PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from mark foisy
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 23, 2014 @ 11:46 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
mark foisy

Beer Reviews
(9)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

9
Beer Reviews from mark foisy
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Prairie Moon, Evanston, IL

One of the better beer menus I've seen in a long time. Thirteen higher-quality beers on drought, along with your Guiness, and American macro-brews. Many American Craft beers and a few from Belgium.

1.Dragon's Milk, New Holland Brewery 2.Blanche de Chamblis, Unibrau I think 3.Anchor Steam, Anchor Brewing 4.Rare VOS Belgian Amber, Ommegang Brewing 5.Dortmunder Gold Lager, Great Lakes Brewing 6.Delirium Tremens, Delirium Brewing 7.Abt 12, St. Bernardus Brewery 8.Domain Dupage, Two Brothers Brewery 9.Hefe Weizen, Summit Brewery 10.Matilda “Abbey Style”, Goose Island Brewery 11.Pale Ale, Sierra Nevada Brewery 12.312 American Wheat, Goose Island 13.Gumballhead, Three Floyds Brewery

Their bottle selection is much larger; almost 50, with about 40 higher-quality like those above. Larger bottle-conditioned beers are well represented along with high-quality 12 oz. beers.

(06/06/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Mr Peabody's Burgers and Ale, San Diego, CA

Blue collar atmosphere with a decent selection of beer--my kinda place. The bar and short-order grill are the same thing. All the beer I saw was on draft. There were about 11 tap handles; three of them were macro-brews, the other 8 were a collection of micro-brews + Guiness. The food was mostly pub fare; burgers, salads, etc. The rib-eye steak I had was cooked just as I ordered it:) I would definitely stop in here again the next time I'm in the area.

(01/14/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good So So Great

Establishment: T.H. Brewster's, Los Angeles, CA

What a gem to find in a hotel bar (Sheraton Four-Points). But, it's well hidden from the street, and not advertised at all. I was staying right next door at the Renaissance and they had never heard of it.

The description of beers available below is pretty accurate. I think some macro-brews might have been available, but I didn't notice. They didn't waste any valuable airspace on them. Half-dozen draft beers--mostly from west coast micro-breweries--a few I hadn't heard of yet. The bottle selection is where they really shine. Probably 60% belgians.

(12/28/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Fox and Goose, Sacramento, CA

A great selection of draft beers. I didn't count, but it was around 15-20. A lot of English Iles breweries. Fullers is well represented with, I think, four flavors including their wonderful porter. Chimay on draft is always a pleasant surprise where ever I go. The evening menu was standard pub fare.

(12/19/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Elevator Brewery and Draught Haus, Columbus , OH

I'm glad previous reviewers say the beer has improved, because it must have been pretty lousy. The three beers I tasted were nice tasting, but very meek.

The best was the Dopplebock (that might be because I'm not so familiar with that brew).

The Pale Ale had very little in the way of hops. A slight amount of bittering hops was all I could find in it.

The Porter was nice, but more like a full bodied Brown Ale. The flavor was very mild for a Porter (milder than the Dopplebock).

(02/20/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Steamworks Brewing Company, Vancouver, BC

Tasted the Pale, IPA, and their Porter. All three were very flavorful. The Pale and IPA were quite hoppy with nice body. The Porter had a big roasted flavor.

It's a really big place, but they've done a nice job of partitioning it out to give it an intimate feeling.

Didn't take advantage of the kitchen.

(10/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great

Establishment: Trinity Brewhouse, Providence, RI

Delicious flavorful beer here. The IPA was quite hoppy, plenty of bitter and aroma.

We also tried their Brown Ale, which the server said would be similar to a Newcastle. It was very good, but much more body and roasted flavor than a Newcastle.

The angus burger I had was cooked a bit more than I asked for, but the meat quality made it still pretty good.

Great atmosphere; much funkier and warmer than the Union brewery down the street.

Cheers,

(07/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Union Station Brewery was John Harvard's Brew House, Providence, RI

Only had time for one pint and one appetizer, so this is a limited opinion.

The Pale Ale was refreshing, but fairly mild in flavor and aroma. The body was also light for a Pale, but that makes it nice for those hot summer days.

I had the calamari appetizer. It was rings only, which is a detractor for me. They were a bit chewy, which makes me think they were frozen, not fresh.

The atmosphere was much more upscale than Trinity brewery down the road.

Cheers, Mark

(07/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: Great Lakes Brewing Company, Cleveland, OH

Eight flavors of beer; all their own brews. All were delicious(I only had room to try four). The Porter really stood out--one of the best I've ever tasted.

(04/15/2006)














(0.059 seconds) 11:46:13 54.89.21.96, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS