PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from matt huber
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 01, 2014 @ 04:00 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
matt huber

Beer Reviews
(29)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

29
Beer Reviews from matt huber
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Good Good Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Awesome!

Establishment: HopCat, Grand Rapids, MI

Why is this place listed as a brewery/brew pub? Clearly it a beer bar. A good one at that but don't you have to brew and serve your own beer to be a brewery or brew pub?

They do have an awesome beer selection and is worth visiting.

(04/02/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Great Good

Establishment: Blue Tractor BBQ, Ann Arbor, MI

They only had four beers on tap. I had the IPA. It was OK but not outstanding.

The food was very good and the service was attentive.

Very nice atmosphere and fair prices.

I would return but I wish they would have a bigger beer selection.

(11/10/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Ohio Brewing Company / Damon's Grill, Akron, OH

The Zip Hop ale is absolutely amazing if you like Imperial IPAs. All the beers are very good and they even have some guest taps currently featuring Stone Ruination and Dogfish Head 90 Minute IPA.

Maple Porter is incredible. Steel Valley Stout is a fine example of a Irish Stout. O'Hoppy is a great American IPA. The others aren't my favorite styles but they are very clean and well made.

Service has been spotty in the past but has dramatically improved in recent months.

Food is very good. They have perhaps the best pizza and wings in the greater Akron area. The hot Bananna Peppers are to die for.

Great live entertainment many knights a week. Extended happy hour until 9 PM Mondays, Tuesdays and Thursdays.

The owners are great friends of the local homebrewers and sponsor many meetings and events.

This is a must visit if you are in Akron.

(05/06/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Thirsty Dog Brewing Company, Akron, OH

The Thirsty Dog Brewing Company has recently in sourced and moved it's brewing and bottling operation back home to Akron, Ohio.

They have brought in local legend Tim Rastetter as head brewer so we should start seeing some new beers soon.

I'm told that the brewery will be opening a small tasting room at some time in the future.

Welcome Home!

(11/22/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Anchor Brewing Company, San Francisco, CA

The best of the best! Dave was an awesome tour guide. Very generous tasting at the end of the tour. The new Bock was very tasty despite my being told it was made with an ale yeast instead of the traditional lager yeast. The fresh steam beer is the best example of a California Common you will ever find. The only bee we didn't get to try was the Small Beer as they do not keg it. The brewery tour is very interesting. The open fermenters are a rarity in the U.S. now days as was the Grant although it's not used in the traditional way. This was a great tour and tasting. I would recommend it to anyone that is in the area. Sign up early though as it sells out fast. Kudos to Fritz and his very able crew!

(05/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: The Great Dane Pub and Brewing Company, Fitchburg, WI

Scotch Ale was very good. Also had the cask conditioned IPA which must have been an English style as it wasn't as hoppy as most American varieties. I also tried the Foxy Brown and the Imperial Stout, both were good.

Was there on a Tuesday night so the place wasn't too busy. The service and food were both good. Pints are a bit on the pricey side at $4.

I will certainly return as the hotel I stay at when I come to Madison on business is right across the street. I'll have to try the other location and see how it fares with the Fitchburg location.

(03/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: 69 Taps Pub and Eatery, Akron, OH

The old ownership and mis-management is gone and the Manfreda brothers are back!

Beer quality and selection is better than it ever was and the beer lovers are migrating back. New selections show up just about every week.

Once again, this is the best craft beer bar in Akron.

Great Happy Hours and lots of special events keep things interesting.

(03/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A So So So So

Establishment: 69 Taps Pub and Eatery, Akron, OH

This place used to be much better. The beer selection wihich used to be the best in Akron has gone down hill in a bad way. Many of the beers taste old and I'm suspect of how clean they keep their lines. Seems like the ownership doesn't care anymore.

(11/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Thirsty Dog Brewing Company, Dayton, OH

The Thirsty Dog ultimately closed because of poor management. The location that closed first in North Canton was well run. the ended up closing due their not being able to renew their lease at a favorable cost. The other two were closed due to managements inability to provide quality service. I gave up on eating at the Montrose location. The wair staff could care less about the customers. I would only go there to drink the beer not to eat. How can you have a mega-award winning brewer and not be able to keep the brew pub open? In order to run a successful business you have to be involved in the day to day operations and not leave it to a bunch of people that don't care about your customers. It's too bad they closed. Hopefully something else will open and be run by people that care about giving their customers what they pay for. RIP TD

(10/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Lousy Good Great Good

Establishment: Marietta Brewing Company, Marietta, OH

Beer selection was very limited. They only had two beers on tap 9/25/2005 when I visited this establishment. They did have a pale ale so at least there was something I like to drink. The pale ale was very good. The food was good but I think it was a bit over priced for what you got. Our server had just started working there and didn't know the answers to a lot of our questions but she got the information for us a gave us very good service. I'm told that the brewer makes a bunch of other very good beers but as luck would have it, they were out of all of them. I will most likely visit again next year when I pass through town on my way home from WV white water rafting.

(09/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Watson Brothers Bistro and Brewery, Blue Ash, OH

Second visit. I was in the area and I thought I would give this place another try. Still the same. First the service is terrible unless you're a regular. I sat at the bar when the place was very slow for almost 10 minutes before anyone even said a word to me. All the regulars that entered after me were promptly greeted by name and served quickly. The two bartenders were two busy flirting with each other and tending to cleaning up to even say hello to me. I was about ready to get up and leave when one of them finally came over. The beer is lousy. Why bother even brewing beer if that's the best you can do? Only four house beers on tap, no seasonals, no carbonation, no taste. The food was OK but not outstanding (it's kind of hard to screw up a burger). I learned my lesson this time. I will not go back to Watsons. I'ts a shame that Cincinnati doesn't have a decent brewpub for it's residents.

(09/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Thirsty Dog Brewing Company, Dayton, OH

Both the Thirsty Dogs in Northen Ohio (Canton and Montrose) are closed. Fred is no longer the brewer for TD. I'm not sure what the fate of the TD in Dayton will ultimately be but if the place is managed as bad as the one's up here were it won't be good. I believe the bottling side of the business is still doing good. Fred is going to open his own brewpub called the Hoppin' Frog here is Akron late this year. So until then we have to go up to Cleveland to get craft beer.

(07/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good So So

Establishment: Maumee Bay Brewing Company, Toledo, OH

Only had time to quaff a couple of quick prints this visit. First I tried the Dry Stout which I found to be weak, watery and completely flat. Next I asked to try a sample of the Rye which had some type of infection or funk going on in it. I couldn't even finish the sample it was so bad. I've been here on previous occastions when a number of there beers had this characteristic. Possibly the lines need more frequent cleaning? I settled on the Pale Ale which was also weak and watery but clean. This place used to a good brewery years ago, I wonder what happened?

(06/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Onopa Brewing Company, Milwaukee, WI

First and foremost, the house beers made there were very good. I sampled all of the eight beers that were on tap but the pale ale and the porter were my favorites. As previous reviewers stated, this place has a very unique atmosphere and is not upscale in the least. The giant mouse trap is a site to see. The bartender Christian was an awesome host and spent a lot of time talking to me about numerous subjects. I was also able to meet the brewer, very nice as well and took the time to talk to me for a bit. I would have to rate this place the best brew pub I've been to in the greater Milwaukee area. Milwaukee has a couple of great microbreweries but is severely lacking in the brew pub area. The food was OK but not outstanding. Menu was very limited. My only knock on this place would be that they don't take credit cards or let you run a tab. Not good for the beer loving business traveler. I will come back next time I'm in Milwaukee.

(12/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: BandO Station Brewery and Restaurant, Youngstown, OH

RIP Another one bites the dust. I'm so glad I renewed my mug club membership for 2004. I know some folks that never even recieved their engraved mugs from the first year. Nice way to treat your loyal customers. Doesn't matter if you have both good beer and good food. If you don't have good management, your not going to be in business for long.

(11/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Hofbrauhaus Las Vegas, Las Vegas, NV

I was at the Hofbrauhaus Las Vegas during their Octoberfest celebration. What a great time! The entertainment was awesome and very authentic. The beers were all German style lagers which is what you would expect at a German beer hall. I must admit that I'm more of an ale guy but all the beers I tried were good. The food and service were great. I would certainly return here the next time I go to Vegas. It was an all around fun experience.

(10/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Hofbrauhaus Newport, Newport, KY

I had a great experience at this establishment. The service was great. We went at a slow time so we had the opportunity to chat at length with a number of the staff. Everyone was very friendly. Next, the food, also great. And finally the beer. Granted the Hofbrauhaus only serves German style lagers but all of them I tried were fresh, tasty and true to style. I was fortunate enough to have the brewmasters tap the new Octoberfest while I was there and it was great. I also want to thank Marcus and Tim for their hospitality and the brewery tour. These guys certainly know their craft well. I will definitely return to the Hofbrauhaus the next time I'm in the Cincinnati area. Hopefully I'll be able to go when they have a big crowd so I can get the full effect of the German beer hall atmosphere. I would rate the Hofbrauhaus a must visit if in the Cincinnati area. I was also recently at the very new Hofbrauhaus in Las Vegas. Also a must visit it there.

(10/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Watson Brothers Bistro and Brewery, Blue Ash, OH

Don't bother. The beer sucks. Poor selection. No carbonation. Poor service. Nice facilites but obviously they haven't figured out that it's about the beer.

(09/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Thirsty Dog Brewing Company, Canton, OH

R.I.P.

(08/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Founders Brewing Company, Grand Rapids, MI

Founder's is definitely among my top ten favorite brewpubs in the country. I grew up in GR and if I still lived there I would make this place my second home. The beers are awsome with the best selection of big (high ABV) beers I've seen anywhere. I't would be nice if they served food in the evening though. Can't wait until their distribution reaches the NE Ohio area. I've seen it on tap at a couple of places but no bottles in stores as of yet. Keep up the great work!

(08/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: BandO Station Brewery and Restaurant, Youngstown, OH

Well worth the trip from the Akron area. As always, Brew master Doug's beers are excellent. Went to the event for the tapping the new IPA, a delight for any hophead. I also really enjoyed the Hearth Ale, a very nice winter brew to enjoy on the frigid cold days we've been having lately. The brewery and restaurant is in a very old train station (Currently used by AMTRACK) with lots of ambience. The bartender even has a bell and train whistle. Join the Conductors Club if you plan to stop back often. It's a screaming deal at $30. You get a personalized mug, T-shirt and super sized beers. Didn't eat so I can't comment on the food but the menu looked good. However, they might want to add some pub grub for those of us that come for the beer and not the fine dining. I'll be sure to eat there next time.

(01/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great

Establishment: The Quarryman Taverne and Church Street Brewery, Berea, OH

Stopped in last Saturday to get some of the Barley Wine before it's all gone. Very very good! Had an IPA that was good as well. I have to wonder if the quality of the beer will remain as good now that Doug is no longer brewing here. Hope so. Until I taste otherwise, I give this brewpub good marks.

(01/15/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Good Good So So

Establishment: Crescent City Brewhouse, New Orleans, LA

OK place to eat. Lousy place to drink beer. Not even one ale with any kind of hop character to it. I can't believe that this is the only brewpub in the Big Easy. With as many people as this city hosts for conventions, sporting events and big parties you would think it would have a bunch of good brewpubs. Not the case. Not a single one

(08/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Michigan Brewing Company, Webberville, MI

The IPA is out of this world. If you're a hop head don't miss this one! I bought a case to take back home to Ohio with me. I sampled a number of their beers and each one was excellent. The owner, employees and the other patrons were great. We had a really good time. Be sure to stop in the shop next door. They have a ton of cool beer stuff. I will always be stopping here from now on when traveling between Ohio and my folks place in Grand Rapids. This is definitely a five star brewery. I hope they start shipping to the Cleveland, Akron, Canton area soon.

(05/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Great Good

Establishment: Karl Strauss Brewery Restaurant, San Diego, CA

Had the Pale Ale, pretty average. Was not very inpressed with the food. Service was very attentive and friendly. I would most likely try my luck at another brewpub on my next trip to San Diego.

(05/17/2002)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.116 seconds) 04:00:42 54.196.199.117, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS