner them widespread distribution where bottles aren't allowed (golf course, etc.). These were two of the nicest, clearly the most passionate, and down to earth guys you will ever meet, but what is really special about them is they make a great product. So . . . my advice to you, make that u-turn, go meet the guys, and have a beer. You won't be sorry you did.

(05/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Wagner Vineyards and Brewing Company, Lodi, NY

Recently stopped by Wagner for the first time. Its spectacular setting overlooking Seneca Lake is done justice by the quality of beer (and wine) they produce. The sampling fee at the brewery was nominal (either $2 or $3) for 6 or 7 beers including their doppel and trippel bocks - which were excellent). Beers are available by the pint, growler, 6 pack and case after you find the one you like. I settled for the Amber and IPA which were tasty, hoppy, and very fresh. The Ginny Lee restaurant was closed when I visited, but was opening for spring and summer soon. They were also starting their Friday night concert series on their deck which sounds like a blast. The service in the brewery for samples and pints was excellent. After the beer tasting, I sampled the wine as well - which was similarly excellent. Great gift shop to. Can't wait to get back over the summer.

(03/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Wagner Vineyards and Brewing Company, Lodi, NY

Recently stopped by Wagner for the first time. Its spectacular setting overlooking Seneca Lake is done justice by the quality of beer (and wine) they produce. The sampling fee at the brewery was nominal (either $2 or $3) for 6 or 7 beers including their doppel and trippel bocks - which were excellent). Beers are available by the pint, growler, 6 pack and case after you find the one you like. I settled for the Amber and IPA which were tasty, hoppy, and very fresh. The Ginny Lee restaurant was closed when I visited, but was opening for spring and summer soon. They were also starting their Friday night concert series on their deck which sounds like a blast. The service in the brewery for samples and pints was excellent. After the beer tasting, I sampled the wine as well - which was similarly excellent. Great gift shop to. Can't wait to get back over the summer.

(03/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Crooked Rooster / Roosterfish Brewing, Watkins Glen, NY

Recently went to Roosterfish for the first time and was very happy with my experience. The Butternut Pale Ale was fantastic. Had a sample of the three other available beers, but a second glass of the Butternut Pale Ale was too good to pass on. The atmosphere on the unseasonably warm day in Watkins Glen was fantastic. The windows were open, good music playing. While the bartender was not very knowledgeable, she was attentive and plesant. The brewer appeared to be giving an interested couple a tour. While I did not have any food, the plates that came out looked and smelled great. Will be sure to have food the next time. A great addition to the Finger Lakes/Souther Tier brewing scene.

(03/18/2006)














(0.06 seconds) 19:28:24 54.198.26.110, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS