PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from matt peterson
Other Reviews by this User
 
November 26, 2014 @ 02:53 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
matt peterson

Beer Reviews
(11)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

11
Beer Reviews from matt peterson
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Great Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Rubicon Brewing Company, Sacramento, CA

Like the "local pub" feel of Rubicon. Good beer and good food. I'll be back.

(06/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Silver Peak Restaurant and Brewery, Reno, NV

The IPA is pretty good as is the food. I have been to the original location a few times, the last being Saturday 6/11/05 and am always pleased. The only redeeming feature Reno has to offer, IMHO.

(06/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Lousy So So

Establishment: Great Basin Brewing Company, Sparks, NV

I have been to Great Basin several times for lunch, the most recent being Sunday 6/12/05. It seems the service has always been mediocre, but this last time was the worst. The three of us sat in the dining room for an easy 10 minutes without being asked what we'd like to drink. I finally had to ask a server to come to our table! This after having to argue with the manager about not wanting to sit near the bar (smokers- yechh!). The food was pretty good, as usual, but I have to say the Ichy IPA was rather lackluster. With several other really good brewpubs close by (namely Silver Peak)I won't spending any dollars at Great Basin soon.

(06/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Third Street AleWorks, Santa Rosa, CA

Stopped by 3rd Street for lunch yesterday. Enjoyed the decor, the sandwich I had was good and they sure don't skimp on the garlic fries. I only had the IPA, but found it to be an excellent example of the style. This place will alway suffer in the shadow of Russian River over on 4th St., but if Vinnie's was too crowded (as I'm sure it often is) I wouldn't hesitate to come here. In most any other city, 3rd Street Aleworks would be the hands-down best place in town.

(05/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Awesome!

Establishment: Russian River Brewing Company, Santa Rosa, CA

It's still a free country (sort of, I guess) and everyone is entitled to their opinion, even those who apparently wouldn't know a good beer if it bit them on the ass (see review below.) My opinion is that Vinny Cilurzo of Russian River is a brewing god, his beers are among the best in the world and his brewpub in Santa Rosa is a great place to enjoy them.

(03/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Pyramid Alehouse, Brewery and Restaurant, Walnut Creek, CA

It's been a couple of years since I reviewed Pyramid in Walnut Creek and since the my previous review I have come to truly love this place. The beers are first rate, obviously something of import when considering whether a pub deserves repeat business or not. Pyramid IPA and (when you can get it) the Double IPA are God's gift to man. If I'm in the store buying beer, Pyramid is not always my first choice, but on draught, it's hard to beat. The food here is good, no complaints there. The staff is knowlegable, something that for me, is the trademark of a really good pub. It can get noisy in the big, wooden space that is the interior, but sit on the patio on a warm summer night and listen to whatever live music is playing, that's livin', brother.

(08/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Good So So So So

Establishment: Pleasanton Main Street Brewery, Pleasanton, CA

I was there on Saturday, 8/28/04. I was immediately dissapointed to find they were out of the house IPA (nitro charged- interesting) so I went with the Pleasanton Pale Ale. I'll be honest, if I'm the owner of this place, I'd be embarrassed to sell this beer. It was obviously green, that is, not properly conditioned. Another month in the keg and maybe it's drinkable. I have to wonder why he would rush it to the tap. I just can't fathom a professional brewer allowing this beer to be served. Further, Our waitress seemed to have little real knowlege about the beers and almost no information about them was available on the menu or posted elsewhere. This says to me that good beer is not the priority it should be here.

The food was decent (at least there was plenty of it), the service was kinda slow. I personally did not care at all for the interior of the place. It was very much like a pool hall or trashy corner beer joint, complete with old drunks at the bar. The brewery itself is very small and looked dirty. Also seemed to be used as storage space. Based on my experience, I can't reccommend the Main Street Brewery and I certainly won't go out of my way to try it again.

(08/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Whistle Stop Ale House, Renton, WA

I have read several somewhat negative comments about the owner but I can say that when I met him (9/15/03) he was very friendly and knowledgeable about the beers on tap. The Whistle Stop will now be on my 'favorites" list for the Seattle area and as we get up to Renton fairly often I will definitely go back. I only hope the new location is as cool as the original spot.

(10/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good So So Great

Establishment: Beach Chalet Brewery and Restaurant, San Francisco, CA

We went on a Saturday night (6/21/03.) The place was crowded, but not unusually so. But the service was VERY slow. When asked, the friendly waiter replied that this was a normal Saturday night. Oh well. I did enjoy every beer they had on tap, and I tried them all. I'm a hop head and I did enjoy the IPA very much. The food was pretty good and we were fortunate enough to be there on a fogless evening so we saw a beautiful sunset. I will go back again, maybe on a weeknight to hopefully avoid the crowd and slow service. Our friends from out of town were suitably impressed.

(06/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Kirkland Roaster, Kirkland, WA

I enjoyed the cheeseburger and Fat Tire Ale I had here last summer, it's the first stop on my list when we go back to Seattle this August. This is my kind of place.

(07/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Pyramid Alehouse, Brewery and Restaurant, Walnut Creek, CA

I was a late convert to Pyramid beers, but now that I've discovered them, I like them a lot. I'm a hop head, and while their IPA isn't the highest on the IBU scale, it is good. The restaurant itself is large, light and airy, quite noisy and fun. The food is good, the fries are great. Great place to meet for a pint. No sports or darts, gotta go to the Stadium Pub for that.

(07/29/2002)














(0.153 seconds) 14:53:25 50.19.171.113, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS