PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from marc dubach
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 29, 2014 @ 12:14 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
marc dubach

Beer Reviews
(17)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

17
Beer Reviews from marc dubach
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Bandersnatch Brewpub, Tempe, AZ

They are now closed. This message is posted on their web site:

"For those of you that have supported us threw the years, we thank you and will miss you. It has been a great time for us and the memories are rich. But don't be sad because a new Bandersnatch Brew Pub is coming. It wont be in Tempe (and it won't ever be quite the same) but keep checking back and we will let you know as soon as possible.

(10/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Ice Breakers Restaurant and Brewery, Scottsdale, AZ

I understand they are no longer in business. :-(

(05/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Awesome! Good

Establishment: Stadium Brewing Company, Aliso Viejo, CA

First the beer: Very average here. Nothing unusual taste/flavor wise and no big beers to delight over. Even their blueberry ale ( served with actual whole berries in it) was really weak taste wise. 5 years ago I probably would have rated them as very good but micro breweries have come a long way quality/taste wise in the last 5 years. As a home brewer I wouldn't waist my time and $$$ or insult my friends brewing/serving such average brews. I'd give them 2 mugs outta 4.

(05/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Avery Brewing Company, Boulder, CO

Had the great privilege of tasting some of their beer at the GABF last week. HOLY $hit batman. These guys rule!!!! Loved the Reverend, Salvation and even thier Hog Heaven and I typically am not real fond of barleywines. We of course picked up six 22oz. bombers of the Reverend and Salvation to bring back home ( Tempe AZ) with us. Only 7 actually made it but that is another story ;-) Hopefully they have plans to distribute to AZ? For the most part we are a bunch of real pagans here and really need to hear from a man of the cloth so that we might see the light and find Salvation and maybe if we repent go to Hog Heaven. I have a Kegerator at home So I'm ready for a full half barrel of either the Reverend or Salvation I don't care which. Also met their head brewer MR.( Kevin?) Breezley ( sorry if I butchered it) at the Falling Rock Thursday night after we left the GABF. Nice friendly guy! PLEASE, PLEASE help save our lost souls!!!!!!!!!!!!!

(10/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Craftsman Brewing Company, Pasadena, CA

Yes I most certainly agree with the first reviewer ( Brian) below. These guys rule!!!! Maybe they should be named Big Awesome Brews INC! We first had their Aurora Borealis at the SD strong ale festival last winter and loved it. (10.1 % ABV) Yesterday while at Stone's VI anniversary party we had their White Sage triple ale (~9%) their IPA, ( was to scared to ask ABV ;-) Orange Grove ale (8%) and their Amber Scottish ale (~8%) WOW all of them were super. Very smooth and delicious. I spoke with 1 of the owners/brewer I believe Mark is his name and he said that sadly they were probably still at least 3 months away ( I think maybe more) from having their bottling line up and going. Well we may just have to drive over from the PHX. area with 3 of our 5 gal. Corneys and get them filled up. We just don't want to wait 3 or more months to get our hands on some of their awesome brews.

(08/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Gordon Biersch Brewing Company, Tempe, AZ

I would email you privately however you email address isn'tlisted. If you like AWESOME German beer then you need to visit Rio Salado Brewing in South Tempe. I'm very surprised you haven't already done so as I read your reviews of many other AZ. breweries and noticed that you make a point of checking them out.

They are just a tap room and no "real" food is served. They typically have 6 to 8 beers on tap with a excellent seasonal always on tap also. The spring seasonal is a awesome Hellesbock, light appearing but with a a$$ whopin' 8.2 % ABV! VERY CLEAN! The winter seasonal ( still on tap)is a wheat weisenbock. Very heavy, more of a after dinner sippin' beer and it also carries a punch at 7.1 ABV. They have a black beer, a Schwatz (sorry for the spelling) that is very tasty and at 5.9% will also quickly put a smile on your face. Other standard on tap beers are a Hefeweizen,a Alt, a pilsner and their most popular a Marzen at 6.4 % which is my personal favorite after their Helles seasonal. Tim Gossack is the owner and brewmaster. He grew up in Oregon and was head brewer at Deschutes for a number of years so he is very familiar with great micro brewing.Next time your in town give Rio Salado a try. I live only a few miles from Rio and would be happy to meet you there and lift a pint or 2 with you. 1st pint is on me! Contact me via email if your interested or give me a call as I'm listed in the phone book. I think Rio has a chance of making your "top ten" and will certainly replace 4 peaks as your pick for best Phoenix area Micro even without serving food. Marc Dubach Rio is in a induistrial park and requires a sharp eye to find the first time around

(03/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Mudshark Brewing Company, Lake Havasu City, AZ

We got to try 3 of their beers at the AZ strong Ale Festival yesterday. Winter Ale, FullMoon Belgian Wit and a Pumpkin Ale. Winter ale was ok the Belgian wit was quite bitter and seemed overpowered by a orange peel taste. The Pumpkin ale was a out right silly. Extremely weak almost like a beer that had half a dozen ice cubes melt in it. :-((

(01/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So Great So So

Establishment: Monarch's Rest Restaurant and Brewpub, Yuma, AZ

WOW what a shame. Yuma's only brewpub and it's very substandard.Oh it's a nice looking well decorated establishment but don't expect much after that. The beer if ya want to call it that is.... well just plain silly. Their Heff is listed at 2.7 % ABV and is probably weaker than that. Tastes more like lemonade than beer. A IPA at 3.9%?????? ABV no way! The rest of their brews that we tasted ( none of us actually ordered a beer after the sampler) all fell in the 3.x something ABV range and had little taste. Their food was served fast but overall was no better than average. Their fries were pretty lame. The lady that served us knew little about their beer but gave excellent service returning to our booth many times to make sure all was as we wished. 'Nuff said.

(12/15/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: BJ's Restaurant and Brewery, Chandler, AZ

Typical BJ's joint. The beer is excellent. I really enjoyed the red. Service was excellent also. Beer is reasonabled priced at $3.25 a pint and less at happy hour. Scott the head brewer is friendly and knowledagble. A added bonus for us non smokers is that it's a smoke free resturant! Check it out.....

(11/01/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Tommyknocker Brewery and Pub, Phoenix, AZ

They had 8 beers on tap. The Butt Head Dopple Bock was awesome. The nut brown ale and porter were also very good. Food and service were on par with the beer.A must stop.

(06/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Karl Strauss Brewery Restaurant, Carlsbad, CA

We were impressed. 10 beers on tap. Both the Maibock and Dopplebock were very good. The stout was OK. The appetizers were quite tasty. Their price of $10 for a GALLON growler (refill) was the best we have seen in any of the micros we have visited.

(05/28/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, La Jolla, CA

Better beer that I expected from a franchised brewpub. Prices were quite reasonable especially for the La Jolla area. Service was outsatnding!

(05/28/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Lousy Good

Establishment: San Marcos Brewery and Grill, San Marcos, CA

Average beer. My wife and I had lunch and were pleased with our meals. The service certainly could have been better. Their food is some of the best priced of any brewpub we have visited.

(05/28/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A So So

Establishment: Ballast Point Brewing Company, San Diego, CA

Well my wife and I enjoyed "tasting" the beer but we were very disappointed because that's all you can do is taste. They don't have a tap room or bar area were you can sit down and actually enjoy one of their beers. So all you get is a 3 ounce taste. The Yellow Tail Ale is quite good but if you want to take any home (other than a growler)they charge $3.25 for a 22 OZ bottle. That figures out to over $10 for a six pack. To rich for our blood.

(05/07/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Good So So So So

Establishment: Jerome Brewery, Jerome, AZ

We first stopped in last summer and were not impressed with their beer. They really didn't have much of a food menu then. Well it looks like they have expanded the food menu but the beer is still second rate. Have a burger and a beer down the street at the Haunted Hambuger.

(07/16/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Good Great

Establishment: SLO Brewing Company, San Luis Obispo, CA

Were there 4 times last week on vacation. Food served up in generous portions and very tasty. We enjoyed the Honey Blonde and one called Elephant Ale, which was superb. The service on our first visit was okay; second visit the waitress we had was outstanding. They also have a tap room in Paso Robles, which is down the way on Hwy 101. The woman behind the bar there was just a joy - great service and a lovely person to enjoy some conversation with while sipping a pint of great beer. Something different - they offer a special menu entree each night of the week and the fish and chips was a meal big enough for two. Will always be included on vacations in that part of California.

(05/08/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Bonnema Brewing Company, Atascadero, CA

Went twice while on vacation last week. Enjoyed the Red Kroaker & the Stout; the food was terrific. Highly recommend the "Chris's Favorite" sandwich. Kudos to our server, Nancy, who remembered us and what beer we liked on our second visit, which was several days after the first. A great product is definitely enhanced by great & friendly service.

(05/08/2000)














(0.089 seconds) 00:14:21 54.227.25.58, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS